Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Icy Box IB-NAS4220-B

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Black Forest, Germany
    Posts
    23

    Default Icy Box IB-NAS4220-B

    Hello Everyone,

    I recently joined openSuse forum and have using Linux for a year now. Still new to alot of things. Anyways I wanted to ask about "Icy Box IB-NAS4220-B"

    I am using openSuse 10.3 and how do I make this work with openSuse. I also use Ubuntu 8 and in that it recognized it and i could use it.

    How can I configure Icy Box IB-NAS4220-B to work with openSuse.
    Icy Box is a
    NFS Server
    Samba Server
    FTP Server
    DHCP
    UPnP-AV
    Print Server

    Regards
    Rup's

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    3,587

    Default Re: Icy Box IB-NAS4220-B

    On 07/16/2008 bhogal wrote:
    > I am using openSuse 10.3 and how do I make this work with openSuse. I
    > also use Ubuntu 8 and in that it recognized it and i could use it.


    How? Samba?

    Uwe

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Black Forest, Germany
    Posts
    23

    Default Re: Icy Box IB-NAS4220-B

    Hi,

    As I had mentioned still new Linux. Can someone explain how do i mount Icy Box IB-NAS4220-B.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    3,587

    Default Re: Icy Box IB-NAS4220-B

    On 07/20/2008 bhogal wrote:
    > As I had mentioned still new Linux. Can someone explain how do i
    > mount Icy Box IB-NAS4220-B.


    Looks like it supports NFS and Samba. Which one do you want to use?

    Uwe

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Black Forest, Germany
    Posts
    23

    Default Re: Icy Box IB-NAS4220-B

    I have 2 computer with OpenSuse 10.3 installed and one with Dual Boot with Windows XP.

    What would be the easiest for a newbee. I would like to learn both Samba and NFS.

    Remember I am a new to Linux, so if you could explain in simple words.

    Thank you and best regards
    Rup's

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    3,587

    Default Re: Icy Box IB-NAS4220-B

    * bhogal wrote, On 07/21/2008 03:56 PM:
    > I have 2 computer with OpenSuse 10.3 installed and one with Dual Boot
    > with Windows XP.
    >
    > What would be the easiest for a newbee. I would like to learn both
    > Samba and NFS.


    If Windows comes into play, it is Samba. I don't know any free NFS client for Windows.
    Swerdna has written a nice tutorial, please check it and see if it helps:
    http://www.swerdna.net.au/linhowtosambacifs.html

    Uwe

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City Area, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    7,236

    Default Re: Icy Box IB-NAS4220-B

    Uwe Buckesfeld wrote:
    > * bhogal wrote, On 07/21/2008 03:56 PM:
    >> I have 2 computer with OpenSuse 10.3 installed and one with Dual Boot
    >> with Windows XP.
    >> What would be the easiest for a newbee. I would like to learn both
    >> Samba and NFS.

    >
    > If Windows comes into play, it is Samba. I don't know any free NFS
    > client for Windows.
    > Swerdna has written a nice tutorial, please check it and see if it helps:
    > http://www.swerdna.net.au/linhowtosambacifs.html


    Microsoft has one that is described at http://support.microsoft.com/kb/324055. I
    tried it and gave up. Samba is so much easier.

    Larry

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Black Forest, Germany
    Posts
    23

    Default Re: Icy Box IB-NAS4220-B

    Hello,

    I looked up in the manual and I found the following

    Mounting Windows shares in Linux.


    mount -t smbfs //192.168.178.100/mnt/ide1/public -o username=admin,password=admin
    Usage: mount -V : print version
    mount -h : print this help
    mount : list mounted filesystems
    mount -l : idem, including volume labels
    So far the informational part. Next the mounting.
    The command is `mount [-t fstype] something somewhere'.
    Details found in /etc/fstab may be omitted.
    mount -a [-t|-O] ... : mount all stuff from /etc/fstab
    mount device : mount device at the known place
    mount directory : mount known device here
    mount -t type dev dir : ordinary mount command
    Note that one does not really mount a device, one mounts
    a filesystem (of the given type) found on the device.
    One can also mount an already visible directory tree elsewhere:
    mount --bind olddir newdir
    or move a subtree:
    mount --move olddir newdir
    One can change the type of mount containing the directory dir:
    mount --make-shared dir
    mount --make-slave dir
    mount --make-private dir
    mount --make-unbindable dir
    One can change the type of all the mounts in a mount subtree
    containing the directory dir:
    mount --make-rshared dir
    mount --make-rslave dir
    mount --make-rprivate dir
    mount --make-runbindable dir
    A device can be given by name, say /dev/hda1 or /dev/cdrom,
    or by label, using -L label or by uuid, using -U uuid .
    Other options: [-nfFrsvw] [-o options] [-p passwdfd].
    For many more details, say man 8 mount .


    And I also tried for NFS.

    showmount -e 192.168.178.100
    Export list for 192.168.178.100:
    /mnt/ide1/public *

    mount -t nfs 192.168.178.36:/mnt/ide1/public
    Usage: mount -V : print version
    mount -h : print this help
    mount : list mounted filesystems
    mount -l : idem, including volume labels
    So far the informational part. Next the mounting.
    The command is `mount [-t fstype] something somewhere'.
    Details found in /etc/fstab may be omitted.
    mount -a [-t|-O] ... : mount all stuff from /etc/fstab
    mount device : mount device at the known place
    mount directory : mount known device here
    mount -t type dev dir : ordinary mount command
    Note that one does not really mount a device, one mounts
    a filesystem (of the given type) found on the device.
    One can also mount an already visible directory tree elsewhere:
    mount --bind olddir newdir
    or move a subtree:
    mount --move olddir newdir
    One can change the type of mount containing the directory dir:
    mount --make-shared dir
    mount --make-slave dir
    mount --make-private dir
    mount --make-unbindable dir
    One can change the type of all the mounts in a mount subtree
    containing the directory dir:
    mount --make-rshared dir
    mount --make-rslave dir
    mount --make-rprivate dir
    mount --make-runbindable dir
    A device can be given by name, say /dev/hda1 or /dev/cdrom,
    or by label, using -L label or by uuid, using -U uuid .
    Other options: [-nfFrsvw] [-o options] [-p passwdfd].
    For many more details, say man 8 mount .


    Now problem is that I have no idea what it has done. Is it working now. If so where can i check that.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    3,587

    Default Re: Icy Box IB-NAS4220-B

    * bhogal wrote, On 07/21/2008 08:36 PM:
    > Hello,
    >
    > I looked up in the manual and I found the following


    Errm, did you read my previous message?
    I wouldn't use NFS if Windows machines are involved, because you'd have to deal with both protocols, CIFS/Samba and NFS. Let's focus on Samba for now. And please check the URL I posted.
    I really don't want to keep you from reading manpages, but sometimes a good tutorial is much better :-)

    Uwe

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Black Forest, Germany
    Posts
    23

    Default Re: Icy Box IB-NAS4220-B

    First of all thank you. I did try the link which you had mentioned. But i was unable to see or add under Samba.

    On my Laptop I had installed Ubuntu and from my Laptop i could access it, but not from my PC. I was wondering why does it work under Ubuntu and Also in Opensuse in Gnome only. I checked the link (smb://ib-nas4220-b/) and tried it under KDE on my PC. There was an error message that the this could be because of the firewall. I turned off the firewall and then there it was.

    Thank you once again for your help.

    Now just another question, How can I add it so that I have the firewall running at boot and still able to have access to my Icy Box.

    I know that there are no viruses for Linux. Better to be safe than sorry. Not because of viruses but online banking and other stuff.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •