Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: KDE 4.0

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Moses Lake, WA. USA
    Posts
    474

    Default KDE 4.0

    OpenSUSE 11.0 latest updates. KDE 4.0. I normally use KDE 3.5.9 but today I
    had to do a test with KDE running as root. I su'd to Root, typed KDE and
    KDE 4.0 Konqueror came up. When I went into the file system is is using
    FSplugin and I cannot find a way to make it like the old system with Icons,
    Instead I have a cluttered screen that appears to list the different
    directories and files by color. Totally unuseable. Is there a way to
    convert this to the old screen layout?

    Thanks for any response.
    --
    Russ
    Linux register user 441463

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    316

    Default Re: KDE 4.0

    Why to do it that way ?
    If you like to use kde as root login as root

    dobby9

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: KDE 4.0

    If you like to use kde as root login as root
    Not a good idea
    I can't remember the last time I logged in as root. su yes!

    But I really can't make out what you were trying to do?!
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Moses Lake, WA. USA
    Posts
    474

    Default Re: KDE 4.0

    dobby9 wrote:

    >
    > Why to do it that way ?
    > If you like to use kde as root login as root
    >
    > dobby9
    >
    >

    I agree with caf4926, it to dangerous to log in as root and try to make
    changes, etc. What I'm trying to do is backup my home directory but some
    files will not all it even though I own them, was going to see if root
    could. I'm backing up to a usb disk and I mount it as /media/disk as the
    user.
    --
    Russ
    Linux register user 441463

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: KDE 4.0

    The problem is not the disc you are writing to but the files you are copying from in your /home
    Some of those files are in use.

    There are several ways to do it.

    Even if you use the file manager super user mode in Suse, you may still have some that don't copy - though it probably won't matter.

    If you have a knoppix cd, boot that. It should pick up your usb disc and your /home and should permit you to copy it. You may need to run as super user.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Moses Lake, WA. USA
    Posts
    474

    Default Re: KDE 4.0

    caf4926 wrote:

    >
    > The problem is not the disc you are writing to but the files you are
    > copying from in your /home
    > Some of those files are in use.
    >
    > There are several ways to do it.
    >
    > Even if you use the file manager super user mode in Suse, you may still
    > have some that don't copy - though it probably won't matter.
    >
    > If you have a knoppix cd, boot that. It should pick up your usb disc
    > and your /home and should permit you to copy it. You may need to run as
    > super user.
    >
    >

    I'll Google as see if i can download one.

    Thanks. Your right it is the files in the home directory. sure as .adobe,
    some don't copy.
    --
    Russ
    Linux register user 441463

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •