I am new to suse...........

How to install moodin plugin in suse 11.0

Blog Entries

Default Re: moodin plugin

Quote Originally Posted by jestinjoy View Post
    Hi,
    I am new to suse...........

How to install moodin plugin in suse 11.0
    Is this for a splash screen engine for kde? If so, you will find "webpin" is an excellent resource for searches for packaged openSUSE applications:
    webpin search for moodin

If my guess is correct, then install ksplash-engine-moodin.

Note Packman site is another great place to search for apps:
    PackMan :: Package details for ksplash-engine-moodin

There is a search tab on the packman site which works great.

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by jestinjoy View Post
    How to install ....
    Reference "installing" , with your being new to openSUSE, I recommend you setup your software repositories (repos) with only 4 repos: OSS, Non-OSS, Update and Packman. No others. You can find info on how to do that here: Repositories/11.0 - openSUSE-Community

Once that is setup, with your pc on the internet, you could install ksplash-engine-moodin with the command:
    su -c 'zypper install ksplash-engine-moodin'

Since you are new to openSUSE, I recommend you read this basic openSUSE concepts page:
    Concepts - openSUSE

thanks for this post, helped me too with 11.1

I downloaded pack from kde-look.org but could not finnish the setup by myself.

Just another newbee.

Question Re: moodin plugin

Sorry for the double-post.

As described above, I've installed the Moodin plug-in in openSuse v11.1.

It were from Webpin, YaST finnished fine, I even checked the package in the Software Manager, but it seems to not work. Downloaded some splash screen which needs this support but the Moodin istallation needed message still keeps appearing. I rebooted the machine and still no luck on running this plug-in. Any thoughts? running kde3, default boot init is 2, could this be an issue?

Blog Entries