Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33

Thread: quake4?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    1,191

    Default quake4?

    I installed quake4 as su from
    patti-desktop:/home/patti/Desktop # ./quake4multiplayerdemo.x86.run

    ...and all seemed to go well, but when I try to run it I get an opensGL/SDL error:
    --------------- R_InitOpenGL ----------------
    Initializing SDL subsystem
    Loading GL driver 'libGL.so.1' through SDL
    SDL_ListModes:
    1680x1050 1600x1024 1400x1050 1280x1024 1280x960 1152x864 1024x768 832x624 800x600 800x512 700x525
    640x512 640x480 640x400 576x432 512x384 416x312 400x300 320x240
    SDL_ListModes are currently ignored for resolution filtering. Set r_useSDLModes to 1 if you want it
    Initializing SDL subsystem
    Loading GL driver 'libGL.so.1' through SDL
    SDL_ListModes:
    1680x1050 1600x1024 1400x1050 1280x1024 1280x960 1152x864 1024x768 832x624 800x600 800x512 700x525
    640x512 640x480 640x400 576x432 512x384 416x312 400x300 320x240
    SDL_ListModes are currently ignored for resolution filtering. Set r_useSDLModes to 1 if you want it
    Fatal Error: Unable to initialize OpenGL
    --------------- BSE Shutdown ----------------
    ---------------------------------------------
    idRenderSystem::Shutdown()
    Sys_Error: Unable to initialize OpenGL
    patti@patti-desktop:~/Desktop>

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    U.K East Anglia
    Posts
    2,581

    Default Re: quake4?

    You got your graphics drivers correctly installed ?

    Andy
    To be is to do = Immanuel Kant
    To do is to be = Descartes.
    Do be do be do = Frank Sinatra

    SuSE user since 7.0,Linux user since 1994

  3. #3
    murgel NNTP User

    Default Re: quake4?

    If so, your 3D accelerator may be too old. What card do you have?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    1,191

    Default Re: quake4?

    I have a fairly recent card - an Nvidia 8300 - everything video seems fine, including 3D acceleration. I suspect it's an incompatable library - wondering if anyone has gotten quake4 to run under opensuse 10.2 - that LibGLso.0.1 seems suspect. There's probably versions!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    U.K East Anglia
    Posts
    2,581

    Default Re: quake4?

    i've run Quake 4 in SuSE 10 through to 11.0 with no problems. I take it you used the Loki installer to install it ?

    Andy
    To be is to do = Immanuel Kant
    To do is to be = Descartes.
    Do be do be do = Frank Sinatra

    SuSE user since 7.0,Linux user since 1994

  6. #6
    murgel NNTP User

    Default Re: quake4?

    Please post the output of
    Code:
    glxinfo|grep "direct rendering"
    And what does happen when you enter
    Code:
    glxgears
    It should show some animated gearwheels.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Nanjing, China
    Posts
    78

    Default Re: quake4?

    Off-topic:
    murgel, your signature cracks me up

    On-topic:
    If direct rendering is shown as 'Yes', then your driver (probably) isn't your problem.

    Found this on UbuntuForums: (Quake4 GLX error - Ubuntu Forums)

    It describes editing your /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    (Remember to first back it up in case something goes wrong)
    Change:

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen[0]"
    Device "Device[0]"
    Monitor "Monitor[0]"
    DefaultDepth 16

    to

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen[0]"
    Device "Device[0]"
    Monitor "Monitor[0]"
    DefaultDepth 24

    and add the section

    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 24
    Modes "1280x1024" "1280x800" "1024x768" "1024x640" "800x600" "640x480"
    ---------------------------------------------------------------
    Be sure to take a look at the thread yourself as well. Hope this helps!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    1,191

    Default Re: quake4?

    Sorry to take so long to respond - this forum wouldn't let me on for a long time - much harder to get used to than the previous two forums this one replaced.

    patti@new-host:~> glxinfo|grep "direct rendering"
    direct rendering: Yes
    patti@new-host:~>

    and when I do glxgears, I get the little gears in 3D turning. I'm sure my graphics are installed correctly since other 3D games run fine. I think this may be a glibc thing since I don't get the graphical installer when I run the installer - I get the text mode...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    1,191

    Default Re: quake4?

    Quote Originally Posted by PattiMichelle View Post
    Sorry to take so long to respond - this forum wouldn't let me on for a long time - much harder to get used to than the previous two forums this one replaced.

    patti@new-host:~> glxinfo|grep "direct rendering"
    direct rendering: Yes
    patti@new-host:~>

    and when I do glxgears, I get the little gears in 3D turning. I'm sure my graphics are installed correctly since other 3D games run fine. I think this may be a glibc thing since I don't get the graphical installer when I run the installer - I get the text mode...
    EDIT: I also tried the changes to my xorg.conf - no joy

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    1,191

    Default Re: quake4?

    Here's what I get now... first it seems to start, shows a graphics full-screen saying "loading game..." then it drops back to KDE with double-sized pixels, so KDE is much bigger than my display... I have to "End Current Session" and re-log-in to restart the Xorg. Weird. QuakeIII runs fine.

    patti@new-host:~> quake4
    Quake4 V1.4.2 linux-x86 Jun 15 2007
    found interface lo - loopback
    found interface lo - 127.0.0.2/255.0.0.0
    found interface eth0 - 192.168.1.2/255.255.255.0
    CPU: AMD CPU with MMX & 3DNow! & SSE & SSE2 & SSE3
    enabled Flush-To-Zero mode
    --------- Initializing File System ----------
    Loaded pk4 /usr/local/games/quake4/q4base/game000.pk4 with checksum 0xb3abe28c
    Loaded pk4 /usr/local/games/quake4/q4base/game100.pk4 with checksum 0x74b379d9
    Loaded pk4 /usr/local/games/quake4/q4base/game200.pk4 with checksum 0xa3c810d9
    Loaded pk4 /usr/local/games/quake4/q4base/pak010.pk4 with checksum 0x4b80fbda
    Loaded pk4 /usr/local/games/quake4/q4base/pak011.pk4 with checksum 0x8acf4cfa
    Loaded pk4 /usr/local/games/quake4/q4base/pak012.pk4 with checksum 0xbe4120b0
    Loaded pk4 /usr/local/games/quake4/q4base/pak013.pk4 with checksum 0x6ad67f40
    Loaded pk4 /usr/local/games/quake4/q4base/pak014.pk4 with checksum 0xee51cd59
    Loaded pk4 /usr/local/games/quake4/q4base/pak015.pk4 with checksum 0xf5bf4e0c
    Loaded pk4 /usr/local/games/quake4/q4base/pak016.pk4 with checksum 0x2196f58c
    Loaded pk4 /usr/local/games/quake4/q4base/pak017.pk4 with checksum 0x91118a35
    Loaded pk4 /usr/local/games/quake4/q4base/pak018.pk4 with checksum 0x98a14f03
    Loaded pk4 /usr/local/games/quake4/q4base/pak019.pk4 with checksum 0xbc82ac79
    Loaded pk4 /usr/local/games/quake4/q4base/pak020.pk4 with checksum 0xce74cda5
    Loaded pk4 /usr/local/games/quake4/q4base/pak021.pk4 with checksum 0x2ba6e70c
    Loaded pk4 /usr/local/games/quake4/q4base/pak022.pk4 with checksum 0x4e390eec
    Loaded pk4 /usr/local/games/quake4/q4base/q4cmp_pak001.pk4 with checksum 0xd0813943
    Loaded pk4 /usr/local/games/quake4/q4base/zpak_english.pk4 with checksum 0x5868f530
    Loaded pk4 /usr/local/games/quake4/q4base/zpak_english_01.pk4 with checksum 0xd9f04b8b
    Loaded pk4 /usr/local/games/quake4/q4base/zpak_english_02.pk4 with checksum 0x9dbd91fd
    Loaded pk4 /usr/local/games/quake4/q4base/zpak_english_03.pk4 with checksum 0x2eb6ad8
    Loaded pk4 /usr/local/games/quake4/q4base/zpak_english_04.pk4 with checksum 0xd3fefaa1
    Addon pk4 /usr/local/games/quake4/q4base/q4cmp_pak001.pk4 with checksum 0xd0813943 is on addon list
    Current search path:
    /home/patti/.quake4/q4base
    /usr/local/games/quake4/q4base
    /usr/local/games/quake4/q4base/zpak_english_04.pk4 (3 files)
    ...
    <snip!>
    ...
    game DLL: 0x0 in pak: 0x0
    Addon pk4s:
    /usr/local/games/quake4/q4base/q4cmp_pak001.pk4 (119 files)
    file system initialized.
    ---------------------------------------------
    ------------ Initializing Decls -------------
    Loading guides.... 55 loaded
    133ms to load 243k of material
    105ms to load 43k of skin
    291ms to load 723k of sound
    3ms to load 0k of materialType
    654ms to load 2889k of lipSync
    3ms to load 0k of playback
    67ms to load 25k of effect
    ---------------------------------------------
    -------- Initializing renderSystem ----------
    using ARB renderSystem
    renderSystem initialized.
    ---------------------------------------------
    Found default language English with VO
    .... found additional language 'french' without VO
    .... found additional language 'italian' without VO
    .... found additional language 'spanish' without VO
    696 strings read from strings/english_code.lang
    1794 strings read from strings/english_guis.lang
    5756 strings read from strings/english_lips.lang
    5759 strings read from strings/english_mappack.lang
    6235 strings read from strings/english_maps.lang
    3 strings read from strings/french_mappack.lang
    3 strings read from strings/italian_mappack.lang
    3 strings read from strings/spanish_mappack.lang
    Couldn't open journal files
    execing default.cfg
    couldn't exec editor.cfg
    couldn't exec Quake4Config.cfg
    couldn't exec autoexec.cfg
    -------- Initializing Sound System ----------
    sound system initialized.
    ---------------------------------------------
    --------------- R_InitOpenGL ----------------
    Initializing SDL subsystem
    Loading GL driver 'libGL.so.1' through SDL
    SDL_ListModes:
    1680x1050 1600x1024 1400x1050 1280x1024 1280x960 1152x864 1024x768 832x624 800x600 800x512 700x525
    640x512 640x480 640x400 576x432 512x384 416x312 400x300 320x240
    SDL_ListModes are currently ignored for resolution filtering. Set r_useSDLModes to 1 if you want it
    8/8/8/8 RGBA bits, 24 depth bits, 8 stencil bits
    no multisampling
    dlopen(libasound.so.2)
    asoundlib version: 1.0.16
    Alsa is available
    ------ Alsa Sound Initialization -----
    opened Alsa PCM device default for playback
    device buffer size: 5461 frames ( 21844 bytes )
    allocated a mix buffer of 16384 bytes
    --------------------------------------
    ...using GL_ARB_multitexture
    ...using GL_ARB_texture_env_combine
    ...using GL_ARB_texture_cube_map
    ...using GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3
    ...using GL_ARB_texture_env_add
    ...using GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two
    ...using GL_NV_blend_square
    ...using GL_ARB_texture_compression
    ...using GL_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc
    ...using GL_EXT_texture_filter_anisotropic
    maxTextureAnisotropy: 16.000000
    ...using GL_1.4_texture_lod_bias
    X..GL_EXT_shared_texture_palette not found
    ...using GL_EXT_draw_range_elements
    ...using GL_EXT_blend_minmax
    ...using GL_NV_float_buffer
    ...using GL_EXT_texture3D
    ...using GL_EXT_stencil_wrap
    ...using GL_NV_register_combiners
    ...using NV_vertex_program
    ...using NV_fragment_program
    ...using GL_EXT_stencil_two_side
    X..GL_ATI_fragment_shader not found
    X..GL_ATI_text_fragment_shader not found
    ...using GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object
    ...using GL_ARB_vertex_program
    ...using GL_ARB_fragment_program
    ...using GL_ARB_shader_objects
    ...using GL_ARB_fragment_shader
    ...using GL_ARB_vertex_shader
    ...using GL_ARB_shading_language_100
    ...using EXT_depth_bounds_test
    ---------------- R_NV20_Init ----------------
    ---------------------------------------------
    ----------------- R200_Init -----------------
    Not available.
    ---------------- R_ARB2_Init ----------------
    Available.
    ---------------------------------------------
    ------------ R_ReloadARBPrograms ------------
    glprogs/test.vfp: File not found
    glprogs/test.vfp: File not found
    glprogs/interaction.vfp: File not found
    glprogs/interaction.vfp: File not found
    glprogs/bumpyEnvironment.vfp: File not found
    glprogs/bumpyEnvironment.vfp: File not found
    glprogs/ambientLight.vfp: File not found
    glprogs/ambientLight.vfp: File not found
    glprogs/SimpleInteraction.vfp: File not found
    glprogs/SimpleInteraction.vfp: File not found
    glprogs/shadow.vp: File not found
    glprogs/R200_interaction.vp
    glprogs/nv20_bumpAndLight.vp: File not found
    glprogs/nv20_diffuseColor.vp: File not found
    glprogs/nv20_specularColor.vp: File not found
    glprogs/nv20_diffuseAndSpecularColor.vp: File not found
    glprogs/environment.vfp: File not found
    glprogs/environment.vfp: File not found
    glprogs/arbVP_glasswarp.txt: File not found
    glprogs/arbFP_glasswarp.txt: File not found
    ---------------------------------------------
    using ARB_vertex_buffer_object memory
    using ARB2 renderSystem
    reloading lights/defaultpointlight.
    reloading lights/defaultprojectedlight.
    reloading lights/muzzleflash.
    reloading gfx/guis/mainmenu/splash.
    reloading gfx/guis/soundmeter/audiobg.
    reloading gfx/guis/white.
    reloading gfx/guis/guicursor_arrow.
    reloading gfx/guis/guicursor_hand.
    reloading gfx/guis/scrollbarh.
    reloading gfx/guis/scrollbarv.
    reloading gfx/guis/scrollbar_thumb.
    reloading gfx/guis/scrollbar_right.
    reloading gfx/guis/scrollbar_left.
    reloading gfx/guis/scrollbar_up.
    reloading gfx/guis/scrollbar_down.
    reloading fonts/english/bigchars.
    Could not register font fonts/chain [fonts/english/chain]
    found DLL in pak file: /usr/local/games/quake4/q4base/game100.pk4/gamex86.so
    copy gamex86.so to /home/patti/.quake4/q4base/gamex86.so
    enabled Flush-To-Zero mode
    ------------- Initializing Game -------------
    gamename: baseQUAKE4-1
    gamedate: Jun 15 2007
    104ms to load 118k of entityDef
    2ms to load 0k of articulatedFigure
    Initializing event system
    ...531 event definitions
    Initializing class hierarchy
    ...247 classes, 598968 bytes for event callbacks
    Initializing scripts
    /proc/cpuinfo CPU frequency: 2200 MHz
    Compiled '/home/patti/.quake4/q4base/scripts/main.script': 2229.2 ms
    -------------- Compile stats ----------------

    Memory usage:
    Strings: 54, 8464 bytes
    Statements: 84435, 1688700 bytes
    Functions: 3361, 380380 bytes
    Variables: 324172 bytes
    Mem used: 3532564 bytes
    Static data: 4948144 bytes
    Allocated: 6313684 bytes
    Thread size: 7072 bytes

    Error ERP_DROP: Unable to find entityDef for 'aas_types'
    TODO: Sys_SetClipboardData
    ------------ Game Map Shutdown --------------
    ---------------------------------------------
    ********************
    ERROR: Unable to find entityDef for 'aas_types'
    ********************
    Sys_Error: Error during initialization
    pure virtual method called
    terminate called after throwing an instance of 'idException'
    Aborted
    patti@new-host:~>

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •