Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Konqueror refuse to start - help needed

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Posts
    719

    Default Konqueror refuse to start - help needed

    I dont know what it caused (2 days ago worked normally), but now, when I want to open folder, konqueror does start (I see it in list "ps -A"), but does not show on screen.

    I must fix that somehow, or to set something else as default file manager.
    I am afraid to uninstall it (so I can reinstall it) as I do not know will it make my sistem unstable or usable.

    I am using openSUSE 11.0, kde 3.5.9, nVidia + compiz (AIGLX)

    Any ideas what should I do?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    U.K East Anglia
    Posts
    2,581

    Default Re: Konqueror refuse to start - help needed

    So, all you have is a log-in console ? have you tried logging in & then run startkde ? Also, at log-in, you can select other DE's e.g. fvwm or gvwm or gnome ( if installed ) removing & re-installing may or may not solve the problem. once logged in to a DE, go to your /home folder & rename .kde to .kde.old then try logging in as normal

    Andy
    To be is to do = Immanuel Kant
    To do is to be = Descartes.
    Do be do be do = Frank Sinatra

    SuSE user since 7.0,Linux user since 1994

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Konqueror refuse to start - help needed

    > Any ideas what should I do?

    i also would not advise uninstall/reinstall, at least not until we
    know more about what is going on..(reboot and/or reinstall are
    Windows[tm] learned BAD HABITS that you need to try to unlearn)

    most KDE3.x systems are "born with" more than one desktop...maybe
    your Konqueror is hiding on another top...somewhere on the default
    task bar there is probably a tiny representation of both/all desktops
    and you can click from one to the others....give that a
    try...(however, since i've never used compiz i have NO idea how to
    get from one side of that cube to another!!)

    and, you can try Alt+F2 and type konqueror (no capital letter) in the
    blank and see if that results in a Konqueror you _can_ see..

    or, maybe you just need to turn off desktop effects/compiz

    in any case: good luck (and pat yourself on the back for being smart
    enough to ask BEFORE you take drastic measures)

    --
    see caveat: http://tinyurl.com/6aagco
    DenverD (Linux Counter 282315) via NNTP, Thunderbird 2.0.0.14, KDE
    3.5.7, SUSE Linux 10.3, 2.6.22.18-0.2-default #1 SMP i686 athlon

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Posts
    719

    Default Re: Konqueror refuse to start - help needed

    Oh, thanks.

    I am sorry if I was confusing.
    KDE works normally, I logon normally, cube works fine... lets say everything IS normal, except konqueror wouldnt start.
    Deleting .kde/share/apps/konqueror and konquerorrc didnt help either.

    When I click to open folder, Konq loading icon appears, konq taskbar appears and after loading, instead of showing in the screen, taskbar konq bar disappear, mouse pointer return to normal, as I didnt started it at all.
    typing ps -A reveals konqueror as started.
    No, there is no hidden windows.

    is there a way to repair this?
    If not, should I reinstall it?
    Can I change file manager to, lets say, Dolphin?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Posts
    719

    Default Re: Konqueror refuse to start - help needed

    Something is very wrong... Amarok doesnt start either. Probably some more apps.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Konqueror refuse to start - help needed

    beli0135 wrote:
    > Something is very wrong... Amarok doesnt start either. Probably some
    > more apps.


    - open a terminal
    - type in konqueror (no capital K)
    - maybe it gives an error message, or anything...if so, copy and past
    it into this forum..

    - same thing, for Amarok, type amarok

    --
    see caveat: http://tinyurl.com/6aagco
    DenverD (Linux Counter 282315) via NNTP, Thunderbird 2.0.0.14, KDE
    3.5.7, SUSE Linux 10.3, 2.6.22.18-0.2-default #1 SMP i686 athlon

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Posts
    719

    Default Re: Konqueror refuse to start - help needed

    I have found that I have broken packages/dependencies with wxGTK and wxPython or something like it.
    I did "smart fix", then upgrade where those 3-4 packages were updated, and now it came back to normal.

    Very strange... what wxGTK and python has to do with Konqueror... but, it resolved the problem.
    ...I hope

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Konqueror refuse to start - help needed

    beli0135 wrote:
    > I have found that I have broken packages/dependencies


    did you learn that from opening konqueror in a terminal, or ???

    (i am wondering if my post was helpful, or not..)

    --
    DenverD (Linux Counter 282315) via NNTP, Thunderbird 2.0.0.14, KDE
    3.5.7, SUSE Linux 10.3, 2.6.22.18-0.2-default #1 SMP i686 athlon

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Posts
    719

    Default Re: Konqueror refuse to start - help needed

    All posts which tries to help are useful. If not to one, then to another!
    Thank you for that.

    Opening from terminal didnt show any error on neither Konqueror nor Amarok.
    I just followed my hunch and did
    #> smart fix
    when it repaired, re-downloaded and re-installed wxGTK, everything gone back to normal.
    Strange...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •