Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Bad Sound w SuSE 11 & Asus M3N-HT/Deluxe Mobo

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    somewhere close to 43.856316, -79.508057‎
    Posts
    8

    Default Bad Sound w SuSE 11 & Asus M3N-HT/Deluxe Mobo

    I have openSuSE 11.0 64bit on Asus M3N-HT/Deluxe SLI Mobo with
    the Nvidia nForce 780a SLI using the AD1988B HDA Codec

    I get 'sound' when I select the OSS Sound Device - but it is badly distorted and reverbed (at times) - and very 'low' output when it works at all.

    Here are the paste/outputs from the ALSA scripts I ran:

    tsalsa.txt - nopaste.com (beta)

    general pastebin - chris - post number 1077870

    I've never had trouble with Nvidia / nForce (before); but this could just be a problem with the 'newness' of the mobo and 780a chipset in general.

    Is there a way to find out if this Sound Card/Device supported -yet?

    I tried the Nvida website - sadly they only posted video drivers; but my Video is working fine thanx.

    Chris M.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Bad Sound w SuSE 11 & Asus M3N-HT/Deluxe Mobo

    Quote Originally Posted by cube7 View Post
    I have openSuSE 11.0 64bit on Asus M3N-HT/Deluxe SLI Mobo with the Nvidia nForce 780a SLI using the AD1988B HDA Codec

    I get 'sound' when I select the OSS Sound Device - but it is badly distorted and reverbed (at times) - and very 'low' output when it works at all.

    Here are the paste/outputs from the ALSA scripts I ran:
    tsalsa.txt - nopaste.com (beta)
    general pastebin - chris - post number 1077870....Is there a way to find out if this Sound Card/Device supported -yet?
    Thanks! The output of those scripts is very useful.

    From what I have read, the AD1988B is supported, although possibly not as well as some other sound card/devices. Its possible we can improve the quality of your sound by adding some extra code to your /etc/modprobe.d/sound file. I base that view on this section taken from the ALSA-Configuration.txt file (where that file comes with every alsa tarball update):
    Code:
      	AD1988
    	  6stack	6-jack
    	  6stack-dig	ditto with SPDIF
    	  3stack	3-jack
    	  3stack-dig	ditto with SPDIF
    	  laptop	3-jack with hp-jack automute
    	  laptop-dig	ditto with SPDIF
    	  auto		auto-config reading BIOS (default)
    So please, could you also post the output of:
    rpm -qa | grep alsa
    rpm -qa | grep pulse
    rpm -q libasound2
    cat /etc/modprobe.d/sound

    and with the above, I will provide a recommendation for an edit to your /etc/modprobe.d/sound file, which I hope will work.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    somewhere close to 43.856316, -79.508057‎
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: Bad Sound w SuSE 11 & Asus M3N-HT/Deluxe Mobo

    Sorry I took so long to respond... I've been busy and for some reason I didn't get a notification that you 'replied' to my post.

    I guess I'll have to check my forum user/profile etc.

    BTW - I just did some updates with kernel patches; and now I get absolutely NO-SOUND at all... but I also see that I'm missing the libsound2 package. So I'll try that and your suggested mods to the modprobe.d

    Here's the info you wanted:

    amdx3:/home/chris/Desktop # rpm -qa | grep alsa
    alsa-oss-1.0.15-48.1
    alsa-1.0.16-39.1
    alsa-oss-32bit-1.0.15-48.1
    alsa-utils-1.0.16-35.1
    alsa-firmware-1.0.16-24.1
    alsa-plugins-pulse-1.0.16-57.1
    alsa-plugins-1.0.16-57.1
    amdx3:/home/chris/Desktop # rpm -qa | grep pulse
    pulseaudio-module-bluetooth-0.9.10-26.3
    pulseaudio-module-zeroconf-0.9.10-26.3
    libpulse0-0.9.10-26.3
    libpulse-mainloop-glib0-0.9.10-26.3
    pulseaudio-utils-0.9.10-26.3
    alsa-plugins-pulse-1.0.16-57.1
    gstreamer-0_10-pulse-0.9.7-42.pm.1
    libpulse0-32bit-0.9.10-26.3
    pulseaudio-module-x11-0.9.10-26.3
    libpulsecore4-0.9.10-26.3
    pulseaudio-module-lirc-0.9.10-26.3
    pulseaudio-module-gconf-0.9.10-26.3
    libpulse-browse0-0.9.10-26.3
    pulseaudio-0.9.10-26.3
    pulseaudio-esound-compat-0.9.10-26.3
    amdx3:/home/chris/Desktop # rpm -q libsound2
    package libsound2 is not installed
    amdx3:/home/chris/Desktop # cat /etc/modprobe.d/sound


    options snd slots=snd-hda-intel
    # M71A.IBGOrOFSaa6:nVidia Corporation
    alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Bad Sound w SuSE 11 & Asus M3N-HT/Deluxe Mobo

    Quote Originally Posted by cube7 View Post
    BTW - I just did some updates with kernel patches; and now I get absolutely NO-SOUND at all... but I also see that I'm missing the libsound2 package.
    Its libasound2 .... Not libsound2. You need libasound2 else you will get no sound.

    Since you have changed your audio configuration, and your kernel, would you please run those audio diagnostic scripts again. If I try to work with outdated information, I could give a wrong recommendation.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    somewhere close to 43.856316, -79.508057‎
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: Bad Sound w SuSE 11 & Asus M3N-HT/Deluxe Mobo

    Thanx again... for your help.

    Yes the libasound2 is there - just a typo on my part.

    I'm going to need a little time to dig up those diagnostic scripts and run them again.

    So, if you don't mind - let's give it a week and I will have it ready for you.

    Have a good weekend...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Bad Sound w SuSE 11 & Asus M3N-HT/Deluxe Mobo

    Quote Originally Posted by cube7 View Post
    Thanx again... for your help.

    Yes the libasound2 is there - just a typo on my part.

    I'm going to need a little time to dig up those diagnostic scripts and run them again.

    So, if you don't mind - let's give it a week and I will have it ready for you.
    A caution ... you say a week, ... thats fine, BUT what I need is a snapshot of the above all at the exact same time ... and then no change to your configuration .

    If you can only give the information required in drips and drabs, and if you play with your configuration in between the information, then please don't waste your time. Don't bother with getting what I ask. Because I can not help with a changing configuration. If it becomes clear to me that this is the case, I simply won't reply, as that will be a waste of your time (and mine).

    Good luck.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    somewhere close to 43.856316, -79.508057‎
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: Bad Sound w SuSE 11 & Asus M3N-HT/Deluxe Mobo

    Here we go again...

    Ok,

    I just spent another 2 hrs on this - trying the steps/suggestions from:

    SDB:AudioTroubleshooting

    I've done all my latest updates/upgrades (for 11.0) and
    FROZEN my config.

    Here are the updated alsa-info.sh and tsalsa outputs:

    general pastebin - chris - post number 1092611

    tsalsa.txt - nopaste.com (beta)

    Here's the output from the 'shell' you requested in an earlier post:

    amdx3:/home/chris # rpm -qa | grep alsa
    alsa-oss-1.0.15-48.1
    alsa-1.0.16-39.1
    alsa-oss-32bit-1.0.15-48.1
    alsa-utils-1.0.16-35.1
    alsa-firmware-1.0.16-24.1
    alsa-plugins-pulse-1.0.16-57.1
    alsa-plugins-1.0.16-57.1

    amdx3:/home/chris # rpm -qa | grep pulse
    pulseaudio-module-bluetooth-0.9.10-26.3
    pulseaudio-module-zeroconf-0.9.10-26.3
    libpulse0-0.9.10-26.3
    libpulse-mainloop-glib0-0.9.10-26.3
    pulseaudio-utils-0.9.10-26.3
    alsa-plugins-pulse-1.0.16-57.1
    gstreamer-0_10-pulse-0.9.7-42.pm.1
    libpulse0-32bit-0.9.10-26.3
    pulseaudio-module-x11-0.9.10-26.3
    libpulsecore4-0.9.10-26.3
    pulseaudio-module-lirc-0.9.10-26.3
    pulseaudio-module-gconf-0.9.10-26.3
    libpulse-browse0-0.9.10-26.3
    pulseaudio-0.9.10-26.3
    pulseaudio-esound-compat-0.9.10-26.3

    amdx3:/home/chris # rpm -q libasound2
    libasound2-1.0.16-39.1

    amdx3:/home/chris # cat /etc/modprobe.d/sound

    options snd slots=snd-hda-intel
    options snd-hda-intel model=6stack-dig enable=1 index=0
    # M71A.IBGOrOFSaa6:nVidia Corporation
    alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel

    Let me know what to do 'next'.

    Thanx,

    Chris M.
    Last edited by cube7; 04-Aug-2008 at 09:37. Reason: typo

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Bad Sound w SuSE 11 & Asus M3N-HT/Deluxe Mobo

    Quote Originally Posted by cube7 View Post
    Here are the updated alsa-info.sh and tsalsa outputs:

    general pastebin - chris - post number 1092611

    tsalsa.txt - nopaste.com (beta)
    Thanks.
    Quote Originally Posted by cube7 View Post
    amdx3:/home/chris # cat /etc/modprobe.d/sound

    options snd slots=snd-hda-intel
    options snd-hda-intel model=6stack-dig enable=1 index=0
    # M71A.IBGOrOFSaa6:nVidia Corporation
    alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
    OK, this puzzles me.

    I see you have 6stack-dig noted in your /etc/modprobe.d/sound file. But tsalsa notes you have 3stack:
    Code:
    snd_hda_intel/parameters/model:3stack,<NULL>,<NULL>, .........
    and alsa-info.sh has both 6stack-dig and 3stack:
    Code:
    # Modprobe options (Sound related)
    # --------------------------------
    # snd-hda-intel: model=6stack-dig enable=1 index=0
    ......... snipped ........
    model : 3stack,<NULL>,<NULL> ......
    This suggests to me that you tried 3stack in your /etc/modprobe.d/sound file. It did not work (as that is for 3 plugs and you have 6 plugs) and so you put model=6stack-dig in your /etc/modprobe.d/sound file, but then you did not restart alsa, but rather ran the script. Which may mean the script is giving me inaccurate information? I don't know, ... but this is not being made any easier by such.

    In the tsalsa.sh script output I note:
    Code:
    Amixer contents for card 0 [NVidia] amixer set 'Surround',0 0%,0% on        
    amixer set 'Center',0 0% on        
    amixer set 'LFE',0 0% on
    So you have surround sound turned ON, but you have no volume set!

    I recommend you try two possibilities:
    a. leave your surround sound ON and turn up the volume from 0%, and if that doesn't work,
    b. turn OFF the surround sound.

    Also, can you please confirm you restarted alsa with the model "6stack-dig" because I don't know how much to believe in the configuration information in the scripts.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,109
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Bad Sound w SuSE 11 & Asus M3N-HT/Deluxe Mobo

    Quote Originally Posted by cube7 View Post
    I have openSuSE 11.0 64bit on Asus M3N-HT/Deluxe SLI Mobo with the Nvidia nForce 780a SLI using the AD1988B HDA Codec
    I note the ALSA-Configuration.txt file for alsa-1.0.16 (which is what you have installed) has no entry for the AD1988B. Only an entry for the AD1988.

    However I noted the 1.0.17 alsa has modified the entry in the ALSA-Configuration.txt file, creating a combined AD1988/1988B entry:
    Code:
      AD1988/AD1988B/AD1989A/AD1989B
    	  6stack	6-jack
    	  6stack-dig	ditto with SPDIF
    	  3stack	3-jack
    	  3stack-dig	ditto with SPDIF
    	  laptop	3-jack with hp-jack automute
    	  laptop-dig	ditto with SPDIF
    	  auto		auto-config reading BIOS (default)
    I do not know how relevant that is, but it does suggest you could consider updating to 1.0.17 of alsa if the mixer adjustments do not work.

    The openSUSE audio troubleshooting guide links to the openSUSE alsa update page, for such an eventuality: Alsa-update - openSUSE

    There are 6 zypper commands that MUST be sent in sequence for this to work ... 3 "generic" zypper commands for openSUSE-11.0 alsa update, and 3 kernel version specific zypper commands for openSUSE-11.0. If you look at that Alsa-update URL, it hopefully will become clear.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    somewhere close to 43.856316, -79.508057‎
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: Bad Sound w SuSE 11 & Asus M3N-HT/Deluxe Mobo

    Hi again,

    Yes I did try the 3-stack but I did to do the restart (I think) before I updated my post...

    Let's do this one more time - (this was taken after a cold reboot):

    general pastebin - chris - post number 1092673

    tsalsa.txt - nopaste.com (beta)

    I'm happy to here ALSA 17 may have the right codec for my board/chip...

    Let me know (based on the fresh info above) if I should go ahead and upgrade ALSA to v17 now.

    I'll need another couple days to do it though... life is busy with a 4 yr old daughter in the house...

    BFN,

    Chris M.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •