Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: gnome vs KDE

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    /Linux/Userland
    Posts
    279

    Default gnome vs KDE

    Have just installed & updated openSUSE 11.0 with the gnome desktop.
    Are there any advantages/disadvantages in using one over the other?
    Linux User 483705 @ http://counter.li.org/

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    207

    Default Re: gnome vs KDE

    Preference, mostly. I have tried to like GNOME, but KDE is right for me. I like all the K* apps that come with it =) Kate is cool, Konsole, Konqueror, Kaffeine, Amarok.

    Some prefer the simplicity of GNOME. Try them both out - you can have BOTH installed at the same time. To switch, just logout, and select your new desktop. Then enter username-password to log in again. Voila. Enjoy.
    NVIDIA! Listen to your customers! We want Free drivers.
    Petition #1. Petition #2. Use your VOICE! Sign the petitions!

  3. #3

    Default Re: gnome vs KDE

    In terms of disk space usage KDE eats more compare to GNOME. If you prefer good looking interface use KDE but if you prefer simple graphical interface use GNOME.
    Friend Mo Ako

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Rome, Italy
    Posts
    248

    Default Re: gnome vs KDE

    It's only a matter of feeling. I do prefere Kde for 'historical' reason. My first de was cde on the top of solaris so... But i think also that Kde is more or immediately configurable. Only my 2 cents!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    /Linux/Userland
    Posts
    279

    Question Re: gnome vs KDE

    Quote Originally Posted by felipe1982 View Post
    To switch, just logout, and select your new desktop. Then enter username-password to log in again. Voila. Enjoy.
    After Logging Out, there I don't find option to choose KDE ... where is that? Or do I need to Login at run level = 3 (/root user)
    Linux User 483705 @ http://counter.li.org/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Rome, Italy
    Posts
    248

    Default Re: gnome vs KDE

    You have to install it. So goto yast>package management and select models (i use italian version so could be a different translation). from there select desktop environments choose kde or kde4 (i suggest kde3 at the moment) and accept

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    /Linux/Userland
    Posts
    279

    Default Re: gnome vs KDE

    I have KDE installed, but don't see the option to choose it at boot time.
    Linux User 483705 @ http://counter.li.org/

  8. #8

    Default Re: gnome vs KDE

    Be sure that the "kdebase3-session" or "kdebase4-session" package is installed (depend if you use KDE3 or KDE4.. or both ).

    After that, you will be able to choose it in KDM menu.

    Hovewer, I'dont know very well GDM, and can't help you more if you use it.
    Last edited by Spyhawk; 09-Aug-2008 at 06:15. Reason: typo

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Rome, Italy
    Posts
    248

    Default Re: gnome vs KDE

    At least in kdm (i also don't use gdm) there at the left low side of the screen a drop down menu called session. from there you can choose wich desktop to launch

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    207

    Default Re: gnome vs KDE

    Quote Originally Posted by bcrisciotti View Post
    At least in kdm (i also don't use gdm) there at the left low side of the screen a drop down menu called session. from there you can choose wich desktop to launch
    yeah. that's it.
    NVIDIA! Listen to your customers! We want Free drivers.
    Petition #1. Petition #2. Use your VOICE! Sign the petitions!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •