Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: Wireless Woes, Sees network but wont Connect

  1. #1

    Default Wireless Woes, Sees network but wont Connect

    After several hours of reading these forums I managed to get the wireless card to see the network but not connect, I hve tried enabling WEP, WPA and no network. None of it allows me to connect. I have tried using newtwork manager or the old classic method. I have done the install of the bmc43 firmware.

    After reading the wireless primer here are the results, I even deleted and let it reload the card.

    b43-phy0: Broadcom 4306 WLAN found
    phy0: Selected rate control algorithm 'pid'
    Broadcom 43xx driver loaded [ Features: PMLR, Firmware-ID: FW13 ]



    linux-dzo0:/home/ray # /usr/sbin/iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    wmaster0 no wireless extensions.

    wlan0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:""
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.437 GHz Access Point: 00:0C:41:AB:6B:70
    Tx-Power=27 dBm
    Retry min limit:7 RTS thrff Fragment thr=2352 B
    Encryption keyff
    Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0


    linux-dzo0:/home/ray # /usr/sbin/iwlist scan
    lo Interface doesn't support scanning.

    eth0 Interface doesn't support scanning.

    wmaster0 Interface doesn't support scanning.

    wlan0 Scan completed :
    Cell 01 - Address: 00:0C:41:AB:6B:70
    ESSID:"Bullins Family Network"
    Mode:Master
    Channel:6
    Frequency:2.437 GHz (Channel 6)
    Quality=71/100 Signal level=-58 dBm Noise level=-68 dBm
    Encryption keyn
    IE: WPA Version 1
    Group Cipher : TKIP
    Pairwise Ciphers (1) : TKIP
    Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
    24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s
    12 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s
    Extra:tsf=000000006f31a18d

    Please help, I would really like to get rid of windows.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City Area, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    7,235

    Default Re: Wireless Woes, Sees network but wont Connect

    What shows up with the command 'dmesg | grep b43'?

    After it fails to connect, post the last few lines of the output of dmesg.

    There are some laptops that contain BCM4306 cards with RFKILL buttons
    that do not generate a scan code. If you have one of these, you will
    need 2.6.27.

    Larry

  3. #3

    Default Re: Wireless Woes, Sees network but wont Connect

    Couple of things I forgot. This is versoin 11, Also this is nto a laptop but destop with PCI Motorola Wireless Card.

    dmesg | grep b43 returns


    Broadcom 4306 wlan found
    b43-phy0 loading firmware version 410.2160
    registered led device: b43-phy0::tx
    registered led device: b43-phy0::rx
    registered led device: b43-phy0::radio

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City Area, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    7,235

    Default Re: Wireless Woes, Sees network but wont Connect

    Your card does not have the RFKILL switch problem. You only need to
    configure the connection (ESSID, encryption parameters) and it should
    work.

    Larry

  5. #5
    bocchy NNTP User

    Unhappy Re: Wireless Woes, Sees network but wont Connect

    Hi all, i have acer aspire 5920 CHPSET Intel
    WiFi Card Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection
    on windows Wifi Works, in Ubuntu Works and yestrday i reinstaled my PC and installed OpenSuse 11.0 so my wifi connection sometime detect others wifi connections but not my Router(D-Link DIR-625) and not my name of connection please HELP US .
    im not frist persone who have this big problem (for me its big) 5 h i worked for doit something but nothing, im tired but i like opensuse . please what i need to do ? THNX . my laptom have buton for enable/disable WiFi and in openSuse don't work no lights, so someone who knows something please write to easy because im new user and im not expert, THNX. Denis

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    U.K East Anglia
    Posts
    2,581

    Default Re: Wireless Woes, Sees network but wont Connect

    Quote Originally Posted by bocchy View Post
    Hi all, i have acer aspire 5920 CHPSET Intel
    WiFi Card Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection
    on windows Wifi Works, in Ubuntu Works and yestrday i reinstaled my PC and installed OpenSuse 11.0 so my wifi connection sometime detect others wifi connections but not my Router(D-Link DIR-625) and not my name of connection please HELP US .
    im not frist persone who have this big problem (for me its big) 5 h i worked for doit something but nothing, im tired but i like opensuse . please what i need to do ? THNX . my laptom have buton for enable/disable WiFi and in openSuse don't work no lights, so someone who knows something please write to easy because im new user and im not expert, THNX. Denis
    Instead of hijacking someone's thread with a totally unrelated problem, why not start your own. & Have you read the stickies ? Also, please do not double post, other has been deleted

    Andy
    To be is to do = Immanuel Kant
    To do is to be = Descartes.
    Do be do be do = Frank Sinatra

    SuSE user since 7.0,Linux user since 1994

  7. #7

    Default Re: Wireless Woes, Sees network but wont Connect

    I have configured it 15 times and it doesnt work, what am I missing. I have configured it for no security , I have configured it for WEP I have configured it for WPA and none will connect.Each time I changed teh Router I first ensured my laptop would connect so I know it was configured correct on the Router side. I have even clicked the little globe in the task bar and done it by saying new connection and still no dice. I am using YAST to configure the card so I assume that is what you mean by configure the card. I am stuck and dont know where to go next. Thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    U.K East Anglia
    Posts
    2,581

    Default Re: Wireless Woes, Sees network but wont Connect

    have you tried changing the channel on the router ? sometimes interference can stop connections. Changing the channel sometimes helps

    Andy
    To be is to do = Immanuel Kant
    To do is to be = Descartes.
    Do be do be do = Frank Sinatra

    SuSE user since 7.0,Linux user since 1994

  9. #9

    Default Re: Wireless Woes, Sees network but wont Connect

    I can connect with my laptop in windows sitting right beside it, it finds the network but wont connect, I will try it and see if it does anything

  10. #10

    Default Re: Wireless Woes, Sees network but wont Connect

    I tried changing the channel, for some reason if I do a dhclient command it tells me that no leases were offered even though it see the router and other devices can connect. Also when it is trying to connect, if I do a iwevent it looks like it scans timesout and then does it all over again.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •