Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: LAN network setup problem in openSUSE 11.0

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    81

    Default LAN network setup problem in openSUSE 11.0

    I have installed (install media is DVD) openSUSE 11.0 on Toshiba Sattelite Pro 4600 lapop. But my network was not automatically configured during installation.

    After successful installation, I started manual configuration of the network (YAST->Network Devices->Network Settings). Under the Overview tab, I could see the following information:
    Name = 82801BA/BAM/CA/CAM Ethernet Controller,
    IP Address = DHCP,
    MAC address = 00:00:39:0b:ac:3f,
    Device Name = eth0
    Will not be started at all
    IP address assigned using DHCP

    Now if I click on "Finish" button, "Saving Network Configuration" window appears and starts all the steps to save. But at "Activate network services" step, it gives an error dialogue box with following message:
    "Cannot access installation media (Medium 1), check whether the server is available"

    When I click on "show details", it shows the URL: download.opensuse.org/update/11.0 etc. etc."

    How this step is looking for the URL, despite my network connection is not ready ?

    My guess is that I need an update to be installed to correct this problem. Please help me how to configure my network connection ?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    32,336
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: LAN network setup problem in openSUSE 11.0

    On Mon, 21 Jul 2008 02:36:03 GMT
    jrahman <jrahman@no-mx.forums.opensuse.org> wrote:

    >
    > I have installed (install media is DVD) openSUSE 11.0 on Toshiba
    > Sattelite Pro 4600 lapop. But my network was not automatically
    > configured during installation.
    >
    > After successful installation, I started manual configuration of the
    > network (YAST->Network Devices->Network Settings). Under the Overview
    > tab, I could see the following information:
    > Name = 82801BA/BAM/CA/CAM Ethernet Controller,
    > IP Address = DHCP,
    > MAC address = 00:00:39:0b:ac:3f,
    > Device Name = eth0
    > Will not be started at all
    > IP address assigned using DHCP
    >
    > Now if I click on "Finish" button, "Saving Network Configuration"
    > window appears and starts all the steps to save. But at "Activate
    > network services" step, it gives an error dialogue box with following
    > message:
    > "Cannot access installation media (Medium 1), check whether the server
    > is available"
    >
    > When I click on "show details", it shows the URL:
    > download.opensuse.org/update/11.0 etc. etc."
    >
    > How this step is looking for the URL, despite my network connection is
    > not ready ?
    >
    > My guess is that I need an update to be installed to correct this
    > problem. Please help me how to configure my network connection ?
    >
    > Thanks in advance.
    >
    >

    Hi
    I would imagine if you go into YaST->Software->Software Repositories
    and temporarily disable the online update sources (or delete, you can
    add them back later) so that just your DVD is active, then try your
    network setup again.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    SLED 10 SP2 i586 Kernel 2.6.16.60-0.25-default
    up 9:28, 1 user, load average: 0.08, 0.18, 0.16
    GPU GeForce Go 6600 TE/6200 TE Version: 173.14.09


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    81

    Default Re: LAN network setup problem in openSUSE 11.0

    Thanks for the help. It worked.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,731
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: LAN network setup problem in openSUSE 11.0

    Quote Originally Posted by jrahman View Post
    Will not be started at all
    GoTo Yast network device config and switch it to start at boot
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1 &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  5. #5

    Default Re: LAN network setup problem in openSUSE 11.0

    Hi,

    I was facing the same problem. But it disappeared automatically after I rebooted the machine the next day!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •