Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Dumb question, where is teh "run" command

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    60

    Default Dumb question, where is teh "run" command

    I am running KDE 3.5 and I want to know where to find the "run" command.

    I know i can do ALT-F2,but is there a way to run it? like I would run any other appilcation?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    U.K East Anglia
    Posts
    2,581

    Default Re: Dumb question, where is teh "run" command

    it's also in your menu list

    Andy
    To be is to do = Immanuel Kant
    To do is to be = Descartes.
    Do be do be do = Frank Sinatra

    SuSE user since 7.0,Linux user since 1994

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Voorhout, Netherlands
    Posts
    262

    Default Re: Dumb question, where is teh "run" command

    dhound wrote:
    > I am running KDE 3.5 and I want to know where to find the "run"
    > command.
    >
    > I know i can do ALT-F2,but is there a way to run it? like I would run
    > any other appilcation?


    Check 'ps ax' when you did Alt-F2
    Here, with XFCE, I notice:
    7688 ? Ss 0:00 /usr/bin/xfrun4 --daemon

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    3,439

    Default Re: Dumb question, where is teh "run" command

    If you are looking for the equivalent to the Windows command, there isn't one; you just enter the name of the program in a terminal and it will run.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Dumb question, where is teh "run" command

    dhound wrote:
    > I am running KDE 3.5 and I want to know where to find the "run"
    > command.
    >
    > I know i can do ALT-F2,but is there a way to run it? like I would run
    > any other appilcation?
    >


    click the lizard (whatever) in the lower left corner and see if there
    isn't a "run" listed there (which is the same as Alt+F2)...maybe i
    should assume you are asking how to open open a console/terminal?

    try System > Terminal and pick one..

    then type in the name of the app and hit enter (only works if the app
    is in the "path")

    if not in the path, use cd to get to the location of the executable
    and type

    ../[executable's file name]

    enough??

    i make it easier by adding a terminal icon to my 'task bar' by
    -right click on bar
    -select Add Application to panel > System > Terminal and then pick
    the one you are most comfortable with (i like Konsole)..


    --
    see caveat: http://tinyurl.com/6aagco
    DenverD (Linux Counter 282315) via NNTP, Thunderbird 2.0.0.14, KDE
    3.5.7, SUSE Linux 10.3, 2.6.22.18-0.2-default #1 SMP i686 athlon

  6. #6

    Default Re: Dumb question, where is teh "run" command

    Quote Originally Posted by dhound View Post
    I know i can do ALT-F2,but is there a way to run it? like I would run any other appilcation?
    "dcop kdesktop default popupExecuteCommand"

  7. #7
    ab@novell.com NNTP User

    Default Re: Dumb question, where is teh "run" command

    -----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
    Hash: SHA1

    Not quite sure what you're referring to.... a 'run'-like menu is
    available as posted by LittleRedRooster via Alt+F2.

    Good luck.





    john hudson wrote:
    > If you are looking for the equivalent to the Windows command, there
    > isn't one; you just enter the name of the program in a terminal and it
    > will run.
    >
    >

    -----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
    Version: GnuPG v1.4.2 (GNU/Linux)
    Comment: Using GnuPG with Mozilla - http://enigmail.mozdev.org

    iD4DBQFIx+Hu3s42bA80+9kRAvCnAJURStEPnl8k2h8VfI82Cjd6cAjgAJ4raLXY
    jrRsAxIBL1iFgdh24WQBzA==
    =ETup
    -----END PGP SIGNATURE-----

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Voorhout, Netherlands
    Posts
    262

    Default Re: Dumb question, where is teh "run" command

    ab@novell.com wrote:
    > Not quite sure what you're referring to.... a 'run'-like menu is
    > available as posted by LittleRedRooster via Alt+F2.


    I'm pretty sure he wants to know what executable is run when he presses
    ALT-F2, like 'xfrun4 --daemon' in case of XFCE, so he can maybe call it
    from scripts or something.


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Rotterdam, Port to Europe
    Posts
    207

    Default Re: Dumb question, where is teh "run" command

    If I was a beginner and would get answers like the ones above..... ? I'd "run" back to windows
    Well most of the answers, like: "dcop kdesktop default popupExecuteCommand". What should a beginner make of that ? What is the use to tell him/her this.... ?

    Why not just tell him/her there isn't one. Explain how he can start a program: Open a terminal and type the name of the executable (lower case) and if it is a shell script mostly named xyz.sh type: sh xyz.sh
    OpenSuSE Leap 42.3 / KDE 5.8 | Intel i7 3770 | 16GBRam | 120 + 80GB SSD's | Benq 27" | DVD | PhilipsToUcam 740 | HPpsc2355p | Logitech KB & mouse | 320 +160 + 80 + 80 GB USB HDD's | Fritz!Box Fon WLAN 7360 | (V)DSL 12 MB/s | SuSE since 2001

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Voorhout, Netherlands
    Posts
    262

    Default Re: Dumb question, where is teh "run" command

    Cinq-Marquis wrote:
    > If I was a beginner and would get answers like the ones above..... ? I'd
    > "run" back to windows


    If you can't be any more tenacious, then that would probably be best
    both for you and for us.

    > Well most of the answers, like: -"dcop kdesktop default
    > popupExecuteCommand"-. What should a beginner make of that ? What is the
    > use to tell him/her this.... ?


    Well, for starters, he /could/ try what 'dcop desktop' returns in
    Google, and learn a whole lot. But of course, being spoon-fed is soo
    much more fulfilling.

    > Why not just tell him/her there isn't one. Explain how he can start a
    > program: Open a terminal and type the name of the executable (lower
    > case) and if it is a shell script mostly named -xyz.sh- type: *sh*
    > -xyz.sh -


    $*sh* -xyz.sh-
    bash: Screenshot-1.png: command not found

    The OP was totally unclear as to what he really wanted, so were all
    playing this tiresome old guessing game again.
    And you are just guessing his purpose too, because you have no idea if
    it's a Unix CLI program he wants to call (needing options and
    parameters), or a GUI, or a script with e.g. .py or .pl ending.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •