Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Broadcom Wireless Help

Default Broadcom Wireless Help

Hi I'm new to suse and am trying to install the correct drivers and firmware for my Broadcom bcm4306 chip set. I'm attempting to follow the following web page for directions:
    b43 - Linux Wireless
    However, I'm having a hard time figuring out how exactly to write the code for opensuse 11.0.
    If someone would please rewrite the code so I can simply copy and paste it into the terminal I would really appreciate it!
    The web page reads the following:

You are using the b43-legacy driver

If you are using the b43legacy driver, follow these instructions.

Use version 011 of b43-fwcutter.
    Download, extract the b43-fwcutter tarball and build it:

wget http://bu3sch.de/b43/fwcutter/b43-fwcutter-011.tar.bz2
    tar xjf b43-fwcutter-011.tar.bz2
    cd b43-fwcutter-011
    make
    cd ..

Use version 3.130.20.0 of Broadcom's proprietary driver.
    Download and extract the firmware from this driver:

export FIRMWARE_INSTALL_DIR="/lib/firmware"
    wget http://downloads.openwrt.org/sources...a-3.130.20.0.o
    sudo ./b43-fwcutter-011/b43-fwcutter -w "$FIRMWARE_INSTALL_DIR" wl_apsta-3.130.20.0.o

Note that you must adjust the FIRMWARE_INSTALL_DIR path to your distribution. The standard place where firmware is installed to is /lib/firmware. However some distributions put firmware in a different place."

Default Re: Broadcom Wireless Help

rlondre wrote:
    > Hi I'm new to suse and am trying to install the correct drivers and
    > firmware for my Broadcom bcm4306 chip set. I'm attempting to follow the
    > following web page for directions:
    > 'b43 - Linux Wireless'
    > (http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/...3#fw-b43legacy)
    > However, I'm having a hard time figuring out how exactly to write the
    > code for opensuse 11.0.
    > If someone would please rewrite the code so I can simply copy and paste
    > it into the terminal I would really appreciate it!