Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: soundblaster Live! and 11.0?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    1,191

    Unhappy soundblaster Live! and 11.0?

    I've been using the same hardware since 10.0 - a soundblaster live! has worked well, but in 11.0 it suddenly picked up a background static that isn't there in 10.2 or 10.3. I like games and this precludes them . Does anyone have a link to this as a known problem or a fix?
    Thanks!
    PattiMichelle

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    3,587

    Default Re: soundblaster Live! and 11.0?

    * PattiMichelle,

    an SBLive! 5.1? When exactly do you hear the noise?

    Uwe

  3. #3
    miha_mvp NNTP User

    Default Re: soundblaster Live! and 11.0?

    PattiMichelle,
    I have SB Live! 4.1 but had the same problem.
    I'm not sure but it looks like I solved it by removing all pulseaudio packages from the system.

    Try to do "rpm -qa | grep pulse"
    After that remove all packages listed by this command.

    Unfortunately I have 1 problem which still exist on my system

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    1,191

    Default Re: soundblaster Live! and 11.0?

    PS: You know, YaST Package Management is really fast in 11.0 - what a blessing for package contributors!!!

    It's been so long since I installed it, I'm pretty sure it's a Live! 5.1 and that's what YaST reports it as. The sound is sort of a high-frequency buzzing superimposed on whatever I'm listening to - and it's always there whether anything is playing back or not.

    There's a whole lot of pulseaudio stuff... is it all unnecessary? Can I safely remove it all? If so, is there command line "rpm" command to remove it (them)?

    patti@new-host:~> rpm -qa | grep pulse
    libpulse-mainloop-glib0-0.9.10-26.1
    pulseaudio-module-lirc-0.9.10-26.1
    pulseaudio-esound-compat-0.9.10-26.1
    pulseaudio-0.9.10-26.1
    pulseaudio-module-zeroconf-0.9.10-26.1
    pulseaudio-module-gconf-0.9.10-26.1
    libpulse0-32bit-0.9.10-26.1
    pulseaudio-utils-0.9.10-26.1
    pulseaudio-module-bluetooth-0.9.10-26.1
    gstreamer-0_10-pulse-0.9.5-54.1
    libpulse-browse0-0.9.10-26.1
    pulseaudio-module-x11-0.9.10-26.1
    libpulse0-0.9.10-26.1
    alsa-plugins-pulse-1.0.16-57.1
    libpulsecore4-0.9.10-26.1
    patti@new-host:~>

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    3,587

    Default Re: soundblaster Live! and 11.0?

    On 06/29/2008 PattiMichelle wrote:
    > It's been so long since I installed it, I'm pretty sure it's a Live!
    > 5.1 and that's what YaST reports it as. The sound is sort of a
    > high-frequency buzzing superimposed on whatever I'm listening to -
    > and it's always there whether anything is playing back or not.


    And it is not a feedback loop from an active microphone, is it?

    > There's a whole lot of pulseaudio stuff... is it all unnecessary? Can
    > I safely remove it all? If so, is there command line "rpm" command to
    > remove it (them)?


    Try and delete one through Yast, it will tell you which app needs them. I have nothing with "pulse" installed, so it is none of the default media stuff in KDE.

    Uwe

  6. #6
    BouncingAyatollah NNTP User

    Default Re: soundblaster Live! and 11.0?

    Try this, as found here: Emu10k1 - ALSA wiki

    Set AC97 PLAYBACK to 0 and AC97 CAPTURE to 100%, this should help, it did here :-)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    1,191

    Default Re: soundblaster Live! and 11.0?

    I don't see those settings in YaST/Hardware/Audio - my only listed card is the SBLive...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    3,587

    Default Re: soundblaster Live! and 11.0?

    * PattiMichelle wrote, On 07/06/2008 07:06 PM:
    > I don't see those settings in YaST/Hardware/Audio - my only listed card
    > is the SBLive...


    I think he is talking about the channels in the mixer applet.

    Uwe

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Prescott, AZ
    Posts
    1,191

    Default Re: soundblaster Live! and 11.0?

    Sorry I didn't post back sooner! This new Forum kept rejecting me - I guess bugs are still being worked out... I had no mic's plugged in but when I changed the default mic in KMix from 1 to 2, the sound went away. Go figure!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •