Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: No Sound - Wondering if it is a user issue

  1. #1

    Default No Sound - Wondering if it is a user issue

    Hello,

    I have an issue. When ever I watch a movie, listen to something on Internet radio or nearly anything else, I have sound. However when ever I play a game or any application, I have none. It seems to me like this may be a very simple group/user issue. Any help?

    Thanks.
    Intel Q9550 Quad Core
    Nvidia 9800GX2
    GSkill DDR2 4x2GB

    Still not fast enough...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Istanbul, Turkey
    Posts
    50

    Default Re: No Sound - Wondering if it is a user issue

    A few questions

    Have you changed any of the Pulse Audio default packages?

    Can you give an example of one or two of the game names.

    If you try and launch one of the games from console does it give you any error output and if yes can you paste it in a reply.

  3. #3

    Default Re: No Sound - Wondering if it is a user issue

    Some games that do not have sound would be Assault Cube, Battle Tanks and Tremulous. About running it from the terminal, I ran Tremulous and this was the output regarding anything audio:

    Initializing SDL audio driver...
    SDL audio driver is "(UNKNOWN)".
    SDL_OpenAudio() failed: No available audio device
    Sound intialization failed.

    Thanks.
    Intel Q9550 Quad Core
    Nvidia 9800GX2
    GSkill DDR2 4x2GB

    Still not fast enough...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: No Sound - Wondering if it is a user issue

    Suggest you check in Yast that you have your sound device configured correctly.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,527
    Blog Entries
    37

    Default Re: No Sound - Wondering if it is a user issue

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    Suggest you check in Yast that you have your sound device configured correctly.
    Apologies caf4926, ... but the user noted when ever they watch a movie, listen to something on Internet radio or nearly anything else, the have sound.

    Why would going into yast help? Would that not just increase the risk of causing more problems? ...

    My guess is the games need to be configured for audio. Perhaps the games are looking for OSS, and the user does not have the OSS emulator (alsa-oss) installed? Or perhaps the games have an option that requires tuning. I think the user needs to search on EACH game, looking for how they adjust their game's audio, and how they can tune their game's audio for different configurations.

    Audio works great in the only game I play (chess). There is not supposed to be audio in chess , and that works !

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: No Sound - Wondering if it is a user issue

    Apologies caf4926, ... but the user noted when ever they watch a movie, listen to something on Internet radio or nearly anything else, the have sound.
    Quite correct. My mistake. Didn't read it carefully enough.

    My guess is the games need to be configured for audio.
    I agree.

    Follow oldcpu's advice. He's streets ahead of us on this subject anyway.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  7. #7

    Default Re: No Sound - Wondering if it is a user issue

    the user does not have the OSS emulator (alsa-oss) installed
    I installed it, however nothing seems to have changed. When I looked at the settings in YasT and tried to test my audio I received this warning:

    audiotestsrc wave=sine freq=512 ! audioconvert ! audioresample ! gconfaudiosink profile=music: Could not get/set settings from/on resource.
    And once again, thanks oldcpu and caf4926.
    Intel Q9550 Quad Core
    Nvidia 9800GX2
    GSkill DDR2 4x2GB

    Still not fast enough...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Istanbul, Turkey
    Posts
    50

    Default Re: No Sound - Wondering if it is a user issue

    If you open console then enter

    SDL_AUDIODRIVER=esd (press enter)
    tremulous-wrapper (or alternative problem game name and press enter)

    does that give you sound in the game?

  9. #9

    Default Re: No Sound - Wondering if it is a user issue

    king@linux-jkzv:~> SDL_AUDIODRIVER=esd
    king@linux-jkzv:~> tremulous-wrapper
    bash: tremulous-wrapper: command not found
    It cannot find the command.
    Intel Q9550 Quad Core
    Nvidia 9800GX2
    GSkill DDR2 4x2GB

    Still not fast enough...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Istanbul, Turkey
    Posts
    50

    Default Re: No Sound - Wondering if it is a user issue

    OK try as above using tremulous instead of tremulous-wrapper

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •