Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 45

Thread: Via Chrome9 resolution problem

  1. #1
    rikadrahman NNTP User

    Red face Via Chrome9 resolution problem

    I m new in linux.
    My agp is onboard chrome9 hc igp on P4M900.

    In graphics card and monitor in yast my card is 'Vesa Frame buffer Graphics' and monitor is 'sam samsung syncmaster'.

    At very first time when I install opensuse11 i could change my display resolution from 800x600 to 1024x768 and color from 16 bit to 24 bit. That was fine.

    But for some reason i formated those drive. And then i install suse again but i cannt change my display resolution and color. It remains 800x600 and 16bit.
    I installed suse several time but i can not manage to change it.

    I cant remember when but some how 1 time i can managed to run my display from xgl from etc/sysconfig Editor.(It might be the first time when i could change res. & color.)
    But now if i change xorg to xgl my display does not run. In the startup it says 'x server can not run' or something like this. And it try to fix the problem and i gave my password but it cant fix it.
    I need to change the resolution.

    Any idea?

    Plz Help.

    Sorry for my english.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,339
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Via Chrome9 resolution problem

    On Thu, 24 Jul 2008 21:36:05 GMT
    rikadrahman <rikadrahman@no-mx.forums.opensuse.org> wrote:

    >
    > I m new in linux.
    > My agp is onboard chrome9 hc igp on P4M900.
    >
    > In graphics card and monitor in yast my card is 'Vesa Frame buffer
    > Graphics' and monitor is 'sam samsung syncmaster'.
    >
    > At very first time when I install opensuse11 i could change my display
    > resolution from 800x600 to 1024x768 and color from 16 bit to 24 bit.
    > That was fine.
    >
    > But for some reason i formated those drive. And then i install suse
    > again but i cannt change my display resolution and color. It remains
    > 800x600 and 16bit.
    > I installed suse several time but i can not manage to change it.
    >
    > I cant remember when but some how 1 time i can managed to run my
    > display from xgl from etc/sysconfig Editor.(It might be the first time
    > when i could change res. & color.)
    > But now if i change xorg to xgl my display does not run. In the
    > startup it says 'x server can not run' or something like this. And it
    > try to fix the problem and i gave my password but it cant fix it.
    > I need to change the resolution.
    >
    > Any idea?
    >
    > Plz Help.
    >
    > Sorry for my english.
    >
    >

    Hi
    Have a look here about adding modelines to your xorg.conf file;
    http://en.opensuse.org/VIA

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    SLED 10 SP2 i586 Kernel 2.6.16.60-0.25-default
    up 11:38, 1 user, load average: 1.05, 0.39, 0.29
    GPU GeForce Go 6600 TE/6200 TE Version: 173.14.09


  3. #3
    rikadrahman NNTP User

    Default Re: Via Chrome9 resolution problem

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    On Thu, 24 Jul 2008 21:36:05 GMT

    Hi
    Have a look here about adding modelines to your xorg.conf file;
    VIA - openSUSE

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    SLED 10 SP2 i586 Kernel 2.6.16.60-0.25-default
    up 11:38, 1 user, load average: 1.05, 0.39, 0.29
    GPU GeForce Go 6600 TE/6200 TE Version: 173.14.09
    Thanks.
    But that doesnt work for me.

  4. #4

    Default Re: Via Chrome9 resolution problem

    I had problems with integrated VGA Chrome9 HC IGP (P4M900)

    I solved all the problems by installing driver chrome9 from repository:

    xorg-x11-driver-video-chrome9 (5.73.23)
    Index of /repositories/X11:/Drivers:/Video/openSUSE_11.0

    And then as usual:
    init 3
    sax2 -r 0:chrome9

    Hope this will help somebody

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Munich (Germany)
    Posts
    139

    Question Re: Via Chrome9 resolution problem

    Hello Tosiara,

    I have a VIA Chrome9 HC IGP running with very very very poor performances when watching a movie at fullscreen mode. Seems that there is no graphic acceleration at all (but works perfectly under Windows XP).

    I have found the driver-repository that you reported, but what about your instructions?

    init 3
    sax2 -r 0:chrome9

    Where I must write that commands? In which configuration file?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Via Chrome9 resolution problem

    Quote Originally Posted by giulio_buccini View Post
    I have a VIA Chrome9 HC IGP running with very very very poor performances when watching a movie at fullscreen mode. Seems that there is no graphic acceleration at all (but works perfectly under Windows XP).

    I have found the driver-repository that you reported, but what about your instructions?

    init 3
    sax2 -r 0:chrome9

    Where I must write that commands? In which configuration file?
    Those commands are intended for a terminal, run with root permissions.

    Saying "init 3" is something only average to advanced Linux users will understand.

    There are various run levels in Linux which define the various states a Linux system can boot to, from single user text mode, to multple user text mode with and without networking, to a full scale GUI. I tried to explain these concepts in a wiki I started (and others made much better) here: Concepts - openSUSE

    To read up on run levels you can look here: Runlevel - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    The init process is associated with controlling the level in which one boots, and "init 3" is a command that can be used some cases to force the operation system to change to run level 3.

    sax2 is a program (that is being depreciated) for openSUSE that in the past was used to create an /etc/X11/xorg.conf file, where that file governed part of the graphic configuration for X windows. That file used to be compulsary, but as of openSUSE-11.2 its not necessary for all systems, but is necessary for some. I supect that file may be necessary for your system, and hence you will need to run sax2 with appropriate arguments.

    I recommend you simply boot your PC to run level 3 (do this by typing "3" (no quotes) in the initial grub boot menu that lets you choose linux, linux safe, windows, ... etc ... so that "3" (no quotes) appears in the options line) and login into the full screen text mode as a regular user. Then type "su" ( no quotes - enter root password) to switch users to root, and then type:
    Code:
    sax2 -r 0:chrome9
    I confess I've never used that specific syntax. If it had been me I would have tried:
    Code:
    sax2 -r -m 0=chrome9
    Please note this thread on chrome graphics starting at post #29: Hardware that doesn't work, or is difficult - openSUSE Forums

    I made a plea here for some chrome users to write a summary of what is available for chome (much like what I did for nVidia, ATI and Intel) here but thus far no one has done so: openSUSE Graphic Card Practical Theory Guide for Users - openSUSE Forums

    But with some reading, I hope you will be able to figure this out.

    Sorry that I can not be more helpful, but I do not have chrome hardware.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Munich (Germany)
    Posts
    139

    Default Re: Via Chrome9 resolution problem

    Thank you oldcpu, I think that now I have understood for what the command "init 3" is.

    I have also looked at the link that you reported (opensuse-graphic-card-practical-theory-guide-users.html). It contains a lot of interesant informations, but nothing about the Chrome drivers...

    Anyway, when I write "sax2 -p", I obtain

    "Chip: 0 is -> VIA VT3336: K8M890 01:00:0 0x1106 0x3230 AGP via"

    So, seems that the right video card is recognized and the command "sax2 -r -m 0=chrome9" could work.
    I will try it... I hope that my Linux will not crash like Win.. does!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Via Chrome9 resolution problem

    Quote Originally Posted by giulio_buccini View Post
    I have also looked at the link that you reported (opensuse-graphic-card-practical-theory-guide-users.html). It contains a lot of interesant informations, but nothing about the Chrome drivers...
    Indeed you are correct. It does not contain anything about the chrome drivers, as those with such hardware do not feel confident to write anything

    But starting at post #29 there is something here: Hardware that doesn't work, or is difficult - openSUSE Forums

    In particular, if you read post #33, you will see there are
    • xorg-x11-driver-video-unichrome rpm - comes with openSUSE-11.2 and contains a "unichrome" and a "via" driver. That rpm is also available from x11:xorg (possibly a newer/more-cutting-edge/risky packaged version) ? I do not know.
    • xorg-x11-driver-video-viachrome rpm - in the build service by a user (illuusio) - it contains only a "via" driver. Is this the same as the via in the xorg-x11-driver-video-unichrome? I do not know.
    • xorg-x11-driver-video-openchrome rpm - packaged by a couple of users in OBS (illuusio and Max1) and contains an "openchrome" driver. I do not know anything about it.
    • xorg-x11-driver-chrome9 rpm - packaged in x11:driversVideo and contains a "via" driver. Is this the same as the above 'via' or different ? I do not know.

    ... as to which one is correct for you, I can not say.

    Note, one can search for rpms (with drivers) using the openSUSE rpm search engines

    Quote Originally Posted by giulio_buccini View Post
    So, seems that the right video card is recognized and the command "sax2 -r -m 0=chrome9" could work.
    Good luck. Don't forget there may also be (with a different rpm) "via", "openchrome" , "unichrome" drivers in addition to the "vesa" and "fbdev" drivers.

    So opposed to "sax2 -r -m 0=chrome9" , you could also try (with the appropriate rpm installed as noted above):
    • sax2 -r -m 0=fbdev #basic frame buffer driver
    • sax2 -r -m 0=vesa #generic vesa driver
    • sax2 -r -m 0=via #via driver
    • sax2 -r -m 0=openchrome #openchrome driver
    • sax2 -r -m 0=unichrome #unichrome driver
    ensuring 1st you have the correct rpm installed.

    But thats just me looking at the rpm contents and speculating. We really need someone who has thoroughly explored the chrome driver availability to provide comments on each of the available drivers.

    ... and unfortunately none of our chrome experts have tested all those combinations and then have written about it succinctly (in the threads that I have participated in).

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Via Chrome9 resolution problem

    Did I make a mistake on your openSUSE version? I've been assuming you are using 11.2. Am I wrong ?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Munich (Germany)
    Posts
    139

    Default Re: Via Chrome9 resolution problem

    Good evening Mr. oldcpu,

    I have no god news... the command "sax2 -r -m 0=chrome9" doesn't works, it terminates with an error.
    This is what i see in the last lines of the /var/log/SaX.log file:

    Code:
    	(II) LoadModule: "chrome9"
    	(WW) Warning, couldn't open module chrome9
    	(II) UnloadModule: "chrome9"
    	(EE) Failed to load module "chrome9" (module does not exist, 0)
    	(EE) No drivers available.
    	
    	Fatal server error:
    	no screens found
    	
    	Please consult the The X.Org Foundation support 
    	 at http://wiki.x.org
    	 for help. 
    	Please also check the log file at "/var/log/Xorg.0.log" for additional information.
    Seems that the "chrome9" module does not exists at all... where I'm wrong?
    The driver package is correctly installed... (Yast says that)

    Some words about different drivers available. First, the name of the driver xorg-x11-driver-chrome9 is wrong, right is xorg-x11-driver-video-chrome9. Second, I have choosed that driver only 'cause my chipset (K8M890CE) is explicitally listed in the driver description. So I think that anybody must choose the driver that is matching with his chipset. I don't know if the "unichrome" driver works, but I will try and I will tell you results.

    By the way the command "shutdown -a now" (entered as super-user) doesn't turn-off the PC. As result the PC prompt me again for the SU password and then nothings happens. When I was young () I remember that such command turn-off the PC. I'm confused...

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •