Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Media won't play

  1. #1

    Default Media won't play

    Hi,
    when I try to open up a media stream using a real player link on a website, and also the windows media player link on the same website using konqueror, or opera, or firefox 3, the mplayer plugin will open up and start to connect/buffer, then stop. It won't ever connect to the stream that I wished to open up on the website. If I try to press the play button, it will immediately stop again and go no farther.

    I have 11.0 installed, and have used the one click from opensuse-community to install the codecs for restricted formats.

    Anyone have any idea why this is happening?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,108
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Media won't play

    Quote Originally Posted by munguanaweza View Post
    when I try to open up a media stream using a real player link on a website, and also the windows media player link on the same website using konqueror, or opera, or firefox 3, the mplayer plugin will open up and start to connect/buffer, then stop. It won't ever connect to the stream that I wished to open up on the website. If I try to press the play button, it will immediately stop again and go no farther.
    Some web sites are more difficult than others. Do you have a URL for that web site that is giving you this problem so our forum members who are knowledgeable in browser media plugins can check its compatibility?

    Sometimes the Media Player Connectivity plugin works for firefox for users in trying to play streaming from "stubborn" sites.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,108
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Media won't play

    We have a forum policy of one post per problem. Is this the same problem that you reported here:
    Media player won't start from Firefox 3 - openSUSE Forums

  4. #4

    Default Re: Media won't play

    Hi Old CPU,
    in answer to your question, this is a differant problem. In the other post, I can't get the media player to start on a particular website. The program won't execute to start the player program.

    The question that I am asking about here is regards to a differant website. When I launch the media player by clicking on the link on the webpage, the player opens but then won't play.

    I can provide a url for the particular website that I used, but it is happening on all websites. So it doesn't seem to be website specific.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Beyond The Rim
    Posts
    16

    Default Re: Media won't play

    Hi oldcpu..... I'm having a problem that is similar. The media player open and says loading content, however nothing happens. I'm using oss 11.0 KDE 3.5.9.... 64 bit edition. here is the URL 810 WGY | WGY.com | WGY-HD |. Any and all help greatly appreciated
    Last edited by J-Montana; 24-Jul-2008 at 17:37. Reason: Added desktop version
    Just my 2 cents

    Windows will enslave
    Linux will set you Free

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,108
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Media won't play

    Quote Originally Posted by J-Montana View Post
    Hi oldcpu..... I'm having a problem that is similar. The media player open and says loading content, however nothing happens. I'm using oss 11.0 KDE 3.5.9.... 64 bit edition. here is the URL 810 WGY | WGY.com | WGY-HD |. Any and all help greatly appreciated
    It plays on my openSUSE-10.3 KDE-3.5.7 32-bit with firefox-3.0.1 and mplayerplug-in. I'll check out my 32-bit openSUSE-11.0 (with KDE-3.5.9) later. I don't have 64-bit hardware.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,108
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: Media won't play

    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by J-Montana View Post
    Hi oldcpu..... I'm having a problem that is similar. The media player open and says loading content, however nothing happens. I'm using oss 11.0 KDE 3.5.9.... 64 bit edition. here is the URL 810 WGY | WGY.com | WGY-HD |. Any and all help greatly appreciated
    It plays on my openSUSE-10.3 KDE-3.5.7 32-bit with firefox-3.0.1 and mplayerplug-in. I'll check out my 32-bit openSUSE-11.0 (with KDE-3.5.9) later. I don't have 64-bit hardware.
    I just tested this on my 32-bit openSUSE-11.0 (with KDE-3.5.9) with firefox-3.0.1 and mplayerplug-in (and flash-player, which I also had installed on my openSUSE-10.3 PC). It plays the videos fine. No problems.

    These multimedia need a flash-player application. I know 64-bit Linux distributions had problems at one time with flash, ... I don't know what the status of it is now. Maybe Christmas or early next year (when I hope to get some new hardware) I may try out a 64-bit install.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Media won't play

    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
    It plays on my openSUSE-10.3 KDE-3.5.7 32-bit with firefox-3.0.1 and mplayerplug-in. I'll check out my 32-bit openSUSE-11.0 (with KDE-3.5.9) later. I don't have 64-bit hardware.
    If you installed Mplayer and its Mozilla plugin in order to play videos embedded in a web page, you also need to remove the Totem Mozplugin which may be pre-installed,

    Have you checked whether it was installed by default?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Beyond The Rim
    Posts
    16

    Default Re: Media won't play

    Hi oldcpu ... you could be right, it could be a 64bit flash problem. That site worked fine for me on 10.2 32bit edition. As far as totem, I don't have it or any plugin's for it installed, I did a check to make sure. Thanks to you both for the help so far.
    Just my 2 cents

    Windows will enslave
    Linux will set you Free

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Beyond The Rim
    Posts
    16

    Default Re: Media won't play

    Hi oldcpu I.m trying the same site on a 32bit install of 11.0 and I'm having the same issue with that site, could you please inform me on what flash player you have installed and is it available on packman or which other repo I may download and install.

    Thanks
    Just my 2 cents

    Windows will enslave
    Linux will set you Free

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •