Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need advice on Windows-Linux printer sharing

Default Need advice on Windows-Linux printer sharing

Hi. Running a network consisting of my SuSE 10.3 main desktop, a Windows XP box for net-radio streaming, and a Vista box for my children. I have a Brother MFC-7820N and (to-be-retired-imminently) Epson Stylus Photo R200 attached to the Linux box and shared successfully with the others via Samba. (Although, to be honest, I'm a big ignorant Samba newbie.)

Problem is: I just got a new Samsung CLP-300 colour laser (USB only, no ethernet) to replace the Epson inkjet, and I've put it on the kids' computer for use as their printer, but I want to access it now and again when I need colour printing myself. Don't know how to network it properly so the Linux box can see it. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

So far, I've installed the printer as a local printer on the Vista box (not taking the network option); and then going to the printer properties, turning the printer into a shared printer (naming it samsung-clp-300 on the assumption it would come onto the network as \\kidsbox\samsung-clp-300), but it's a no-show either on the Linux box or the XP box.

Don't know where to take it from here.

There are 'standard' and 'custom' installation options for a networked printer on the driver-installation software, but I'm not sure what kind of TCP, port, or other information to enter.

is there anywhere anyone can point me that will help me set up in fairly plain language?

Many thanks.

Blog Entries

Default Re: Need advice on Windows-Linux printer sharing

Check out swerdna's guide:
    Printer Sharing: Windows Print Server for Suse/openSUSE Linux Clients [Samba and LPD]

I don't like samba, and hence if it were me, I would prefer the "Setting up a Linux client to print using LPD protocol (alternative to Samba)" toward the end of the page, but many users take the time to setup samba.