Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
Results 41 to 48 of 48

Thread: Gnome vs KDE

  1. #41
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Hunedoara
    Posts
    41

    Default Re: Gnome vs KDE

    I used and prefer KDE. But also Gnome are interesting.
    Mozilla. Fundația Ceata. openSUSE Romania.
    Linux user: #484894
    Email: raul.malea@suseromania.ro
    IRC: RaulM YM: raulmalea
    http://raulmalea.hd.ro

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Adelaide Hills, Australia
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: Gnome vs KDE

    I use Enlightenment mostly with KDE apps, i used to use gnome 2 with compiz a few years back, but when gnome 3 was released the dev's took out all the options that i used to set up the work flow that i found right for me, so i moved onto something that still allowed me to, i like enlightenment 1. because it has the most configuration options and i can spend a while playing with a system to get it exactly how i want it and 2 it looks good.

  3. #43

    Default Re: Gnome vs KDE

    I've always come back to KDE since my first day of using Linux regularly. I didn't mind Gnome 2.x but once we got to Gnome Shell they lost me. I like to have a lot of easy customization and a lot of options to tinker with. Gnome shell is pretty closed off in that regard, even with the Tweaks program installed.

    Some people say they dislike KDE because it is so similar to Windows. I would argue, is it bad to be alike something that's designed well for productivity? Just sayin ;-).

    I have used MATE which is very similar to Gnome 2.x but it still bugs me compared to the latest and greatest KDE version.

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    2,294
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Gnome vs KDE

    Recently I have been trying Gnome from Fedora and openSUSE and both of them runs fine in Live environment but once it is installed, I cannot get the overlay dash working. I thought it could have been Fedora but when it happened in openSUSE I guess it may be a hardware issue (it is older hardware)

    I have been enjoying KDE for its capabilities and flexibility. It looks good.

    I still want to try and give Gnome a "good 'ol college try" but first I have to get by this issue.
    "Linux provides freedom, problem is most users don't know what it is or how to use it." ~me
    Friends don't let Friends wear red shirts on away parties!
    Linux User #477531 | Danbury Area Computer Society (www.dacs.org)

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    27,198
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Gnome vs KDE

    Quote Originally Posted by dragonbite View Post
    Recently I have been trying Gnome from Fedora and openSUSE and both of them runs fine in Live environment but once it is installed, I cannot get the overlay dash working. I thought it could have been Fedora but when it happened in openSUSE I guess it may be a hardware issue (it is older hardware)

    I have been enjoying KDE for its capabilities and flexibility. It looks good.

    I still want to try and give Gnome a "good 'ol college try" but first I have to get by this issue.
    Hi
    What graphics is running on the live system, check system settings -> details. Then on the installed system are these details the same?
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    2,294
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Gnome vs KDE

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    What graphics is running on the live system, check system settings -> details. Then on the installed system are these details the same?
    Hmm....

    The Live session put down as Graphics "Unknown" .... Looking at the information, though, I didn't realize that this laptop only has 1 GB of RAM! The system did run in the live environment and would show the Activities pane, but eventually it had a problem and had to log out.

    Fedora is currently installed and it said (going from memory here) "Intel GM 835/855" which, as far as I can recall, is correct for the system. Funny thing is that it freezes and crashes why I try to open the Activities pane.

    I have the openSUSE 13.1 DVD installed on a USB and that was how I originally installed openSUSE on the hard drive (selecting Gnome desktop and taking defaults). Unfortunately I have since then installed Windows XP with plans of trading in this computer for a discount with Best Buy but fate decided that I should spend any money I would have for that on a new wheel for the car (after car + pothole = $$$$), a speeding ticket and a hospital visit (among other things). So I am trying to revitalize this old Dell D400.
    "Linux provides freedom, problem is most users don't know what it is or how to use it." ~me
    Friends don't let Friends wear red shirts on away parties!
    Linux User #477531 | Danbury Area Computer Society (www.dacs.org)

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    27,198
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Gnome vs KDE

    On Thu 24 Apr 2014 01:36:01 PM CDT, dragonbite wrote:


    malcolmlewis;2638682 Wrote:
    > Hi
    > What graphics is running on the live system, check system settings ->
    > details. Then on the installed system are these details the same?


    Hmm....

    The Live session put down as Graphics "Unknown" .... Looking at the
    information, though, I didn't realize that this laptop only has 1 GB of
    RAM! The system did run in the live environment and would show the
    Activities pane, but eventually it had a problem and had to log out.

    Fedora is currently installed and it said (going from memory here)
    "Intel GM 835/855" which, as far as I can recall, is correct for the
    system. Funny thing is that it freezes and crashes why I try to open
    the Activities pane.

    I have the openSUSE 13.1 DVD installed on a USB and that was how I
    originally installed openSUSE on the hard drive (selecting Gnome desktop
    and taking defaults). Unfortunately I have since then installed Windows
    XP with plans of trading in this computer for a discount with Best Buy
    but fate decided that I should spend any money I would have for that on
    a new wheel for the car (after car + pothole = $$$$), a speeding ticket
    and a hospital visit (among other things). So I am trying to revitalize
    this old Dell D400.


    Hi
    What type of RAM module, DDR2? Run as root user;
    Code:
    dmidecode -t Memory

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 13.1 (Bottle) (x86_64) GNOME 3.10.1 Kernel 3.11.10-7-desktop
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!


  8. #48
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    2,294
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Gnome vs KDE

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    What type of RAM module, DDR2? Run as root user;
    Code:
    dmidecode -t Memory

    --
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    openSUSE 13.1 (Bottle) (x86_64) GNOME 3.10.1 Kernel 3.11.10-7-desktop
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!
    I will when I get home and am in front of the machine I can query that.

    According to a spec sheet I found online
    Chipset.........................................................................Intel® 855GM Chipset
    Memory.............................................................................Double Date Rate (DDR) SDRAM at 266MHz (PC2100); Standard - 128MB (shared) Maximum - 2.0GB (shared) Memory module capacities - 128, 256, 512MB, and 1GB
    Video.................................................................................Integrated Intel 855GM graphics chipset; up to 64 MB system memory can be dynamically allocated to graphics needs; 4X AGP support
    "Linux provides freedom, problem is most users don't know what it is or how to use it." ~me
    Friends don't let Friends wear red shirts on away parties!
    Linux User #477531 | Danbury Area Computer Society (www.dacs.org)

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •