Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Software Repositories

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    62

    Default Software Repositories

    OK, the YaST2 Community Repositories module which was in 10.3 was removed in 11.0. I filed a bug (enhancement), asking to get it back. But I was told that "the functionality has been merged directly into the"Software Repositories" manager".
    However I was unconvinced then and I am still unconvinced.
    I have already done several installs of 11.0
    Sometimes you are offered to configure the online repositories, sometimes not. I have just finished reinstalling in my laptop.
    Updater started updating immediately, without offering any configuration. I found only the basic repos in Software Repositories (OSS, NON-OSS, Updates).
    Is there a command or something to start the online repositories configuration?
    SUSE user since the 8xx releases

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    PHX
    Posts
    481

    Default Re: Software Repositories

    YaST > Online Update Configuration should complete this step.
    <>---><^>

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    62

    Default Re: Software Repositories

    Quote Originally Posted by Cryovac View Post
    YaST > Online Update Configuration should complete this step.
    Thanks, but all it does it contacts the server and tells me: "your configuration was successful. An update server has been added to your configuration".
    The available software repositories are unchanged.
    SUSE user since the 8xx releases

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    PHX
    Posts
    481

    Default Re: Software Repositories

    You can add any repo manually with YaST > Software > Software Repositories > Add.
    <>---><^>

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    62

    Default Re: Software Repositories

    Quote Originally Posted by Cryovac View Post
    You can add any repo manually with YaST > Software > Software Repositories > Add.
    I know that. I have more than 30 in my desktop install. Imagine what a pleasant job...
    SUSE user since the 8xx releases

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Wales, MA
    Posts
    486

    Default Re: Software Repositories

    I have installed on several computers, and it is a simple matter of choosing what repositories. No more having to look up URLs and adding them manually.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    62

    Default Re: Software Repositories

    Quote Originally Posted by brucecadieux View Post
    I have installed on several computers, and it is a simple matter of choosing what repositories. No more having to look up URLs and adding them manually.
    I know that is the way it should work, but it doesn't work every time, apparently.
    SUSE user since the 8xx releases

  8. #8

    Default Re: Software Repositories

    Quote Originally Posted by Sergio1704 View Post
    I know that is the way it should work, but it doesn't work every time, apparently.
    Odd...I have done two installs on different machines, and it was there both times...

  9. #9

    Default Re: Software Repositories

    Are you sure that you are looking in the right place? They have moved in 11.0 from where they were in 10.3.

    They are now in YaST->Software->Software Repositories. Then click the Add button and you will get the Media Type menu. The Community Repositories are one of the radio buttons for repository type in this menu.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    62

    Default Re: Software Repositories

    Quote Originally Posted by ramlight View Post
    Are you sure that you are looking in the right place? They have moved in 11.0 from where they were in 10.3.

    They are now in YaST->Software->Software Repositories. Then click the Add button and you will get the Media Type menu. The Community Repositories are one of the radio buttons for repository type in this menu.
    I am pretty sure ramlight
    Normally it is me who helps the others, but because I am not God, I ask for help as well. I was hoping somebody knew a command to start the configuration which should be offered the first time (but wasn't).
    SUSE user since the 8xx releases

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •