Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Trying to compile driver

Default Trying to compile driver

Hello,

Im new to OpenSuse and i'm trying to install a driver for my wifi, i have compiled this driver before succesfully on Ubuntu but it won't work in OpenSuse:

My laptop:

Fujitsu Siemens Amilo L1310G
    Intel Celeron M 1.6 Ghz
    Some atheros wlan card
    512MB Ram

My laptop uses a software based button for activating wireless on the laptop. Thats the application wich im trying to compile.

My steps:

1. Downloaded to tar package.
    2. Extracted it by doing "tar xvjf fsaa1655g.tar.bz2"
    3. cd fsaa1655g
    4. make

This is my output:

Code:
    jurgen@linux:~> su
    Password:
    linux:/home/jurgen # cd fsaa1655g/
    linux:/home/jurgen/fsaa1655g # make
    make -C /lib/modules/2.6.22.18-0.2-default/build SUBDIRS=/home/jurgen/fsaa1655g modules
    make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.22.18-0.2-obj/i386/default'
    make[1]: *** No rule to make target `modules'.  Stop.
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.22.18-0.2-obj/i386/default'
    make: *** [default] Error 2
    linux:/home/jurgen/fsaa1655g #
    I installed every GCC package possible in the package manager and make command aswell.

Hope some Suse Guru can help me thanks in advance,

Jurgen

Default Re: Trying to compile driver

Quote Originally Posted by MasthaX View Post
    Hello,

Im new to OpenSuse and i'm trying to install a driver for my wifi, i have compiled this driver before succesfully on Ubuntu but it won't work in OpenSuse:

My laptop:

Intel Celeron M 1.6 Ghz
    Some atheros wlan card
    512MB Ram

My laptop uses a software based button for activating wireless on the laptop. Thats the application wich im trying to compile.

My steps:

1. Downloaded to tar package.
    2. Extracted it by doing "tar xvjf fsaa1655g.tar.bz2"
    3. cd fsaa1655g
    4. make

This is my output:

Code:
    jurgen@linux:~> su
    Password:
    linux:/home/jurgen # cd fsaa1655g/