Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: cifs mount problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    28

    Default cifs mount problem

    I want to mount shared network drive using cifs mount. I have made entries in /etc/fstab but the drive does not mount on startup. Once the PC has started, I run mount -a as root and the drive mounts. This tells me that the fstab entry is correct and it is just a matter of when the mount is run during boot process. I aslo tried _netdev option but no success.

    I also tried putting mount -a in boot.local but no luck. How do I resolve this issue? OpenSuSE 11.

    Thanks
    Arun

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,731
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: cifs mount problem

    Here's a workaround: Open a console, su to root, enter crontab -e. That opens a root cron editor. Insert the following line:
    @reboot sleep 10;mount -a
    A cron job will run 10 seconds after you boot and its command (mount -a) should mount the share.
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1 &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    28

    Default Re: cifs mount problem

    Swerdna,
    Thanks very much. The solution works. I did see this on your website Samba: HowTo Mount a CIFS Network Share [AKA Map Network Drive] in openSUSE but could not figure out what exactly you meant. Now it is clear.

    Thanks again...
    Arun

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,731
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: cifs mount problem

    Quote Originally Posted by axgupta1 View Post
    Swerdna,
    Thanks very much. The solution works. I did see this on your website Samba: HowTo Mount a CIFS Network Share [AKA Map Network Drive] in openSUSE but could not figure out what exactly you meant. Now it is clear.

    Thanks again...
    Arun
    Glad it works. I'll check the website and make it clearer.

    BTW have you gone over to the thread where we choosing our tags to go with posts. Follow my sig if u haven't.
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1 &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  5. #5

    Default Re: cifs mount problem

    I have Linux Suse 10.3 and I used all of the commands that you mentioned and it shows up with a network drive under my computer, but when I try to access it, it says I don't have permission to access it. Says the same thing even if I'm logged in under root.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,731
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: cifs mount problem

    Quote Originally Posted by timachu1 View Post
    I have Linux Suse 10.3 and I used all of the commands that you mentioned and it shows up with a network drive under my computer, but when I try to access it, it says I don't have permission to access it. Says the same thing even if I'm logged in under root.
    Hello timachu1, welcome to the Forums.
    It's very hard for me to figure out what's wrong without more information. Your Linux macine/s could be the server and/or could be the client. It seems the client is Linux though I'm not certain. Please tell me:
    1. is the server running windows or Linux
    2. is the client running windows or Linux
    3. if the server is running Linux, please post the Samba config file (smb.conf) for the server
    4. if the server is running Linux, please post the permissions and owner of the shared directory (like this: owner = billybob; permissions = drwx--x--x or whatever)
    5. if the server is running Linux please post the response you get to this command: sudo pdbedit -L
    6. if the client is running Linux please post the line in fstab in the client that you use to mount the share
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1 &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  7. #7

    Default Re: cifs mount problem

    My linux machine is the client. I'm trying to mount a drive that's on the server which is Windows. I used the command in fstab at the very end I put //192.0.1.189/Pictureproduction /home/capdam/mount_point2 username=art3,password=abc1234?,_netdev,uid=capdam,gid=users 0 0

    Thanks for a quick response. I have 6 Linux machines I need to do this for, and every one I've spoken to so far doesn't know how to do it. It worked just fine with smbfs, but software required me to update Linux to 10.3 and it uses cifs and I have no idea how to do it now.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,731
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: cifs mount problem

    fstab needs a blank line at the end. Check there is a blank line as last line.

    What do you see when you open the directory /home/capdam/mount_point2? Do you see the files shared from the windows server?

    The credentials username=art3 + password=abc1234? are the login user and password of the windows owner of the share (probably it is -- just mention in case).

    Can you browse to the shared files using Samba i.e.Nautilus-or-Konqueror and exactly this address in the address bar:
    smb://192.0.1.189/Pictureproduction
    Last edited by swerdna; 07-Nov-2008 at 18:51.
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1 &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  9. #9

    Default Re: cifs mount problem

    If I enter the mount command through konsole it works just fine and connects. When I enter the line //192.0.1.189/Pictureproduction /home/capdam/mount_point2 cifs username=art3,password=abc1234?,_netdev,uid=capdam ,gid=users 0 0
    , I go to my shared mount_point2 it doesn't access the windows server. Yes those are the user name and password for the windows machine. capdam is the user for the Linux. I'll try the blank line thing, I didn't know it needed a blank line at the end.

  10. #10

    Default Re: cifs mount problem

    I tried the blank line at the end of fstab and I tried the user and password for the Windows machine that didn't have a question mark at the end. That didn't work either. So I'm not sure what to do.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •