Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Kweather under KDE4

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Brisbane Australia
    Posts
    30

    Default Kweather under KDE4

    Anyone worked out to get Kweather going under KDE4. Have installed the KDE4 rpm for Kweather and there appears to be files in /usr but no applet or plasmoid.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Kweather under KDE4

    works for me
    see my sig.

    I'm 4.1
    what about you?
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Elts NNTP User

    Default Re: Kweather under KDE4

    owise1 wrote:

    >
    > Anyone worked out to get Kweather going under KDE4. Have installed the
    > KDE4 rpm for Kweather and there appears to be files in /usr but no
    > applet or plasmoid.

    KDE4.1 & same story, not working!


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sarasota
    Posts
    301

    Default Re: Kweather under KDE4

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    works for me
    see my sig.

    I'm 4.1
    what about you?
    Most of us are 'stable', where Caf is 'unstable'.

    So, I'm guessing that its on its way in todays's update,
    which I have downloading now.

    [Caf: speaking of your sig, your kernel version is stale, no?]
    Box1: MEPIS-8.5/sidux/openSUSE-11.3M6(broken-wifi/hiddenSSIDs)/XP(32-bit), nvidia 5200
    Lap1: antiX-8.5(KDE4.4.3)/MEPIS-8.5/Vista, Intel 945GM, builtin-wifi->Broadcom-4311(drv=wl)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Kweather under KDE4

    Quote Originally Posted by cookdav View Post
    Most of us are 'stable', where Caf is 'unstable'.

    So, I'm guessing that its on its way in todays's update,
    which I have downloading now.

    [Caf: speaking of your sig, your kernel version is stale, no?]
    I updated my kernel ver in my sig

    What do you mean I'm unstable, I'm using
    Index of /repositories/KDE:/KDE4:/Factory:

    and not

    Index of /repositories/KDE:/KDE4:/UNSTABLE:

    I get the joke: Caf is 'unstable'.
    but am I missing something
    or am I just leaving myself open for more jesting?

    Oh, and I love fl.
    Have a home there: New Port Richey, 34652
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sarasota
    Posts
    301

    Default Re: Kweather under KDE4

    Caf: It started from your earlier post:
    kde4.1 qt44 updates - openSUSE Forums

    So, I googled 'qt44 repository' and ...well, I didn't read very deep,
    but try it and you'll see. At any rate, I didn't add that repo after
    scanning that.

    [So, I've been ASSUMING that you are 'unstable', but now I'm wiser.]

    But, of course, the REAL question is: Where is your ability to enable
    kweather coming from? [QT44 repository?]
    I'm with them...I don't have it avail in my widgets-list either, and I'm
    at 19.3 also.

    [Oh, I love Scotland/Hebrides...did an awesome kayak trip there in 2001]
    Box1: MEPIS-8.5/sidux/openSUSE-11.3M6(broken-wifi/hiddenSSIDs)/XP(32-bit), nvidia 5200
    Lap1: antiX-8.5(KDE4.4.3)/MEPIS-8.5/Vista, Intel 945GM, builtin-wifi->Broadcom-4311(drv=wl)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Kweather under KDE4

    Mine is from here though
    Index of /repositories/KDE:/KDE4:/Community/openSUSE_11.0_KDE4_Factory_Desktop

    the one from 4.1 main desktop repo is a no go for me too

    sorry - I should have been clearer
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Brisbane Australia
    Posts
    30

    Default Re: Kweather under KDE4

    Thanks for comments - I have bog standard 4.0.4 (KDE 4.0.4 >= 20080505) "release 15.2".

    Is this a bug with the version provided?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Kweather under KDE4

    4.1 is the way to go
    I did have trouble getting it going, but it came ok about a couple of weeks before final.

    And I sarted with a new .kde4 folder, it just made everything easier.

    Make sure you have kde3 installed too as backup. But I haven't needed it really. That's if you decide to move forward.

    You might find it less trouble if you un-install your extra apps and plasmoids like weather, also ktorrent. That way you will get less dependancy issues to work thru. Remember to disable your old kde4 repo's if you have them.

    Check it out first, see what issues it throws at you.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Brisbane Australia
    Posts
    30

    Default Re: Kweather under KDE4

    Thanks mate - you must live online!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •