Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Integrate Firefox - Remove Konqueror - Network setup - JAVA

Smile Integrate Firefox - Remove Konqueror - Network setup - JAVA

Hi there,

I am kinda new to linux and openSUSE. I have installed version 11 x64
    on a Intel Q9300, asus mobo, 4GBs of ram and nvidia8800GTX.
    I've used Ubuntu before at home which was OK, nicely done, easy friendly but seemed to be fragile at times and didn't look that professional compared to openSUSE. I've used RHEL4 at work which made me to hate my life!

After installation everything worked smoothly, well nearly, because I had problems playing .mp3 and .avi files. All that is sorted though.

Anyhow, I am a firefox user, so I want to use Firefox as the main browser, how will I make it the primary browser of the system?
    Applications like sysinfo use Konqueror, I want to use firefox instead or Dolphin if possible. Also I have two Fat32 partitions and a NTFS with vista to dual boot, these are not shown on Dolphin, they are only shown on Konqueror. Also i tried to sudo and modify menu.lst but I didn't have access not even to read the file.

Network setup; I have to enable it manually? Why? I made a new connection gave it a name and set it up to route to the outside world properly. But why would I have to enable manually each time I boot up?

JAVA; ultimately this box will be used for web and java development but I have no idea how java performs under linux and opensuse 11. How about eclipse? Would enabled compiz effects coz a problem to the windows rendering?

I chose openSuse 11 cause I heard about the excellent KD4 support + extra applications.

Apologies if I am giving someone a headache

Regards,
    Eikichi

Default Re: Integrate Firefox - Remove Konqueror - Network setup - J

Quote Originally Posted by eikichi View Post
    Anyhow, I am a firefox user, so I want to use Firefox as the main browser, how will I make it the primary browser of the system?