Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Linking two computers

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Herefordshire, England
    Posts
    151

    Default Linking two computers

    Sorry, this must be simple but it's fooling me...

    I have 2 computers - main, 32 bit running Suse 11 and KDE 4.5 and laptop 64 bit running Suse 11 and KDE 4.5

    I have set up main as a Samba server and PDC

    Laptop set up Samba, not as DC

    Both are in domain Mshome

    Both have their own netbiosnames

    Using smb4k, I cannot see any network on the laptop. On main I can see both computers, but laptop is returning "No suitable server".

    /usr/bin/smbclient -L main gives:


    Domain=[MSHOME] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 3.2.0rc1-22.1-1795-SUSE-SL11.0]

    Sharename Type Comment
    --------- ---- -------
    profiles Disk Network Profiles Service
    users Disk All users
    groups Disk All groups
    print$ Disk Printer Drivers
    netlogon Disk Network Logon Service
    volb Disk
    IPC$ IPC IPC Service ("")
    s600 Printer Canon S600
    Canon_S600 Printer Canon_S600
    john Disk Home Directories
    Domain=[MSHOME] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 3.2.0rc1-22.1-1795-SUSE-SL11.0]

    Server Comment
    --------- -------
    MAIN
    LAPTOP

    Workgroup Master
    --------- -------
    MSHOME MAIN


    Any ideas anyone? Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,731
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Linking two computers

    Maybe you have the firewall not cleared for Samba on one or both machines? Try turning firewalls off temporarily until the LAN is communicating properly.

    Also, double check the version iof KDE you are using, what is it?
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1 &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,273

    Default Re: Linking two computers

    Have you tried doing the primary Samba configuration using YaST > Samba Server? This should set many things right to make a start and go from there..

    Cheers,
    Wj
    Have a lot of fun!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Herefordshire, England
    Posts
    151

    Default Re: Linking two computers

    Both machines have the firewall port open for Samba. Have tried it with the firewall deactivated completely.

    KDE 3.5.9 Release 49.1

    Have set up both machines using Yast-> Samba. Then edited the samba.conf files as per an earlier thread from Swerdna. Still no joy.

    The problem is the laptop, I'm sure. I have occasionally got the shares to show in smb4k on that machine but have lost the connection on reboot. But at no time have I had the machines talking to one another. Before I put Suse onto the laptop I had (and still have for my sins) Vista on there. Had that working via Samba withotu problem.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,731
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Linking two computers

    Well I can't help with smb4k -- I've only used Konqueror & smb:// for addressing a share.

    But can you post the file smb.conf from the laptop?

    Oh and BTW do you need a PDC for two computers, or will a workgroup do?
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1 &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Herefordshire, England
    Posts
    151

    Default Re: Linking two computers

    # smb.conf is the main Samba configuration file. You find a full commented
    # version at /usr/share/doc/packages/samba/examples/smb.conf.SUSE if the
    # samba-doc package is installed.
    # Date: 2008-06-07
    [global]
    workgroup = MSHOME
    netbios name = kaycomputer
    name resolve order = bcast host lmhosts wins
    server string = ""
    printing = cups
    printcap name = cups
    printcap cache time = 750
    cups options = raw
    use client driver = yes
    map to guest = Bad User
    usershare allow guests = Yes
    usershare max shares = 100
    usershare owner only = False
    include = /etc/samba/dhcp.conf
    add machine script = /usr/sbin/useradd -c Machine -d /var/lib/nobody -s /bin/false %m$
    domain logons = No
    domain master = No
    security = user


    [homes]
    comment = Home Directories
    valid users = %S, %D%w%S
    browseable = No
    read only = No
    inherit acls = Yes

    [profiles]
    comment = Network Profiles Service
    path = %H
    read only = No
    store dos attributes = Yes
    create mask = 0600
    directory mask = 0700

    [users]
    comment = All users
    path = /home/
    read only = yes
    inherit acls = Yes
    veto files = /aquota.user/groups/shares/
    guest account = at
    guest ok = yes

    [groups]
    comment = All groups
    path = /home/groups
    read only = No
    inherit acls = Yes

    [printers]
    comment = All Printers
    path = /var/tmp
    printable = Yes
    create mask = 0600
    browseable = No

    [print$]
    comment = Printer Drivers
    path = /var/lib/samba/drivers
    write list = @ntadmin root
    force group = ntadmin
    create mask = 0664
    directory mask = 0775

    path = /home/kay/Documents/Kay/
    guest ok = yes
    read only = yes

    path = /home/kay/Documents/Kay/
    guest ok = yes
    read only = yes

    [netlogon]
    comment = Network Logon Service
    path = /var/lib/samba/netlogon
    write list = root

    And this seems weird:

    /usr/bin/smbclient -L kaycomputer
    Enter kay's password:
    Domain=[KAYCOMPUTER] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 3.2.0rc1-22.1-1795-SUSE-SL11.0]

    Sharename Type Comment
    --------- ---- -------
    profiles Disk Network Profiles Service
    users Disk All users
    groups Disk All groups
    print$ Disk Printer Drivers
    IPC$ IPC IPC Service ("")
    kay Disk Home Directories
    Domain=[KAYCOMPUTER] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 3.2.0rc1-22.1-1795-SUSE-SL11.0]

    Server Comment
    --------- -------

    Workgroup Master
    --------- -------
    MSHOME JOHNSERVER

    Why is domain using the netbiosname and not MSHOME as set in the Yast->samba config?

    Many thanks for your help!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,273

    Default Re: Linking two computers

    And this seems weird:

    /usr/bin/smbclient -L kaycomputer
    Enter kay's password:
    Domain=[KAYCOMPUTER] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 3.2.0rc1-22.1-1795-SUSE-SL11.0]

    ...

    Why is domain using the netbiosname and not MSHOME as set in the Yast->samba config?
    I would think because it's acting as a non domain (PDC) share, so you log on to the server and not the domain.

    Ok, this is a blind shot as I don't see anything specifically wrong with your config (and I don't do that much digging in samba configs);
    Have you tried adding entries for both hosts (the netbiosnames and also linux hostnames) in the /etc/hosts files of each system (and than restart the samba server)?

    Maybe the issue is in resolving and not so much your samba setup.

    Just a thought...
    Wj
    Have a lot of fun!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Israel - Karmiel
    Posts
    33

    Default Re: Linking two computers

    Sorry the question, but, PDC??? For what???

    Sharing files? (NFS is your friend)... (And MC might become your god)!


    Cheers

    Leon

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,273

    Default Re: Linking two computers

    NFS has one draw back that applies here, it doesn't play nice with a windows orientated device.. so that makes it somewhat limiting.

    Cheers,
    Wj
    Have a lot of fun!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,731
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Linking two computers

    Hi
    Change this:
    path = /home/kay/Documents/Kay/
    guest ok = yes
    read only = yes

    path = /home/kay/Documents/Kay/
    guest ok = yes
    read only = yes
    to more like this:
    Code:
    [KaySharedDocs]
    path = /home/kay/Documents/Kay/
    guest ok = yes
    read only = yes
    Reasons should be obvious. FYI if you open a console and enter testparm the error will be highlighted -- testparm is your friend for syntax in smb.conf

    BTW do you need a PDC for two computers, or will a workgroup do?

    Swerdna
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1 &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •