Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Network Manager

  1. #1
    jkwcdw NNTP User

    Default Network Manager

    Has there been any real solution to the network manager issues? This is the first time in years I have had a problem with Suse and it has been a nightmare getting a resolution....

  2. #2
    ab@novell.com NNTP User

    Default Re: Network Manager

    -----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
    Hash: SHA1

    "the Network Manager issues".... can you elaborate a bit? Current
    opensuse version, what you are experiencing, etc?

    Good luck.





    jkwcdw wrote:
    | Has there been any real solution to the network manager issues? This is
    | the first time in years I have had a problem with Suse and it has been
    | a nightmare getting a resolution....
    |
    |
    |
    -----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
    Version: GnuPG v1.4.2 (GNU/Linux)
    Comment: Using GnuPG with Mozilla - http://enigmail.mozdev.org

    iD8DBQFIgP+c3s42bA80+9kRAut0AJ4i4GdrMseB7+Ekv8eLti4gHeVuGgCfSB4l
    18BiHAkstmbXIkkP39ecYnQ=
    =2E40
    -----END PGP SIGNATURE-----

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,383
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Network Manager

    Many of us use it successfully. What is your particular problem? Chipset? Connection type?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sarasota
    Posts
    301

    Default Re: Network Manager

    [The change-log entry for networkmanager-kde package says there was some sort of 'fix'
    that came out yesterday.]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sarasota
    Posts
    301

    Default Re: Network Manager

    Also, a moderator claimed here that there was a fix released
    that is NOT reflected (yet) in any of my change-logs:

    what wrong with my wireless (suse 11) - openSUSE Forums

    [This one has made me wonder whether patches could get issued, but not make
    it out to all 'mirrors'!?]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    San Diego, Ca, USA
    Posts
    11,293
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Network Manager

    Network Manageer has been a real mystery to me... As far as I can tell it's supposed to automatically perform various networking tasks including automatically recognizing active interfaces...

    But, I haven't found a way yet for instance to force a DHCP refresh. To me, Network Manager might be nice when it works, but it gets in the way if things need to be fixed.

    To accomplish that, I disable Network Manager in favor of ifdown/ifup in the NIC settings (now called Network Services instead of Network Devices)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Posts
    526

    Default Re: Network Manager

    If you want to force a DHCP refesh, I disable the device with NetworkManager and then re-enable it.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Network Manager

    Yea network manager in opensuse 11 doesnt work for me at all either. It just closes out every time I tell it to connect to anything.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    69

    Default Re: Network Manager

    My network is working fine both in KDE and gnome. Wireless card recognizes home and school network automatically and reconnect after suspend mode. Network manager shows all active routers within range. Ethernet also works, though I rarely use it. But occasionally it fails to reconnect after coming out of hibernation (or sleep) and have to do it manually. Very rarely manual connection also doesn't work and have to reboot.

    Didn't do anything special other than configure it during installation.

  10. #10
    Robert Smits NNTP User

    Default Re: Network Manager

    deano ferrari wrote:

    >
    > Many of us use it successfully. What is your particular problem?
    > Chipset? Connection type?
    >
    >


    Network Manager is just....dumb is the best way to put it. It doesn't work
    with scpm and it doesn't understand multiple nfs networks. For a program
    with network manager in the name, it's remarkably stupid.

    I, too have to use ifup. I really like the ability of network manager to
    show me what network access points are available, but it really needs to be
    able to deal with typical laptop configurations that change between home
    and work.
    --
    bob@rsmits.ca (Robert Smits, Ladysmith BC)

    "I'm not one of those who think Bill Gates is the devil. I simply suspect
    that if Microsoft ever met up with the devil, it wouldn't need an
    interpreter." - Nicholas Petreley


Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •