Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Problems cloning dual boot system (XP & Suse10.3)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Morecambe Bay
    Posts
    103

    Default Problems cloning dual boot system (XP & Suse10.3)

    I have cloned my old failing hd (Samsung 150GB) to a new (Hitachi 250GB) using this tutorial and and the command
    dd if=/dev/hda of=/dev/hdb bs=32256
    and using GParted.
    After the cloning had finished GParted showed the following error messages on my new clone hd:
    /dev/hdb5: error opening volume

    /dev/hdb6: e2 label: No such file or directory whiel trying to open /dev/hdb6
    Couldn't find valid filesystem superblock.
    dumpe2fs: 1.40.8 (13-Mar-2008)
    dumpe2fs: no such file or directory while trying to open /dev/hdb6
    unable to read the contents of this filesystem! Because of this some operations may be unavailable.

    /dev/hdb7: e2 label: No such file or directory whiel trying to open /dev/hdb6
    Couldn't find valid filesystem superblock.
    dumpe2fs: 1.40.8 (13-Mar-2008)
    dumpe2fs: no such file or directory while trying to open /dev/hdb7
    unable to read the contents of this filesystem! Because of this some operations may be unavailable.
    hdb5 = swap file
    hdb6 = ext3
    hdb7 = ext3

    I kept the partitions the same size.

    When I boot up my new hd, Grub loads with all the options and I can boot into XP no problem.
    When I boot into Suse, the terminal screen comes up with this message

    Could not find SCSI-SATA_SAMSUNG_SP1604NS013J10X539788-part6
    Want me to fall back to /dev/disk/by-id/SCSI-SATA_SAMSUNG_SP1604NS013J10X539788-part6? (Y/n)
    after choosing Y, I get this
    Waiting for device /dev/disk/SCSI-SATA_SAMSUNG_SP1604NS013J10X539788-part6 to appear......not found exiting to /bin/sh
    sh: no job control in this shell
    and if I choose no:

    atkbd.c: unkown key released (translated set 2, code 0x81 on isa0060/serio0)
    atkbd.c: use 'setkeycodes e001 <keycode> to make it known
    I tried running the Suse DVD, but I'm being told that I have no Linux root partition.

    Where am I going wrong? Please someone help me...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,731
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Problems cloning dual boot system (XP & Suse10.3)

    If dd encounters a dud sector it produces a bad result, out of synch or something like that. Could that explain it? I don't know much about it. Google
    Last edited by swerdna; 11-Jul-2008 at 06:11.
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1 &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    ah...on earth certainly !
    Posts
    52

    Default Re: Problems cloning dual boot system (XP & Suse10.3)

    You may have to reinstall GRUB using the opensuse DVD. As you can see, you have a hitachi HDD, whereas your menu.lst file shows a samsung HDD ! http://forums.opensuse.org/images/smilies/biggrin.gif

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    ah...on earth certainly !
    Posts
    52

    Talking Re: Problems cloning dual boot system (XP & Suse10.3)

    sorry about that big grin....javascript was turned off.

    it should display properly now.....see?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Morecambe Bay
    Posts
    103

    Default Re: Problems cloning dual boot system (XP & Suse10.3)

    I tried to reinstall GRUB, but that didn't work either. After 2 days of messing about I got fed up. I wiped the hd clean and did fresh installs of Suse and XP. That worked

  6. #6

    Default Re: Problems cloning dual boot system (XP & Suse10.3)

    Sorry to hit this one after you have gone to all that work. What was happening is that 10.3 (unless you disable "disk-by-id" I think it is called, puts the disk model/serial# in fstab and menu.lst. I had the same issue when installing a new MB and working on a cloned disk to avoid trashing my original, in case I screwed up.

    If you get this situation again, all you need to do is (say) boot from a live Suse CD:

    - find out, using Yast Partitioner, what the ID of the (new) disk is that you have; use the "expand" button in Partitioner (at the bottom) and a whole string will show up on the right; copy this down.

    - still in the live CD, mount the old Suse partition (that wouldn't boot because of the wrong disk-id. Go to /boot/grub and open up menu.lst with a test editor like Kwrite. You will see the (old) ID embedded there in multiple places. Do a replace on all occurrences. Might be wise to create a copy of the file first, in case you make a mistake.

    - still in the live CD, change folder/directory to /etc and open up fstab with the editor; wise to make backup first. Do the same replace on the multiple occurences of the old ID there.

    You should then be able to boot that 10.3. If you have other Suse systems that are on your disk, you will have to do the same procedure on them too. As far as I know, it's only 10.3 and 11, but I'm not sure.

    All this worked for me on two Suse 10.3 partitions and an 11.0. If you have changed your MB and it doesn't boot (hangs), then try putting noapic and acpi=off in the grub boot parm line.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,731
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Problems cloning dual boot system (XP & Suse10.3)

    @eriksorenson
    Looks good. And a variation would be to edit fstab replacing the part like /dev/blah_blah_byID with /dev/sda3 (or whatever). And do the same in menu.lst. Would that work --- simpler for new users to grasp?

    What's your opinion?

    Swerdna
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1 &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  8. #8

    Default Re: Problems cloning dual boot system (XP & Suse10.3)

    @swerdna: I think that's what I wrote.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,731
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Problems cloning dual boot system (XP & Suse10.3)

    Quote Originally Posted by eriksorenson View Post
    @swerdna: I think that's what I wrote.
    I misread you as advocating replacing the old disk_by_id with the new disk_by_id.
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1 &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •