Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: No WPA or WPA2 on Dell Broadcom card with ndiswrapper

  1. #1
    greginchina NNTP User

    Default No WPA or WPA2 on Dell Broadcom card with ndiswrapper

    Hi Everyone,

    Total linux newbie here.

    I finally got my Dell Broadcom wireless card working on OpenSUSE 11 with ndiswrapper after much fiddling.

    I'm using a Linksys Draft-N router (I can't check the model number as I'm not currently at home - will add it later if relevant).

    The Network Manager can see the network but when I try to connect using WPA or WPA2 it just eventually times out and I have to try again. No matter how many times I try it will not connect.

    I have changed the router's security settings to use WEP and it works ok. However I would really like to go back to using WPA2 if possible.

    Any ideas why this is not working and what I would need to do to make it work?

    Thanks,

    Greg.

  2. #2

    Default Re: No WPA or WPA2 on Dell Broadcom card with ndiswrapper

    Hi...

    I can advice 2 things... first try enabling dell repository to get your card working with other driver... ndiswrapper not always is the best choice...
    I have a compaq laptop and i use b43 driver for my broadcom card and it works ok

    second try configuring your card with yast... there you can set your password and indicates if it its wpa-psk or whatever... i use wap-psk...

    to enable dell repository see opensuse DELL

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Frisco, TX
    Posts
    1,233

    Default Re: No WPA or WPA2 on Dell Broadcom card with ndiswrapper

    On Tue, 2008-08-26 at 05:16 +0000, greginchina wrote:
    > Hi Everyone,
    >
    > Total linux newbie here.
    >
    > I finally got my Dell Broadcom wireless card working on OpenSUSE 11
    > with ndiswrapper after much fiddling.
    >
    > I'm using a Linksys Draft-N router (I can't check the model number as
    > I'm not currently at home - will add it later if relevant).
    >
    > The Network Manager can see the network but when I try to connect using
    > WPA or WPA2 it just eventually times out and I have to try again. No
    > matter how many times I try it will not connect.


    I had trouble getting WPA to work too.. but on the older Dell 1390.
    I switch to the native bcm driver... with a twist, I hand to right
    a pre-up script to jam in my ESSID.

    >
    > I have changed the router's security settings to use WEP and it works
    > ok. However I would really like to go back to using WPA2 if possible.
    >
    > Any ideas why this is not working and what I would need to do to make
    > it work?


    I haven't tried the newer Dell... don't know how well the native
    driver supports it.

    I need to write a wiki post about the ESSID problem... My
    D630 works find today using the native driver with WPA (with
    my ESSID workaround/fix).




  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Posts
    719

    Default Re: No WPA or WPA2 on Dell Broadcom card with ndiswrapper

    Actually, it's not about the driver, but up to wpa_supplicant that somehow is difficult on colaboration.
    Read more about it's configuration, and with a little push-pull, you can make it work.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Frisco, TX
    Posts
    1,233

    Default Re: No WPA or WPA2 on Dell Broadcom card with ndiswrapper

    On Thu, 2008-08-28 at 12:26 +0000, beli0135 wrote:
    > Actually, it's not about the driver, but up to wpa_supplicant that
    > somehow is difficult on colaboration.
    > Read more about it's configuration, and with a little push-pull, you
    > can make it work.


    Hmmm ok.. but I'm not motivated anymore now that I no longer
    need to use ndiswrapper.



  6. #6
    karlsao NNTP User

    Default Re: No WPA or WPA2 on Dell Broadcom card with ndiswrapper

    Quote Originally Posted by greginchina View Post
    Hi Everyone,

    Total linux newbie here.

    I finally got my Dell Broadcom wireless card working on OpenSUSE 11 with ndiswrapper after much fiddling.

    I'm using a Linksys Draft-N router (I can't check the model number as I'm not currently at home - will add it later if relevant).

    The Network Manager can see the network but when I try to connect using WPA or WPA2 it just eventually times out and I have to try again. No matter how many times I try it will not connect.

    I have changed the router's security settings to use WEP and it works ok. However I would really like to go back to using WPA2 if possible.

    Any ideas why this is not working and what I would need to do to make it work?

    Thanks,

    Greg.
    Hi Greg,

    Have you made your wireless card working with WPA-PSK?

    Any tip?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •