Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32

Thread: ksysguard and sensors

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    "Dickes D"
    Posts
    94

    Default ksysguard and sensors

    Hi,

    after upgrading to openSuSE 11.0 some hardware-sensors provided by the sensors-package are not listed in the "Sensor-Browser" of ksysguard anymore.

    I'm using

    - ksysguard 1.2.0 (KDE 3.5.9)
    - sensors 3.0.2-4.1-i586

    both from openSuSE.

    Using the "sensors"-command in a console, all hardware-sensors will be listed correctly.

    Prior to the installation of 11.0 i ran openSuSE 10.2 and the "it87-sensors" were listed in ksysguard.

    Any idea how to fix ?

    Kind regards,

    O

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia, USA
    Posts
    2,429

    Default Re: ksysguard and sensors

    I'm posting a reply here months later because I just stumbled across at least one possible reason for this . . . I too lost the ksysguard display of lm_sensors and all I could find on it was a bug that was fixed in February.

    I discovered looking at the kernel messages under Ctrl-Alt-F10 that ksysguardd was looking for its ksysguardrc config file under /usr/etc rather than /etc where it is and should be located. It's this file that instructs ksysguardd to look for the lm_sensors output. Solution was a symlink /usr/etc/ksysguardrc pointing to /etc/ksysguardrc.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    "Dickes D"
    Posts
    94

    Default Re: ksysguard and sensors

    Hi,

    "accidently" found my own thread again. Tried the symlink-solution. Unfortunately - except there's no error message in the ALT-STRG-F10 screen anymore - ksysguard doesn't list the hardware sensors.
    Doesn't matter, I'll try 11.1 next day's and see, if this subject maybe solved.

    Regards,

    pepun.

  4. #4
    user2304 NNTP User

    Default Re: ksysguard and sensors


    Hi,

    "accidently" found my own thread again. Tried the symlink-solution.
    Unfortunately - except there's no error message in the ALT-STRG-F10
    screen anymore - ksysguard doesn't list the hardware sensors.
    Doesn't matter, I'll try 11.1 next day's and see, if this subject maybe
    solved.

    Regards,

    pepun.


    --
    user2304
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    user2304's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=3371
    View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=387853


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia, USA
    Posts
    2,429

    Default Re: ksysguard and sensors

    Quote Originally Posted by user2304 View Post
    Hi,

    "accidently" found my own thread again. Tried the symlink-solution. Unfortunately - except there's no error message in the ALT-STRG-F10 screen anymore - ksysguard doesn't list the hardware sensors.
    Doesn't matter, I'll try 11.1 next day's and see, if this subject maybe solved.

    Regards,

    pepun.
    Ksysguard has been working fine for me since the above solution. I assume that sensors is working for you outside of ksysguard, otherwise of course won't be picked up. Did you look in the ksysguardd file itself to insure the lmsensors is in the list? And that the daemon is being automatically run?

  6. #6
    mingus725 NNTP User

    Default Re: ksysguard and sensors


    user2304;1923632 Wrote:
    > Hi,
    >
    > "accidently" found my own thread again. Tried the symlink-solution.
    > Unfortunately - except there's no error message in the ALT-STRG-F10
    > screen anymore - ksysguard doesn't list the hardware sensors.
    > Doesn't matter, I'll try 11.1 next day's and see, if this subject maybe
    > solved.
    >
    > Regards,
    >
    > pepun.


    Ksysguard has been working fine for me since the above solution. I
    assume that sensors is working for you outside of ksysguard, otherwise
    of course won't be picked up. Did you look in the ksysguardd file
    itself to insure the lmsensors is in the list? And that the daemon is
    being automatically run?


    --
    mingus725
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    mingus725's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=604
    View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=387853


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    "Dickes D"
    Posts
    94

    Default Re: ksysguard and sensors

    Hm, sensors daemon is running, i'm using ksensors applet in controlpanel and it works. Furthermore, yast claims it's active.

    In /etc/ksysguarddrc:

    Sensors=ProcessList,Memory,Stat,NetDev,NetStat,Apm,Acpi,CpuInfo,LoadAvg,LmSensors,DiskStat,LogFile,DiskStats,Uptime,SoftRaid

    Are you using OS 11.0 ?

  8. #8
    user2304 NNTP User

    Default Re: ksysguard and sensors


    Hm, sensors daemon is running, i'm using ksensors applet in controlpanel
    and it works. Furthermore, yast claims it's active.

    In /etc/ksysguarddrc:

    Sensors=ProcessList,Memory,Stat,NetDev,NetStat,Apm,Acpi,CpuInfo,LoadAvg,LmSensors,DiskStat,LogFile,DiskStats,Uptime,SoftRaid

    Are you using OS 11.0 ?


    --
    user2304
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    user2304's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=3371
    View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=387853


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia, USA
    Posts
    2,429

    Default Re: ksysguard and sensors

    Quote Originally Posted by user2304 View Post
    Hm, sensors daemon is running, i'm using ksensors applet in controlpanel and it works. Furthermore, yast claims it's active.

    In /etc/ksysguarddrc:

    Sensors=ProcessList,Memory,Stat,NetDev,NetStat,Apm,Acpi,CpuInfo,LoadAvg,LmSensors,DiskStat,LogFile,DiskStats,Uptime,SoftRaid

    Are you using OS 11.0 ?
    Yes, 11.0. KDE 4.1.3. Same sensors list. You have the symlink, right? IIRC you have to add a new worksheet to get the sensor browser bar on the right.

  10. #10
    mingus725 NNTP User

    Default Re: ksysguard and sensors


    user2304;1924033 Wrote:
    > Hm, sensors daemon is running, i'm using ksensors applet in controlpanel
    > and it works. Furthermore, yast claims it's active.
    >
    > In /etc/ksysguarddrc:
    >
    > Sensors=ProcessList,Memory,Stat,NetDev,NetStat,Apm,Acpi,CpuInfo,LoadAvg,LmSensors,DiskStat,LogFile,DiskStats,Uptime,SoftRaid
    >
    > Are you using OS 11.0 ?


    Yes, 11.0. KDE 4.1.3. Same sensors list. You have the symlink,
    right? IIRC you have to add a new worksheet to get the sensor browser
    bar on the right.


    --
    mingus725
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    mingus725's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=604
    View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=387853


Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •