Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: where installed softwares go?

Default where installed softwares go?

i recently installed wine and other softwares! where they go? how can i find them?

Default Re: where installed softwares go?

all your installed software should be on your application browser it is all alphabetical so it should be close to the bottom of the list

I'd like to ask the same question, where wine went? I see that it's installed, but can't see it on "Applications", neither can I get it working, that is, I don't know how- to do that...

How can I install a downloaded program, such as Firefox? I click on the downloaded program, and it opens on the Archive Manager...then what to do?
    I am VERY new to OpenSuse
    Thanks!

you can run wine from a console,just type wine & press enter. As for Firefox,@Chdslv, why not use rpm's to install instead of using tar.gz files ? or use YaST-software - Software management to install software

Andy
    To be is to do = Immanuel Kant
    To do is to be = Descartes.
    Do be do be do = Frank Sinatra

SuSE user since 7.0,Linux user since 1994

When you install wine, you dont actually get an entry in your application launcher (k-menu, or gnome...).

I'd advise you to install wine-doors. When installed you will get an entry under "Sytem", listed as "Windows application Installer".
    With this app you will be able to install windows application through a nice GUI (as I see you're not really familiar with cli...)

Good luck

PS. Some other advice: get to know some basic cli. Could come in handy

Quote Originally Posted by deltaflyer44 View Post
    you can run wine from a console,just type wine & press enter. As for Firefox,@Chdslv, why not use rpm's to install instead of using tar.gz files ? or use YaST-software - Software management to install software

Andy

i did tried to run it from command. but i recieved:
    Code:
    omid@linux-3hj1:~> wine
    Usage: wine PROGRAM [ARGUMENTS...]   Run the specified program