Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33

Thread: GRUB loader problem...

  1. #1

    Default GRUB loader problem...

    Hey, this is my first post, I'm an old school windows user who's making the leap into Linux We're making the move as a family and are going to be trying out a variety of Distros, OpenSUSE being the first. (for more info check out The Bray's Blog).

    For now I have two problems, one's relevant here the other is an application problem... So here's my GRUB problem:

    When I boot up the computer the GRUB screen appears and allows me to pick what OS I want to load. However, if i try to choose either of the Windows options it fails to boot windows. I think that this is due to the grub loader and opensuse being on a different hard drive to windows, or something to do with the BIOS primary boot drive.(I know windows is the root of all evil but there's some things that i still need windows for atm )

    Anyone know how to fix this? I'm kinda very stuck.

    Cheers,
    -Cyph (aka James)
    Last edited by cyphnar; 06-Jul-2008 at 07:38. Reason: gRub not gEub.... :S

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City Area, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    7,236

    Default Re: GRUB loader problem...

    cyphnar wrote:
    > Hey, this is my first post, I'm an old school windows user who's making
    > the leap into Linux We're making the move as a family and are going
    > to be trying out a variety of Distros, OpenSUSE being the first. (for
    > more info check out 'The Bray's Blog' (http://www.brayblog.co.uk)).
    >
    > For now I have two problems, one's relevant here the other is an
    > application problem... So here's my GRUB problem:
    >
    > When I boot up the computer the GRUB screen appears and allows me to
    > pick what OS I want to load. However, if i try to choose either of the
    > Windows options it fails to boot windows. I *think* that this is due to
    > the grub loader and opensuse being on a different hard drive to windows,
    > or something to do with the BIOS primary boot drive.(I know windows is
    > the root of all evil but there's some things that i still need windows
    > for atm )


    Post the contents of /boot/grub/menu.lst and a complete description of your disk
    layout.

    FYI, I have one GRUB installation that boots Windows, one Linux installation on
    a different partition on that disk, and two others located on a separate disk.

    Larry

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    316

    Default Re: GRUB loader problem...

    When you install open suse one of you,re drive
    was the primary boot device do not change it
    after you install opensuse
    What I mean is if SDA was primary drive when you install opensuse SDA should the primary again when you boot opensuse
    If you install opensuse on SDB and write GRUB on MBR SDB and SDB was primary then again booting opensuse SDB should be primary
    Where you install GRUB dos not matter as long as when you bootup you have the same situation

    regards
    dobby9

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia, USA
    Posts
    2,429

    Default Re: GRUB loader problem...

    To add a tad to lwfinger@ post . . . we need to know how the disks are sequenced, i.e., which is sda, sdb, etc. Also post back the contents of device.map; it's in the same folder as menu.lst. Conventionally, the Windows boot loader (used by both instances) will be on the first partition of the first drive in the sequence, which will also have been the first drive in the boot device sequence when Windows was installed; if you have something different, we need to know that, too. Finally, to boot from grub now, did you change the bios boot device sequence to boot from the second drive?

  5. #5

    Default Re: GRUB loader problem...

    Thanks for the replies so far!

    For both "device.map" and "menu.lst" when I try via terminal I get access denied (despite bing super user) and when I tried via file browser it says they could not be opened and the icons have a red cross against them.

    The drives are set up like this...

    Drive 1 - Windows installed on one partitions, and another empty partition formatted for windows (this is how the pc came...)

    Drive 2 - Linux installed on the drive, and this is where the GRUB loader is located.

    Originally BIOS was booting drive 1 this meant after installing Linux we would still go into windows with no GRUB loader screen etc. So we changed the boot sequence to boot drive 2 first meaning we get Linux and the GRUB loader, however the loader can't open load windows if you try to.

    Cheers,
    -Cyph

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City Area, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    7,236

    Default Re: GRUB loader problem...

    cyphnar wrote:
    > Thanks for the replies so far!
    >
    > For both "device.map" and "menu.lst" when I try via terminal I get
    > access denied (despite bing super user) and when I tried via file
    > browser it says they could not be opened and the icons have a red cross
    > against them.


    Curious. Please enter the commands below and post the results:

    ls -l /boot/grub/menu.lst
    ls -l /boot/grub/device.map

    Larry

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia, USA
    Posts
    2,429

    Default Re: GRUB loader problem...

    The device.map and menu.lst files should be readable by root (lwfinger's request is to take a look at the permissions on those files to make sure there isn't a problem).

    Code:
    >su
    <enter password>
    #cd /boot/grub
    #cat device.map
    #cat menu.lst
    You can highlight the text with the cursor and the copy/paste to the posting window in the browser.

    My guess is that device map looks something like this:

    (hd0,0) /dev/sda1
    (hd0,1) /dev/sda2
    (hd1,0) /dev/sdb1

    With /dev/sda the drive Windows is on. You have installed grub to the MBR of /dev/sdb, are booting SuSE from /dev/sdb1, and you have this second drive configured in the bios as the boot drive.

    If so, then the Windows stanza in menu.lst needs to look like:

    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    chainloader (hd0,0)+1

    It may need a map command added to the stanza, which would be:

    map (hd1) (hd0)

    Note: You do not need to make changes to device.map and/or menu.lst to test what works, rebooting each time. You can do the commands in the stanza interactively from the boot menu. Just hit Escape at the graphical boot menu to go to a text grub menu, tab to the windows entry, and type "e". You will see the edit commands to change the stanza, exactly as you would with menu.lst

  8. #8

    Default Re: GRUB loader problem...

    as requested:
    Code:
    dad@linux:~> ls -l /boot/grub/menu.lst
    -rw------- 1 root root 1401 Jul  5 08:15 /boot/grub/menu.lst
    dad@linux:~> ls -l /boot/grub/device.map
    -rw------- 1 root root 30 Jul  5 08:15 /boot/grub/device.map
    and

    Code:
    dad@linux:~> su
    Password: 
    linux:/home/dad # cd /boot/grub
    linux:/boot/grub # cat device.map
    (hd0)   /dev/sda
    (hd1)   /dev/sdb
    linux:/boot/grub # cat menu.lst
    # Modified by YaST2. Last modification on Sat Jul  5 08:15:43 BST 2008
    default 0
    timeout 8
    gfxmenu (hd0,4)/boot/message
    
    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: linux###
    title openSUSE
        root (hd0,4)
        kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.22.5-31-default root=/dev/disk/by-id/scsi-SATA_MAXTOR_STM32503_6RY93TAZ-part5 vga=0x31a resume=/dev/sda1 splash=silent showopts
        initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.22.5-31-default
    
    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name:  openSUSE (/dev/sda2)###
    title  openSUSE (/dev/sda2)
        rootnoverify (hd0,1)
        chainloader +1
    
    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: Vendor diagnostic###
    title Vendor diagnostic
        rootnoverify (hd0,4)
        chainloader (hd1,0)+1
    
    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: windows 1###
    title windows 1
        rootnoverify (hd0,4)
        chainloader (hd1,1)+1
    
    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: windows 2###
    title windows 2
        rootnoverify (hd0,4)
        chainloader (hd1,2)+1
    
    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: failsafe###
    title Failsafe -- openSUSE
        root (hd0,4)
        kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.22.5-31-default root=/dev/disk/by-id/scsi-SATA_MAXTOR_STM32503_6RY93TAZ-part5 vga=normal showopts ide=nodma apm=off acpi=off noresume nosmp noapic maxcpus=0 edd=off 3
        initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.22.5-31-default
    linux:/boot/grub #
    Does that help?

    -Cyph

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia, USA
    Posts
    2,429

    Default Re: GRUB loader problem...

    Yes. (By the way, my example above of device.map is wrong - I hadn't had my coffee yet - only the drives are mapped, not the partitions, as you see in your file.)

    In a text editor in menu.lst, as root, in the windows 1 stanza, add the line:

    map (hd1) (hd0)

    And change the chainloader line to be:

    chainloader (hd1,0)+1

    Also, remove the second windows stanza altogether.

  10. #10

    Default Re: GRUB loader problem...

    Erm... little help!

    Lol, ok I tried opening menu.lst via gedit ... said I didn't have the right permission... but I don't know how to log in as the super user outside of the terminal so I tried in the terminal:

    logged in as super user
    # cd /boot/grub
    # cat menu.lst

    that showed me the file again so I guessed and tried replacing "cat" with "edit"

    # edit menu.lst

    woot, this seems to have worked it lets me make the changes anyway, here's my question, how do I save the changes I've made?

    speedy answers much appreciated!

    -Cyph

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •