Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 37

Thread: upgrading to kde 4.1

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    455

    Default upgrading to kde 4.1

    can we upgrade to kde 4.1 via Yast2 ? or ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    570

    Default Re: upgrading to kde 4.1

    Best way is to go here KDE/KDE4 - openSUSE
    then here to add the community and extra-apps repo's KDE/Repositories - openSUSE
    Be sure your adding the factory repo's

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    455

    Default Re: upgrading to kde 4.1

    Quote Originally Posted by Havoc65 View Post
    Best way is to go here KDE/KDE4 - openSUSE
    then here to add the community and extra-apps repo's KDE/Repositories - openSUSE
    Be sure your adding the factory repo's
    which repo do you install in factory repos? The KDE 4.1 Factory Development for 11.0 ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    570

    Default Re: upgrading to kde 4.1

    yes it is the KDE 4.1 factory development for 11.0

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    455

    Default Re: upgrading to kde 4.1

    I'm running it now, but it lools like it's install 4.0.4 I don't want that one. I already have it and it's not good for general use.

    Where's the 4.1?
    I should be for straightforward than that. I'll have to uninstall it!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    570

    Default Re: upgrading to kde 4.1

    if you did the 1 click like i said in the frist link i gave you you will have kde 4.1 heres a screen shot of which one click to install

    Free Image Hosting by ImageBam.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    455

    Default Re: upgrading to kde 4.1

    I checked the first one for version 11. isn't that the correct one? but nothing worked the way it was suppose to.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    570

    Default Re: upgrading to kde 4.1

    no it is the second set of green boxes look at that screen shot i posted in previous post it shows the second set of green boxes and says 4.1 the first set is just for 4.0

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    455

    Default Re: upgrading to kde 4.1

    the second list is for 64 bit I used the version 11 in the first list.

    It would be easier to use the command line instead of the confusing lists on that page?

    what are the commands for installing repos and kde4.1?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    570

    Default Re: upgrading to kde 4.1

    that second list is for either 32 bit or 64 bit it will automatically determine what your system is
    i've used it many times all 32 bit system the exact same 1 click install

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •