Thread: KDE4 Desktop Icons: can anyone drag and drop?

Default KDE4 Desktop Icons: can anyone drag and drop?

I'm curious if others are having the problem I'm having. I am new to openSUSE and sort of inadvertently ended up with KDE4, but I like it aside from some small beta-release quirks, and I'm curious if one of my issues is a quirk or an actual configuration issue.

It seems that if I have an icon of any kind on the desktop, whether it be a folder, document, or program launcher, I can't drag-and-drop it into a folder I've opened in Dolphin or Konqueror. Like, for example, I had some .pdfs on my desktop that I downloaded via Mozilla FIrefox, which was set to automatically download to desktop. I went to drag and drop these pdfs into my Documents folder, but I could not get it to work, it was as if the folder wasn't there. Am I missing something, or is this something that needs to be reported, or has it already been? What should I do?

Thanks,
    Dan

Default Re: KDE4 Desktop Icons: can anyone drag and drop?

Though I have KDE 3, KDE 4 and gnome installed, KDE 3 is my default DE and I am most comfortable with it. Looking at this post I tried but the drag and drop doesn't work. The only way I could delete or move a file from desktop, is to open it in Dolphin. Couldn't find any option to enable drag and drop on desktop either!

Anyone knows how to make it to work?

I would look to see if the widgets are "locked" or not.

I know this seems silly, but either leave them unlocked, or use the folder view widget; it's just one of those new things.

Blog Entries