Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: k9copy not correctly copying DVDs

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Cleveland, TN USA
    Posts
    412

    Default k9copy not correctly copying DVDs

    This is my first time using k9copy, and I'm sure it is due to something I did or didn't do, but k9copy is not correctly copying the DVDs. Every time I tell it to copy a DVD I notice at the bottom of the window it has settings for Mpeg-4, why list options for MPEG_4 when just copying a video from DVD to a DVD? When it finishes burning the copy it plays fine in a computer but when I try to play it in a DVD player I get an error about how it is not in the correct format. I have tried with two different versions
    Version: 1.2.3-0.pm.1
    Version: 2.0.2-0.pm.1

    Both did the same thing.
    "We must plan for freedom, and not only for security, if for no other reason than only freedom can make security more secure." Karl Popper

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Oregon, US
    Posts
    109

    Default Re: k9copy not correctly copying DVDs

    At least on mine as well, the MPEG-4 encoding options is always there, whether I am ripping to xvid or copying to DVD.

    The first thing I can think of is that you are clicking on the MPG4 button instead of the DVD one.

    Are you selecting the whole disc to copy, or just the audio and video title for the movie? ie, you are not copying any of the extra features or menus? If so, I had some problems doing that until I selected "use dvdAuthor for copy without menus" in the configuration for DVD. You can select this by clicking on the configure k9copy button and then the DVD button. There will be a checkbox for this option. I don't think it is set by default, but I remember having problems until I checked it, or unchecked it. Actually, now that I think about it, I can't remember which way I had to change it, I only do the full disc since I think the quality difference is negligible and it seems to work so much better.

    Anyways, make sure you are selecting the DVD copy button, not the MPG4 button, try checking/unchecking the dvdAuthor option, or try copying the entire disc rather than just the movie.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Cleveland, TN USA
    Posts
    412

    Default Re: k9copy not correctly copying DVDs

    Well I guess its good to know the MPEG-4 encode options are always there. Yes I'm sure that I was clicking copy DVD instead of encode to MPEG-4/Extract MPEG2 button. I was trying to rip the whole DVD, but I was ripping it with all the menus and things. I can try and rip one with out the menus once I get to my machine that has k9copy installed.
    "We must plan for freedom, and not only for security, if for no other reason than only freedom can make security more secure." Karl Popper

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Oregon, US
    Posts
    109

    Default Re: k9copy not correctly copying DVDs

    Have you tried it in different DVD players? I know that I have at least one in my house that says it will not work with any burned discs (of any sort), but I have noticed it will work with DVD-R's, but not DVD+R's. Some DVD players are not able to work with all disc media. Have you used these discs before with a different program?

    Another thing to try, although it is a bit slower, is to copy the DVD to an ISO image first, then burn it using k3b. Maybe even on a slower speed. Just choose "Output Device" to be an ISO image, and then after it is done, use k3b to burn it. Try it on a slower speed as well, as it may be having errors burning it, but computers are sometimes better at doing the error correction at runtime than a standalone DVD player.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Cleveland, TN USA
    Posts
    412

    Default Re: k9copy not correctly copying DVDs

    I have multiple DVD players in my house and all of them are able to read movies burned onto DVD-R disks, which is what I am using I can never find DVD+R anywhere here in town.

    I have also already tried saving to DVD to an ISO and burning it with K3B same result, the DVD is playable in a computer but not in a DVD player. I have unchecked the option to have DVDauthor keep the original menus and I am trying it again.
    "We must plan for freedom, and not only for security, if for no other reason than only freedom can make security more secure." Karl Popper

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Oregon, US
    Posts
    109

    Default Re: k9copy not correctly copying DVDs

    I figured, but thought we should check the obvious first.

    So, are you saying that it only happens with k9copy, but other programs using the same discs are fine?

    What size were the iso images? Were they the full 4.3 GB of a single layer DVD?

    What options do you have on the configuration page for DVD? I have the following unchecked
    Burn with k3b
    Auto burn

    and the following checked
    quickscan
    use dvdauthor for copy without menus
    and clear output directory on exit

    Other than that, I sort of lost on what else to do. You could try removing the configuration files for k9copy from ~/.kde/share/config/k9copyrc and ~/.kde/share/config/K9Copy. Yours may be in .kde4 instead of .kde. Which brings me to another idea, I think the 2.0.2 version is a kde4 version, so I assume you are using kde4, you can try switching to a kde3 or even gnome session and see if anything is different there.

    Hopefully we can work this out, because in my opinion k9copy works way easier than any of the other ones I tried. Although I have never tried any of the Windows ones like DVD Shrink. By the way, I have read that DVD Shrink will work under wine, but I have never tried it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Cleveland, TN USA
    Posts
    412

    Default Re: k9copy not correctly copying DVDs

    Yea I use to use xDVDShrink with openSUSE 10.2, and 10.3 and with DVD-R's it successfully ripped the dvd. The iso's were 4.3 GB which is correct for a single layer DVD.

    I have the following options unchecked:
    Burn with K3B
    Auto Burn
    use dvdAuther to burn without menus (this was checked before)

    I have the following options checked:
    Quick Scan
    one file/chapter (MPEG extraction)
    Clear output directory on exit

    K9copy 2.0.2 is a KDE4 version, but I also have the KDE3 version installed and it does the same thing. I'm not sure if switching to a kde3 session will make a difference but if the above settings doesn't work I will try anything.
    "We must plan for freedom, and not only for security, if for no other reason than only freedom can make security more secure." Karl Popper

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Oregon, US
    Posts
    109

    Default Re: k9copy not correctly copying DVDs

    I know that on my laptop I have problems with either version running under kde4 with ripping to xvid. It will just sort of randomly skip a bunch and then never actually complete it. I haven't had a chance to figure out exactly why yet, but I know that running the kde3 version actually under kde3, I do not have that problem.

    So, it might be worthwhile to try it under kde3 and see if that works. If it doesn't, then I am sort of out of ideas.

    As far as my problem, I was just going to sort of let it go until kde4.1 comes out of beta and I upgrade to it (I'm still using 4.0.4), and if I still have trouble with it, then I will file a bug report. I think it might be a problem with the new media settings in kde4, but like I said, I haven't confirmed the cause yet.

  9. #9
    spawn26 NNTP User

    Default Re: k9copy not correctly copying DVDs

    I have had issues with k9copy in the past, from not copying dvds at all and leaving with coasters, unplayable discs and crashes. I have three ways that solve these problems 1.) Totally remove k9copy and try a later version. 2.) If you have dual boot set up, try using windows and using dvddecrypter and Dvdshrink. 3.) try a different brand of media. I used memorex dvd-r's for a longtime and then bought some new ones when I ran out. Even though the brand and format were exactly the same, the discs didn't work. In my expereince k9copy is kind of finnicky. You just have play with it to make it work.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Cleveland, TN USA
    Posts
    412

    Default Re: k9copy not correctly copying DVDs

    1. I have k9copy 2.0.2 installed which is the latest version installed, I also tried with version 1.2.3 same problem.
    2. I do not have windows installed, and I tried DVDshrink and could not get it to work correctly under wine
    3. I am using Memorex DVD-Rs, they always seem to give me less trouble and they are cheap.
    "We must plan for freedom, and not only for security, if for no other reason than only freedom can make security more secure." Karl Popper

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •