Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: menu and desktop icons don't work

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Fruitdale, AL
    Posts
    30

    Default menu and desktop icons don't work

    New to OpenSuse and still learning my way around in Linux.

    Installed OpenSuse 11 and booted into the desktop. That was as far as I could get. None of the menu options except 'Leave' worked. None of the desktop icons worked either. I tried changing the permissions on the icons but that didn't seem to help.

    I re-booted using the safe mode and everything works. Is this something that someone else has seen or is it just that I haven't searched enough or with the right search words? Please point me in the right direction.

    Thanks,
    Harold

    One other question. I keep having to give my sign in id and password it seems everytime I go to a differnt page. Is this normal?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: menu and desktop icons don't work

    > Installed OpenSuse 11 and booted into the desktop. That was as far as I
    > could get. None of the menu options except 'Leave' worked. None of the
    > desktop icons worked either. I tried changing the permissions on the
    > icons but that didn't seem to help.
    >
    > I re-booted using the safe mode and everything works. Is this something
    > that someone else has seen or is it just that I haven't searched enough
    > or with the right search words? Please point me in the right direction.


    that is the strangest thing i've heard today....let me GUESS you
    installed KDE 4...and, i'll also guess that something went terribly
    wrong in the install process...

    did you do and md5sum AND media check prior to installing? if not, start
    over!

    in how many places during install did you not select the default? [if
    you don't KNOW exactly what you are doing and why...(except for keyboard
    and location/language) please make the first install using the DEFAULTS
    recommended by the install routine--it is pretty much foolproof..]

    in fact, your install _sounds_ so broken i'd begin again AND make sure i
    have good install media AND i'd load KDE 3-something or gnome [KDE 4 is
    KNOWN unstable, not ready and unable...if you are NEW to the game, avoid
    it!!]..

    and, since you say "New to OpenSuse and still learning my way around in
    Linux" don't let the FIRST thing you do when you run into a problem be
    to hop to root and start changing permissions stuff..[hint: if YOUR
    desktop's icons don't have the permission needed to launch YOUR programs
    you got LOTS more problems than just the icon's permissions...]


    > One other question. I keep having to give my sign in id and password it
    > seems everytime I go to a differnt page. Is this normal?


    no...there is a problem with the server and it seems the folks to work
    on it won't be back at work until monday!! </sigh>

    DenverD

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,731
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: menu and desktop icons don't work

    Quote Originally Posted by houndhen View Post
    New to OpenSuse and still learning my way around in Linux.

    Installed OpenSuse 11 and booted into the desktop. That was as far as I could get. None of the menu options except 'Leave' worked. None of the desktop icons worked either. I tried changing the permissions on the icons but that didn't seem to help.

    I re-booted using the safe mode and everything works. Is this something that someone else has seen or is it just that I haven't searched enough or with the right search words? Please point me in the right direction.

    Thanks,
    Harold

    One other question. I keep having to give my sign in id and password it seems everytime I go to a differnt page. Is this normal?
    Hi Harold -- just want to WELCOME you here!
    And to reinforce what DenverD said - be aware the KDE4 is (for all practical purposes) experimental. Use KDE3.5 or Gnome. We try to warn in a sticky thread to this forum but it's very hard to see. Good luck.

    Swerdna
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1 &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    27,108
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default Re: menu and desktop icons don't work

    Quote Originally Posted by houndhen View Post
    One other question. I keep having to give my sign in id and password it seems everytime I go to a differnt page. Is this normal?
    We are having a problem with this, and we are hoping to have it fixed soon.

    And welcome to our forum and thank you for participating.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Fruitdale, AL
    Posts
    30

    Default Re: menu and desktop icons don't work

    that is the strangest thing i've heard today....let me GUESS you
    installed KDE 4...and, i'll also guess that something went terribly
    wrong in the install process...
    No nothing went wrong as far as I saw.

    did you do and md5sum AND media check prior to installing?
    Did both and both checked out.

    in how many places during install did you not select the default?
    Not sure. I am multibooting with 4 linux distros and XP so I chose what partitions were to be used for OpenSuse to use.

    [KDE 4 is KNOWN unstable, not ready and unable...if you are NEW to the game, avoid it!!]..
    be aware the KDE4 is (for all practical purposes) experimental. Use KDE3.5 or Gnome.
    I prefer the kde apps over those with gnome. So do I need to go back and download a different iso file or can I just install or choose kde 3.5? Not sure will look around while waiting on a reply.

    Thanks

    I just realized that when I booted and logged in today that I used the regular menu item and not the safe mode and everything worked. I had downloaded some updates. Maybe that fixed things. After the origninal install instead of re-booting without the live cd, I shut down the pc because I had to leave. When I came back a booted for the first time after the install was thru was when I incurred the problem of the menu and icons not responding. Looks like I can mark this as solved but I would like some pointers on how to fall back to kde 3.5 from 4.0.
    Last edited by houndhen; 29-Jun-2008 at 07:18. Reason: additional information

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: menu and desktop icons don't work

    > I prefer the kde apps over those with gnome. So do I need to go back
    > and download a different iso file or can I just install or choose kde
    > 3.5? Not sure will look around while waiting on a reply.


    i THINK you can install KDE3.x via YaST (i say i think because i'm not
    ready to jump into the tar baby called version 11.0..

    HOWEVER, remember i said that i think YOUR install is *BADLY*
    broken...since you have so little time involved in it at this point,
    rather than trying to figure out how to repair it, i'd recommend you do
    a NEW install...and, pick the mature/stable version of KDE this time..

    that is my three cents worth.

    DenverD

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Fruitdale, AL
    Posts
    30

    Default Re: menu and desktop icons don't work

    i'd recommend you do
    a NEW install...and, pick the mature/stable version of KDE this time..

    that is my three cents worth.
    That is probably what I will do. Thanks DenverD.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •