Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Does SUSE 11 do IPV6 by default?

  1. #1
    Teraserve NNTP User

    Default Does SUSE 11 do IPV6 by default?

    Hello

    I've recently setup a public web server using OpenSUSE 11.0.

    Does SUSE 11 use IPV6 by default?
    It would appear to when I run this command:
    lsmod | grep -i "ipv6"

    Output gives me:
    ipv6 331544 19 ip6t_REJECT,nf_conntrack_ipv6,ip6table_mangle


    Is it safe to leave it on?
    Does the SUSE Firewall support IPV6?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    3,587

    Default Re: Does SUSE 11 do IPV6 by default?

    * Teraserve wrote, On 07/23/2008 12:46 PM:
    > Hello
    >
    > I've recently setup a public web server using OpenSUSE 11.0.
    >
    > Does SUSE 11 use IPV6 by default?


    Yes.

    > Is it safe to leave it on?
    > Does the SUSE Firewall support IPV6?


    No, AFAIK it can either block IPV6 completely or let it through, it cannot filter it.

    Uwe

  3. #3
    Teraserve NNTP User

    Default Re: Does SUSE 11 do IPV6 by default?

    Hello Uwe

    How do I disable IPV6 traffic?

    Can't see anything in the firewall options.

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Delta Quadrant
    Posts
    1,453

    Default Re: Does SUSE 11 do IPV6 by default?


    > How do I disable IPV6 traffic?


    YaST>Network Devices>Network Settings>Global Options> uncheck Enable IPv6.



  5. #5
    Teraserve NNTP User

    Default Re: Does SUSE 11 do IPV6 by default?

    Thanks, sounds obvious now.

    I've done it on a local server.

    Once unchecked and [Finish] selected I immediately loose network connectivity to the machine.

    On physically visiting the machine, when I run "ifconfig" I notice eth0 has dissapeared.

    Yast did tell me to reboot when disabling IPV6. So I reboot the machine, and no problem, it comes up without IPV6.

    However it can't do this in the public web server remotely. Since I will loose network connectivity, I won't be able to reboot.

    What do you suggest? One option would be to put a reboot command in the crontab.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Delta Quadrant
    Posts
    1,453

    Default Re: Does SUSE 11 do IPV6 by default?

    > Once unchecked and [Finish] selected I immediately loose network
    > connectivity to the machine.


    Hmm I run OS11 in a VM so I cannot really speak to the issue you are seeing,
    but what if you untick the Enable IPv6 and then go to the Overview tab an
    reconfigure it. Don't forget to also check in the Hostnames tab and the
    routing tab to make sure it is all square. Then reboot and see if you lose
    eth0. The network configuration screens are a bit in flux and sometimes
    they just don't 'get' what you are trying to do.

    Play with your local box and test it out a bit before jumping on that web
    server.


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Oklahoma, US
    Posts
    822

    Default Re: Does SUSE 11 do IPV6 by default?

    Teraserve wrote:

    >
    > Thanks, sounds obvious now.
    >
    > I've done it on a local server.
    >
    > Once unchecked and [Finish] selected I immediately loose network
    > connectivity to the machine.
    >
    > On physically visiting the machine, when I run "ifconfig" I notice eth0
    > has dissapeared.
    >
    > Yast did tell me to reboot when disabling IPV6. So I reboot the
    > machine, and no problem, it comes up without IPV6.
    >
    > However it can't do this in the public web server remotely. Since I
    > will loose network connectivity, I won't be able to reboot.
    >
    > What do you suggest? One option would be to put a reboot command in the
    > crontab.
    >
    >


    changing that setting is equivalent to changing the contents
    of /etc/modprobe.d/ipv6

    if ipv6 is ENABLED, contains:
    #install ipv6 /bin/true

    if ipv6 is DISABLED, contains:
    install ipv6 /bin/true

    the '#' comment character is removed to disable ipv6.

    Basically, you're telling the system to load '/bin/true' instead of the ipv6
    module when you disable it.

    So, to disable ipv6:

    - Edit /etc/modprobe.d/ipv6, REMOVE the '#' comment character.
    Should read:

    install ipv6 /bin/true

    At the prompt, type 'reboot'.

    Wait a few minutes, log in again!

    There ARE ways to do this without a reboot, but being remote, it becomes
    somewhat more difficult (quickly!)

    Hope this helps.



    --
    L R Nix
    lornix@lornix.com

  8. #8
    Teraserve NNTP User

    Default Re: Does SUSE 11 do IPV6 by default?

    Hello Lornix

    That did it. Many thanks.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Oklahoma, US
    Posts
    822

    Default Re: Does SUSE 11 do IPV6 by default?

    Teraserve wrote:

    >
    > Hello Lornix
    >
    > That did it. Many thanks.
    >
    >


    You're welcome, glad I could help. Managing remote systems is sometimes a
    challenge... you have to make sure it comes back up when you 'fix'
    something. Some of the systems I remotely admin are cross country trips,
    and would involve a plane ride or several days driving.


    --
    L R Nix
    lornix@lornix.com

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Delta Quadrant
    Posts
    1,453

    Default Re: Does SUSE 11 do IPV6 by default?

    > Hello Lornix
    >
    > That did it. Many thanks.


    *Lornix*
    Will any future mucking inside of YaST overwrite his setting and return it
    to its previous value? I am always reluctant to suggest file edits (though
    I do it myself frequently) since it is unclear what settings get lost and
    when. Sometimes you will see warnings inside of text files that tell you
    not to edit them for that very reason.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •