Can't start up coz of ATI graphic card

Hi maybe it’s one of the thousands threat about difficulty of using ATI graphic card in Linux. And I am just a newbie of Linux so this question maybe very silly. I have done quite a lot of research on Linux distribution and finally I think OpenSuse is the best so I boot from a Live CD, installed it by clicking “Live Install”. After a swift installation I restarted my pc, seeing long processes going on in commandline and all of the sudden, my monitor went “Video Output Not Supported”. I am using Radeon 9600SE.

I then tried to boot from the [failsafe] mode but end up with the same result. It really freaks me out coz I can smoothly boot from the Live CD, login to desktop and the system clearly identify the card as ATI graphic card. I mean if the Live-boot OpenSuse can start up successfully why can not the installed version?

The problem is that I have the official ATI driver but if I am not able to login to OpenSuse what other ways I can install the driver?

Please help me up coz my friend told me OpenSuse is very sophisticated and worth a try.

You can boot into the command-line mode by simply entering 3 into the boot options in grub. Once you do this, login as root. Then run the command “sax2 -rf” and follow all of the options. Then when you return to the command line run the command “shutdown -r now” to reboot and all should work.

Oh I forgot, you can test the settings out with a startx command, or init 5 command to bring you back up without rebooting.

Yeah I was thinking to do sth with the boot option in order to avoid graphic loading. Thanks heaps!!!

will try this out today and see if it works :slight_smile:

Hi I tried typing in “3” and “init 3” as boot option in Grup but still not able to get in command-line mode. Have I done anything wrong?:frowning:

Hi Benny.