wireless not working- broadcom 4311

I will start off by saying I am new to Linux so I am not even sure what information I should be providing but here is my issue…

I have installed opensuse 11 with KDE 3.5 on my HP dv6226us laptop with Broadcom 4311 wireless. I also tried KDE 4.0 and had the exact same results.

I have gotten the firmware for the 4311 installed using these commands from the sticky thread (I only have a wireless connection):

tar xjf broadcom-wl-4.150.10.5.tar.bz2
sudo mkdir -p /lib/firmware
sudo b43-fwcutter -w /lib/firmware \ broadcom-wl-4.150.10.5/driver/wl_apsta_mimo.o

After that, I could see the wireless network but usually cannot connect to it (I just see the spinning of the wheels on the Knetworkmanager and after 30 seconds it goes back to gray). The weird part is that once in a great while I do get connected (I cannot figure out the pattern here) but the connection is spotty and goes away after a few minutes.

I do dual boot with Windows Vista and I have done a complete shutdown (even went as far as to unplug the machine and take out the battery) with no better results.

Well, I thank whomever in advance for any help

Charlie

What do you see with a ‘sudo iwlist scan’ command?

What does ‘dmesg | grep b43’ show?

Do you shutdown Windows, or do you suspend it?

The BCM4311 devices work very well with b43 as the driver. Yours should too.

Larry

Hi Larry,

Thanks for the response!

Good to know the card should work… which probably means I am running circles around the obvious. Oh well, I guess that is the fun of computers.

Anyways, per your suggestions:

“dmesg | grep b43” command shows…
b43-phy0: Broadcom 4311 WLAN found
input: b43-phy0 as /devices/virtual/input/input10
b43-phy0: Loading firmware version 410.2160 (2007-05-26 15:32:10)
Registered led device: b43-phy0::tx
Registered led device: b43-phy0::rx
Registered led device: b43-phy0::radio

“sudo iwlist scan” shows…
sudo: iwlist: command not found