Thread: I can't sing

Blog Entries

Unhappy I can't sing

I was in our library the other day during a lunch break, and was "paper" browsing some of the Linux Journal magazines ... and saw a neat article in the Oct2007 issue of Linux Journal magazine on recording audio under linux.

So tonight I started playing around with some of the simple recording commands and applications. I first had to setup my mixer to record sound, ... and for a good 10 minute I was stumped because my kmix was mis-configured, specifically under the "switches tab" which had "surround jack mode" set to "shared" instead of "independent". I don't even know what that means, but it was enough to stop my capability to record audio, until I changed to "independent".

I then played around with command lines like:
    arecord -d 10 myrecording.wav
    and
    arecord -d 15 -f cd secondrecording.wav
    and
    also played with krec and krecord

I pulled out some old song sheets, and played with the various applications for a while, singing as a test input to my microphone and the applications I was playing with. ....

But by far the BIGGEST disappointment was, I CAN'T SING.

As some of my good friends used to tell me: .... Don't give up my day job.

Default Re: I can't sing

My mother was an opera singer. I can only keep a tune in my head.

I feel your pain.

g

Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post

As some of my good friends used to tell me: .... Don't give up my day job.
    Same here, the only difference being I didn't need to go to the trouble of recording my singing (perhaps singing is the wrong word here!) to find out.
    Paul Turner

Somewhere in the Ozark Mountains of Missouri

Don't feel so bad, I've been told my singing resembles shaking gravel in a tin bucket!
    Somewhere, just out of sight, the Penguins are gathering!

I was once threatened with an umbrella because of my singing. It only encouraged me though

Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post