KDE 4.1

Hi Guys,

I am quite new to Linux, infact my first taste of Linux was after openSUSE 11 was released. I am now using openSUSE 11 with Gnome. I first installed it with KDE 4.0, but since my system used to malfunction quite often, I removed it and installed Gnome. Now, I would like to know if there is any way I can have both Gnome and KDE simultaneously on my system and get an option to boot into one of them??? If so, then how do I go about doing it?

Many thanks for your help.

Yes you can have both Gnome & KDE, several KDE even KDE3.5 & KDE4.1 (and more) on one system. Very simple;
Go to YaST >> paterns >> and select and install KDE4 base & desktop and whatever other DT manager you like.

When you log out you are presented with a choice, shut down machine or end session. If you end just the session and not shut down the machine (obviously) you are presented with a screen where you can choose to log in as a different user*, and in the lower left hand corner which type of DT session you would like: Gnome, KDE3.5, KDE4.1 etc.

*Make several users first, I usually have 3 or 4 users made, root & me, myself and I :wink:
I mostly open two sessions, one with KDE4.1 and one with Gnome, sometimes KDE3.5 and switch between them very quickly with: Ctrl+Alt+F8 (second session running) and back with Ctrl+Alt+F7 (always the first session running).

There are a number of ways:

Me in 11.0? I do a KDE-3.5.9 install (which I call my Production install) and do a separate KDE-4 install – which I keep up to date daily with the repros. Yast will set up the bootloader for you.

One could also do an install and in Yast > Patterns, add both KDE-3.5.9 & KDE-4 (and Gnome or any other available desktop) and after 1st boot & setup, simply “logout” and on the login page that comes up > select the version to log into from the context menu on the bottom left.

I’m sure there are other ways too:)

Thank you Cinq for the info. That is really nice.