Need some answer: compiling, libraries, xine

I’m fairly new to Linux. I’m running openSuse 11.0 on ppc.
I have some questions.
I) When compiling is there a certain folder I should be doing it from?
As of now, I download the source and I move it to the folder /home/stephan.brubaker/Programs. Now i am doing this using Dolphin as I don’t know how to unpack tar’s in the terminal. Then of course in terminal I cd to the folder and ./configure ; make ; make install it.

II) I want to be able to play dvd’s on my PC but the version of Xine that comes with Suse doesn’t allow it. I have installed the libdvdcss.
I need to install Xine from source. I need to know :

1. do i need to uninstall the version I have "i tried this through yast but it told me that a lot of other things had to be removed aswell so I just canceled it.

2. I tried to install from source anyway and while it was configuring it came back with the error telling me that it couldn’t find ffmpeg-libpostproc but right about that line was the one telling me that it had found ffmpeg fine.

Side note - i had also installed ffmpeg from source in the same fashion as i described above. I don’t know if that has anything to do with it.

Thanks alot,

Stephan

Package installation is best done from Yast - Software Management, unless you have something very specific you need that is not available elsewhere.

If you use kde you will need this for multimedia: http://opensuse-community.org/codecs-kde.ymp

If you use Gnome: http://opensuse-community.org/codecs-gnome.ymp

You also need restricted formats
kde: http://opensuse-community.org/codecs-kde.ymp
Gnome: http://opensuse-community.org/codecs-gnome.ymp

**All you need from the VLC repo is libdvdcss
**Index of /pub/vlc/SuSE/11.0/

The vlc player is best from Packman.:Index of /pub/linux/misc/packman/suse/11.0

I typically place tarballs in /home/oldcpu/tars, where I arbitary made up “tars”. A name “Programs” would likely work just as well.