Thread: gcc, matlab and opensuse 11

NithSahor NNTP User

Default gcc, matlab and opensuse 11

Hi everyone,

I am a Linux newbie and I was wondering if somebody would be kind enough to help me out with some questions regarding setting up gcc.

I'm running the x86_64 version of openSUSE 11 on one of the computers at my research lab and we are also running Matlab 2008a. We have some MEX C++ code for which we need a version of gcc between 4.0.0 and 4.2.0. (I was able to set up a later, precompiled version of gcc (4.3.1 I think) from one of the openSUSE 11 repositories, but when I ran the compiled mex code Matlab just exited without any error message.)

My two questions are:

1. I noticed that a repository for an earlier version of openSUSE (10.2) has an earlier precompiled version of gcc which would potentially work with Matlab (4.1.3 I think). Would it be safe to download it with YaST and attempt to set it up on openSUSE 11.0?

2. If not, does anybody have detailed instructions for setting up an earlier version of gcc (with the C++ extension) with a newer version already on the PC? (I've tried looking at the documentation on gcc.gnu.org but it was highly confusing.)

I know this is a lot to ask - I greatly appreciate any help you can provide.

Thank you for your time,
    NS

Default Re: gcc, matlab and opensuse 11

Hi,

1. no don't do this, all software in opensuse 11.0 is compiled with the new gcc version and installing an old one, which will cause that the new version gets removed, could break the whole system.

2. yes this is possible, have a look at GCC Frequently Asked Questions - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation (FSF) guess you have to recompile the older gcc version for this, but this is the recommended way.

hope this helps

NithSahor NNTP User

Thanks Monex. I've got another question - I found this repository:

Index of /repositories/devel:/tools:/gcc/openSUSE_11.0/x86_64

which seems to have a precompiled version of gcc 4.1