Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: slow boot after hostanme change

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    1,664

    Default slow boot after hostanme change

    I had a randomly assigned hostname that I had not noticed until I was getting some mixed up IP addresses from my router.
    I changed the hostname in yast>network to what I wanted.

    Now when I boot there is about an extra 30 seconds added to my boot - it just seems to sit for a while before loading KDE 4

    Using Opensuse 11.0

    Any idea what this is all about?

    Everything is assigned via dhcp

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    150

    Default Re: slow boot after hostanme change

    Can you use ping command to verify your hostname by yourself.
    You shall modify your /etc/hosts if you can't ping your hostname by your machine.
    Below is my example:
    I add my hostname and ipaddress in last line.

    # IP-Address Full-Qualified-Hostname Short-Hostname
    #

    127.0.0.1 localhost

    # special IPv6 addresses
    ::1 localhost ipv6-localhost ipv6-loopback

    fe00::0 ipv6-localnet

    ff00::0 ipv6-mcastprefix
    ff02::1 ipv6-allnodes
    ff02::2 ipv6-allrouters
    ff02::3 ipv6-allhosts
    192.168.2.33 opensuse opensuse

    Regards,
    Bryan Yu
    Bryan 手札—生活記趣

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    1,664

    Default Re: slow boot after hostanme change

    yeah - can ping no problem

    Code:
    farcus@mark:~> ping mark -c 1
    PING mark.farcusnet (127.0.0.2) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from mark.farcusnet (127.0.0.2): icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.063 ms
    
    --- mark.farcusnet ping statistics ---
    1 packets transmitted, 1 received, 0% packet loss, time 0ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.063/0.063/0.063/0.000 ms
    farcus@mark:~>

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    150

    Default Re: slow boot after hostanme change

    Did you have any server function like apapche?
    I am always waiting for long time after install apache or other server fuction and then change my hostname.
    That is my experience.
    Regards,
    Bryan Yu
    http://lifestory.moqin.com/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    1,664

    Default Re: slow boot after hostanme change

    No - only thing changed was hostname and domain name >hit apply - rebooted and slow at bootup about halfway through. Restored to original doman and host name but problem still persists.

    Have ditched the dhcp settings and set IP address manually btu has also made no difference at boot.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,273

    Default Re: slow boot after hostanme change

    Looking at the detailed boot screen, is there any specific service that is slow or hangs for a bit at startup?
    Have a lot of fun!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    1,664

    Default Re: slow boot after hostanme change

    OK - I did have autologin but have now disabled it.
    Before I disabled it the slowdown was occurring after the detailed boot screen just after lodaing the mouse cursor and prior to the KDE splash screen.

    After disabling autologin the slowdown now occurs at the tail end of the KDE splash screen??

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,273

    Default Re: slow boot after hostanme change

    if you switch to the tty console using <CTRL><F1>, any indication whats taking long to load?

    Seeing this started after the hostname change please have another look at the /etc/hosts. It should, at minimum, contain the loopback and entry for the host , e.g.;

    127.0.0.1 localhost
    127.0.0.2 <hostname.domain> <hostname>

    Also the entry in /etc/hostname should be equal to the <hostname.domain> bit in /etc/hosts

    Other than that is there nothing mentioned in /var/log/messages?

    Curious,
    Wj
    Have a lot of fun!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    1,664

    Default Re: slow boot after hostanme change

    Turns out it is a conflict with scim / skim

    This app jsut doesn't play well with KDE 4 and was causing all sorts of problems with Yast.

    I've now switched back to kde 3 (because skim is that important for me) and everything is good.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •