Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Linux Noob Security Questions

Default Linux Noob Security Questions

Hi All

I'm running an IT department that's moving from NetWare to Suse Linux Enterprise Server. I'm new to Linux and I'm going get myself on some SLES courses etc, but in the meantime I'm installing openSUSE on my laptop.

I'm aware that Linux isn't susceptible to viruses/spam etc as windows is, but do I really need to install a suite of security programs on a Linux laptop thats a) going to access the internet on a regular basis and b) is going to be on a corporate network thats primarily windows PC's?

Many Thanks

Bob Mothershaw

Default Re: Linux Noob Security Questions

Can't see why you would need any security programs really. You could dabble with AppArmor if you are truly serious.

I highly recommend the book Linux Administration Handbook by Nemeth, Snyder & Hein. Great intro to all kinds of sys admin stuff for Linux.

I have to disagree whilst there is a minimal chance of a virus, it is connecting to Win PC network, though Linux may not be infected it could be a carrier. So that suggests yes do run one, next it is enterprise so 2 yes do run one.

So I would make sure you do have a virus engine in this instance, certainly for mail.
    Man first, have a try at Info, have a look at Wiki, if all that fails Scroogle!!!!!
    If I've helped click on the Rep button I don't know what it does but it sounds cool.

Thumbs up Re: Linux Noob Security Questions

openSuSE is quite good OoTB, with a firewall setup and AppArmor.

Though GNU/Linux is less SuSEeptable (couldn't resist, OK susceptable) to malware, actually I have never had a problem since 2001 and know of no real threat. But any user may make mistakes, clicking on a link that will use a known vulnerability in a program (like Adobe .pdf).

My advise: Don't worry for now and read up on AppArmor in SuSE (it is like secure Linux in Red Hat -SELinux-).