Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: A few KDE4.1 questions

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    399

    Question A few KDE4.1 questions

    Hi,

    I have a few questions re. KDE4.1:

    1. I deleted the default icons (Dolphin, Konqueror etc.) from the quicklaunch menu at the bottom left hand corner next to the Start button but there is no Add Application button - how can I add applications to the quicklaunch panel? I can't even find the quicklaunch panel itself, I can't move anything to between the Start button and that desktop multi-screens switchover thing (forgot how it's called).

    2. I had Konqueror Super User and normal Konqueror in KDE3.5, now they're both gone, I found how to make Konqueror to open folders by default - but how can I add it to the main menu and quicklaunch? I can only find it with Alt+F2. And how can I add a Superuser Konqueror as well? At the moment I can't edit any system files from a user account, I need to start a new root session and only do that from there - this is inconvenient. A Superuser Konqueror was perfect for that job.

    3. Is the bottom panel transparency implemented yet? There's no such option in the panel settings. Is it hidden somewhere in the Personal Settings?

    4. When I install new applications they don't show in the Menu. Is this a bug? Changing the Menu into Suse Default and then back to Classic refreshes the menu some times, sometimes only restarting X helps.

    5. If I right-click on an application in the main menu it launches the application, in KDE3.5 it only showed some options - can I disable that right-click launch anyhow?

    6. When I search for new widgets from internet with the tool, click on Install, thy don't get added - is this a bug or I'm doing something wrong?

    7. Could anyone recommend a nice transparent system monitor widget/plasmoid if it exists? All ones I tried are not transparent, they all have that wide white border around.

    Apart from these little troubles, KDE4.1 looks pretty good. The Folder View plasmoid is a great tool. And the Oxygen panel style is awesome! (although the clock plasmoid turns into a nasty dark thing which looks completely out of place and barely seen, oh well...)

    Thank you very much, appreciate your help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    305

    Default Re: A few KDE4.1 questions

    Quote Originally Posted by linuxoidoz View Post
    Hi,

    I have a few questions re. KDE4.1:

    1. I deleted the default icons (Dolphin, Konqueror etc.) from the quicklaunch menu at the bottom left hand corner next to the Start button but there is no Add Application button - how can I add applications to the quicklaunch panel? I can't even find the quicklaunch panel itself, I can't move anything to between the Start button and that desktop multi-screens switchover thing (forgot how it's called).
    There is no quicklaunch panel per se. The application icons are simply part of the panel. If you're in the (kickoff) menu, you can move to an application, right-click, and use the "send to panel" option.

    Quote Originally Posted by linuxoidoz View Post
    Hi,
    2. I had Konqueror Super User and normal Konqueror in KDE3.5, now they're both gone, I found how to make Konqueror to open folders by default - but how can I add it to the main menu and quicklaunch? I can only find it with Alt+F2. And how can I add a Superuser Konqueror as well? At the moment I can't edit any system files from a user account, I need to start a new root session and only do that from there - this is inconvenient. A Superuser Konqueror was perfect for that job.
    If you right-click the "start" menu button (the SuSE gecko), you can select the menu editor. From there, you can add an application to the appropriate section. You'll want to use "kdesu konqueror", or pick konqueror and select the option to use as a different user.

    The option may have been dropped because Dolphin is now the default file-manager (for better or worse... ), but you can do the same thing, by creating an entry for Dolphin to run under admin.


    Quote Originally Posted by linuxoidoz View Post
    Hi,
    3. Is the bottom panel transparency implemented yet? There's no such option in the panel settings. Is it hidden somewhere in the Personal Settings?
    It's dependent upon the theme, it's not an addressable setting yet. Certain themes will make the panel have a degree of transparency, you can experiment with them in System Settings.

    Quote Originally Posted by linuxoidoz View Post
    Hi,
    4. When I install new applications they don't show in the Menu. Is this a bug? Changing the Menu into Suse Default and then back to Classic refreshes the menu some times, sometimes only restarting X helps.
    This one I can't help with, because I haven't seen it myself. If you're installing apps from the repos, but they're not appearing in the menu, you may want to file a bug on that one.

    Quote Originally Posted by linuxoidoz View Post
    Hi,
    5. If I right-click on an application in the main menu it launches the application, in KDE3.5 it only showed some options - can I disable that right-click launch anyhow?
    Again, this one I can't help with, when I right-click in the menu, I get a context menu. Maybe worth a bug report as well.

    Quote Originally Posted by linuxoidoz View Post
    Hi,
    6. When I search for new widgets from internet with the tool, click on Install, thy don't get added - is this a bug or I'm doing something wrong?
    Don't know on this one, either, hopefully someone else can pipe in.

    Quote Originally Posted by linuxoidoz View Post
    Hi,
    7. Could anyone recommend a nice transparent system monitor widget/plasmoid if it exists? All ones I tried are not transparent, they all have that wide white border around.
    If I understand correctly, the "white border" should disappear if you "lock" the widgets (right click on the desktop for the option).

    Hope this helps...

    Cheers,
    KV

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bandung, Indonesia
    Posts
    64

    Default Re: A few KDE4.1 questions

    For number 6, I also experience same problem, I cannot install new widget either using the install from internet or from file option. I install bunch of widget just to realize none of them available for adding. Looks like a bug. Dunno if someone already posted it yet.
    Linux user: #448598
    openSUSE Indonesia: http://opensuse.or.id/

  4. #4

    Thumbs down NUMBER 6:

    NUMBER 6:
    Its because this plasmoid feature its not FULLY implemented yet, does not work in Kubuntu 8.04 either.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    399

    Default Re: A few KDE4.1 questions

    else_where,

    Thanks for your help. No 1 and 2 worked.

    Can't figure out what to do with the rest. And now YAST stopped loading from the user account, only from root. Then I tried 'su' from command line while logged in as a user, YAST loaded, but when I click on anything - nothing happens and no errors - weird.

    Thank you, guys. I hope for 4.2 to save it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Somewhere in the Ozark Mountains of Missouri
    Posts
    61

    Default Re: A few KDE4.1 questions

    The reason that you can't download plasmoids from the web is that they need to be compiled first, and most have been made for the SVN version of KDE4. The devs ( I think this is the case anyway) have taken the most commonly used ones (Those easiest to compile on openSUSE's version of KDE4) and rendered them into RPM format and placed them in the repo. I have tried to compile manually some of the interesting ones, some work, some don't. Hope this helps explain things.
    Somewhere, just out of sight, the Penguins are gathering!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    399

    Default Re: A few KDE4.1 questions

    Okay, makes sense. That is it makes sense why it doesn't work, but doesn't make sense why they would include the internet option if it never works. Oh, well...

    I have another question, Firefox 3 was supposed to be much faster than v2. Well, it takes about 7 seconds to start it on my AMD62x2 with 4GB RAM. It opens nearly instantaneously in windows on the slowest Core2Duo with 1GB RAM. Is there any way to make it load faster? Or it all may be attributed to the KDE/Plasma bugs or maybe nVidia driver?

    Thanks.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    305

    Default Re: A few KDE4.1 questions

    Quote Originally Posted by linuxoidoz View Post
    I have another question, Firefox 3 was supposed to be much faster than v2. Well, it takes about 7 seconds to start it on my AMD62x2 with 4GB RAM. It opens nearly instantaneously in windows on the slowest Core2Duo with 1GB RAM. Is there any way to make it load faster? Or it all may be attributed to the KDE/Plasma bugs or maybe nVidia driver?
    There are many quirks and issues with KDE4, but that is simply Firefox. Firefox doesn't utilize any Qt or KDE libraries, so any issues you're having with performance are strictly FF related.

    However, since FF doesn't use Qt or KDE4 libs, it means that you're waiting a bit longer while it loads (and it has GTK dependenices). On Windows, this isn't the case, since frankly, FF is optimized for Windows.

    I'll refrain from taking the thread off-topic. Suffice to say that FF could be an entire discussion in itself.

    Cheers,
    KV

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    399

    Default Re: A few KDE4.1 questions

    Thanks, else_where. But it's also all other programs in KDE as well. If not 7, but it takes them quite a few seconds to open (Konqueror, Dolphin, Shell, OpenOffice to name a few). I read KDE4 was faster then the previous version, 4.1 made it even more faster than 4.0 (I think it did), but not fast enough if comparing to WinXP or even KDE3.5. Does your KDE4 run fast? Or it's just me?

    And a few more

    1. Is there a widget for Powersave in KDE4? You know the one used to be a plug in the bottom right corner in KDE3.5.
    2. When my screensaver starts it only shows in a small portion of my screen in the top left corner, the rest of the screen is white. Is this a KDE, nVidia or settings issue?
    3. (was point 7 in my first post) It's actually a Superkaramba monitor, not a KDE widget/plasmoid (my fault, I mixed them up). I've locked the widgets but the monitor border does not disappear. So, could anyone recommend a nice-looking transparent Superkaramba system monitor which works in KDE4? Preferrably to match the black Oxygen theme?

    Thank you.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    399

    Default Re: A few KDE4.1 questions

    Ah, and the worst annoyance is that YAST doesn't start from a user account, only if I start a new session and log in as root. Do you know how to fix it? Thanks.
    Desktop: openSUSE Leap 15 | KDE 5 | Intel i-7500 | Asus ROG STRIX Z270H GAMING | Asus EX-GTX1050TI-O4G nVidia
    Laptop Asus UL30A: openSUSE Leap 15 | KDE 5 | Intel SU7300

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •