Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 46

Thread: BCM4310...no wireless

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Kansas CIty
    Posts
    23

    Unhappy BCM4310...no wireless

    I am not sure where to go from here. I have wired internet but I am unable to get my wireless card to work at all. I can find it in sys. info and that is about it. I am very new to linux and so I am sure this is to some degree operator error as much as anything else. Please give me any suggestions that you have regarding how to repair this. I am running openSUSE 11.0 as a dual install with Vista and I have wireless through Vista. I am not sure what other information would be helpful so I wait to post anymore. Thanks ahead of time for all of the help!!!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City Area, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    7,235

    Default Re: BCM4310...no wireless

    Just posting the fact that it is a BCM4310 is enough. Unfortunately, your card
    is one of the few that the open-source driver does not support. In your case,
    you will need to use ndiswrapper. There are a number of places to learn how to
    do that.

    FYI, we of the bcm43xx team are currently doing the reverse engineering of this
    device, but it will not be ready for some time.

    In the future when seeking help for a device that is not working, you should
    post the appropriate section of the output of '/sbin/lspci -v' and the pertinent
    data from the output of the 'dmesg' command.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Kansas CIty
    Posts
    23

    Default Re: BCM4310...no wireless

    I actually have read quite a few of your posts and I saw that you were developing exactly what I am looking for. I did not want to sound like the noob that I am but I tried to get the output that you are talking about from the konsole and I could not get it to output the information that I saw everyone else posting when they have a problem like this. I would love to know what resource you think would be the best to learn how to work more in depth with linux, or more importantly to me in the short term, to solve my current problem. I have already installed the ndiswrapper however I cannot seem to get it to do what others have. I am reading the posts that many other people with this problem have put up and I am simply missing something in my process. I also tried a few other things but I think that perhaps they are a lost cause. ANY help that you can offer would be great, and once again thank you for your time and your patience!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City Area, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    7,235

    Default Re: BCM4310...no wireless

    The BCM4310 is not recognized by the driver, thus it doesn't even provide the
    log output that we ask others to provide.

    As to implementing ndiswrapper, I have not used it for so long that I cannot
    help you. I suggest that you go to the ndiswrapper home site
    (http://ndiswrapper.sourceforge.net/joomla/) and look at the documentation. If
    something doesn't work, their mailing list is the proper place to ask.

  5. #5
    Graham P Davis NNTP User

    Default Re: BCM4310...no wireless

    Larry Finger wrote:

    > As to implementing ndiswrapper, I have not used it for so long that I
    > cannot help you. I suggest that you go to the ndiswrapper home site
    > (http://ndiswrapper.sourceforge.net/joomla/) and look at the
    > documentation. If something doesn't work, their mailing list is the proper
    > place to ask.


    I would add again that I've been unable to get ndiswrapper+bcmwl5.inf to
    work in 11.0 but it's fine in 10.3.

    --
    Graham P Davis, Bracknell, Berks., UK. E-mail: newsman not newsboy


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sarasota
    Posts
    301

    Default Re: BCM4310...no wireless

    Quote Originally Posted by Graham P Davis View Post
    I would add again that I've been unable to get ndiswrapper+bcmwl5.inf to
    work in 11.0 but it's fine in 10.3.
    --
    Graham P Davis, Bracknell, Berks., UK. E-mail: newsman not newsboy
    I just completed some edits to SUSE's ndiswrapper documentation at:
    Ndiswrapper - openSUSE
    concerning 32-bit vs 64-bit drivers and blacklisting conflicting native drivers.
    If you weren't aware of those concerns, take another look there.

    Hope this helps...

    Dave

  7. #7
    Graham P Davis NNTP User

    Default Re: BCM4310...no wireless

    cookdav wrote:

    >
    > Graham P Davis;1835347 Wrote:
    >>
    >> I would add again that I've been unable to get ndiswrapper+bcmwl5.inf
    >> to
    >> work in 11.0 but it's fine in 10.3.
    >> --
    >> Graham P Davis, Bracknell, Berks., UK. E-mail: newsman not newsboy

    >
    > I just completed some edits to SUSE's ndiswrapper documentation at:
    > 'Ndiswrapper - openSUSE' (http://en.opensuse.org/Ndiswrapper)
    > concerning 32-bit vs 64-bit drivers and blacklisting conflicting native
    > drivers.
    > If you weren't aware of those concerns, take another look there.
    >
    > Hope this helps...
    >


    Thanks Dave, but I've already checked that there were no conflicting
    drivers. As I say, the machine is working fine with 10.3 (64-bit). When
    I've been booting the machine with 11.0 and ndiswrapper, the machine will
    sometimes re-boot directly after loading the driver - it won't boot
    successfully unless it fails to boot the driver. Here is what Larry had to
    say on the subject a couple of weeks ago:

    "Welcome to the Linux equivalent of "Blue Screens of Death" while
    running the Windows driver with ndiswrapper. Unfortunately, I don't
    have much to offer you. Broadcom does a really lousy job of error
    checking in their drivers, which is why you are getting the crashes. I
    know this because I'm currently working on the reverse engineering for
    the BCM4310.

    At the moment, roughly 1/3 of the routines needed to make the BCM4310
    and BCM4328 interfaces work have been translated. Once that is done,
    we will write the specifications for the LP and N PHYs and post them
    at http://bcm-v4.sipsolutions.net/. Finally, the code-writing part of
    the team will prepare the Linux driver. This is an involved process,
    but it works - just takes a long time."


    I should probably wait for the work on the driver to be completed but I just
    like tinkering, so I'm also playing with the ipw2200 driver at the moment.
    Unfortunately, I haven't got the device (an Intel Pro/Wireless 2200BG)
    recognised so far.


    --
    Graham P Davis, Bracknell, Berks., UK. E-mail: newsman not newsboy


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Kansas CIty
    Posts
    23

    Default Re: BCM4310...no wireless

    Maybe I am missing something but if I understand the above posts then there is currently no solution for my problem? At least not with ndiswrapper. I am debating on trying UBUNTO but when I run the live CD I still have the problem with not being able to use the wireless on my laptop. It seems however that there are a few solutions people have suggested and that they have said worked in UBUNTO. Does anyone have a new solution for me if ndiswrapper won't work. If not should I try UBUNTO? Thanks again guys, even if this is not working I am learning a ton just by fighting with it.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City Area, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    7,235

    Default Re: BCM4310...no wireless


    If ndiswrapper will not work for you with openSUSE 11.0, it is unlikely to work
    with Ubuntu (note spelling). I don't know if your system is 32- or 64-bit. With
    ndiswrapper, 32-bit is more likely to work as the 32-bit Windows drivers are
    used a lot more than the 64-bit versions. The same is likely true for ndiswrapper.

    As I wrote earlier, the open-source driver is a ways off.

    Larry

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Kansas CIty
    Posts
    23

    Default Re: BCM4310...no wireless

    I got the impression from what others were posting that ndiswrapper was not an option with openSUSE 11.0, is this correct? I know that you initially said and since you seem to be the best authority on the topic that I have found I am going to give that another go in the next couple of evenings unless you know of a distro that would be more fit as my first Linux OS. The system is 32-bit. Thanks for the Ubuntu tip as well, I would have been disappointed if I had gone through the trouble of installing it on the system and then still had it not work properly. Thanks again for all of the help.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •