Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Firefox doesn't launch when started via VNC

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    28

    Default Firefox doesn't launch when started via VNC

    I have OpenSuSE 11.0 (64bit) installed on HP desktop. I have configured vnc and can connect properly using tightvncviwer. I found that whenever I try to run Firefox 3.0, it just fails to launch. Konqueror runs fine. I am using KDE.

    Is this a known issue?
    Thanks
    Arun

  2. #2
    ab@novell.com NNTP User

    Default Re: Firefox doesn't launch when started via VNC

    -----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
    Hash: SHA1

    Tried running it from the command line to see if any errors come back?

    Good luck.





    axgupta1 wrote:
    | I have OpenSuSE 11.0 (64bit) installed on HP desktop. I have configured
    | vnc and can connect properly using tightvncviwer. I found that whenever
    | I try to run Firefox 3.0, it just fails to launch. Konqueror runs fine.
    | I am using KDE.
    |
    | Is this a known issue?
    | Thanks
    | Arun
    |
    |
    -----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
    Version: GnuPG v1.4.2 (GNU/Linux)
    Comment: Using GnuPG with Mozilla - http://enigmail.mozdev.org

    iD8DBQFIaEAI3s42bA80+9kRAhv0AJ9b08NnOalCbKOaUREFrRe30SdcWgCfVzYT
    BKHHoq77+em2M3LJrCuDH6w=
    =f8CB
    -----END PGP SIGNATURE-----

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    3,587

    Default Re: Firefox doesn't launch when started via VNC

    * ab@novell.com wrote, On 06/30/2008 04:08 AM:
    > Tried running it from the command line to see if any errors come back?


    Wasn't there an issue with FF trying to connect to a different display? I can't really recall, nor can I find anything about it.

    Uwe

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    28

    Default Re: Firefox doesn't launch when started via VNC

    When I try to launch from command line, I get the following error:

    Gdk-ERROR **: unable to find a usable depth
    aborting...
    /usr/bin/firefox: line 123: 3965 Aborted $MOZ_PROGRAM "$@"
    arun@HPdesktop-linux:~>

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Oklahoma, US
    Posts
    822

    Default Re: Firefox doesn't launch when started via VNC

    axgupta1 wrote:

    >
    > When I try to launch from command line, I get the following error:
    >
    > Gdk-ERROR **: unable to find a usable depth
    > aborting...
    > /usr/bin/firefox: line 123: 3965 Aborted $MOZ_PROGRAM
    > "$@"
    > arun@HPdesktop-linux:~>
    >
    >


    What bit-depth are you running your VNC in? Firefox (FF) is likely expecting
    24 bit colors, and maybe you're running in 8-bit color in VNC?


    --
    L R Nix
    lornix@lornix.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    28

    Default Re: Firefox doesn't launch when started via VNC

    I am running vnc at 32-bit color depth. I have nVidia graphics card with dedicated 256MB memory. Why only Firefox complains? Konqueror runs fine.

    Thanks...
    Arun

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    28

    Default Re: Firefox doesn't launch when started via VNC

    After changing color depth to 24 in vnc, Firefox runs fine. Thanks for helping me identify and resolve the issue.

    I am loving OpenSuSE 11 so far and want to make it my main OS instead of Windows. This version is way better than 10.2.

    I am trying to do on Linux whatever I could in Windows. So far it has been a success without putting in a lot of effort. Thanks to help from seasoned Linux gurus like yourselves, I am hoping I will be able to achieve my goal.

    Arun

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •