Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Can't start up coz of ATI graphic card

Question Can't start up coz of ATI graphic card

Hi maybe it's one of the thousands threat about difficulty of using ATI graphic card in Linux. And I am just a newbie of Linux so this question maybe very silly. I have done quite a lot of research on Linux distribution and finally I think OpenSuse is the best so I boot from a Live CD, installed it by clicking "Live Install". After a swift installation I restarted my pc, seeing long processes going on in commandline and all of the sudden, my monitor went "Video Output Not Supported". I am using Radeon 9600SE.

I then tried to boot from the [failsafe] mode but end up with the same result. It really freaks me out coz I can smoothly boot from the Live CD, login to desktop and the system clearly identify the card as ATI graphic card. I mean if the Live-boot OpenSuse can start up successfully why can not the installed version?

The problem is that I have the official ATI driver but if I am not able to login to OpenSuse what other ways I can install the driver?

Please help me up coz my friend told me OpenSuse is very sophisticated and worth a try.

Default Re: Can't start up coz of ATI graphic card

You can boot into the command-line mode by simply entering 3 into the boot options in grub. Once you do this, login as root. Then run the command "sax2 -rf" and follow all of the options. Then when you return to the command line run the command "shutdown -r now" to reboot and all should work.
    Don't worry, I am just a typical luser.

Oh I forgot, you can test the settings out with a startx command, or init 5 command to bring you back up without rebooting.
    Don't worry, I am just a typical luser.

Quote Originally Posted by mniebur View Post