OpenSuse 11 support for WPA-EAP-TLS

Hi All,

I just installed OpenSuse11, and the Network Manager does not let me configure wireless for WPA (enterprise)/EAP-TLS protocol. I mean, I cannot tell it to look for EAP TLS authentication method.

I learnt that Network Manager 0.6.6 (older version) would allow this.

And yeah, I am able to connect to unsecured networks via wireless. (although it seems to be too slow). Is this also a problem?

I have Intel pro 3965ABG card.

I certainly would not want to go to older version of Suse, or go to other distro. I am a newbie, wanting to migrate from Vista.

Would really appreciate any help!

On 06/25/2008 devendra rai wrote:
> I just installed OpenSuse11, and the Network Manager does not let me
> configure wireless for WPA (enterprise)/EAP-TLS protocol. I mean, I
> cannot tell it to look for EAP TLS authentication method.

But it looks like mine does. Edit a connection, and when you select WPA Enterprise, click “Expert settings”. Cannot test it myself, I only got mere SoHo WLAN around.

Uwe

Hi

Thanks for the help. I cannot find “expert mode” in my network manager! All I have is a set of configurations that runs as:

Wireless Security: WPA & WPA Enterprise
Authentication: PEAP | LEAP …

but no EAP method!

I tried going to Yast and changing wireless card settings, but does not work (I see an option for WPA EAP though).

I can connect to all other wireless networks painlessly!

I have network manager 0.7 (shipped with SuseLinux 11)

Thanks for any ideas!

I was asking the same question when 11 was in RC. My company uses PEAP with GTC, and that option has always been available in openSuSE, but the wireless options for 802.1x authentication in 11 seem to be lacking options for enterprise authentication. I filed a bug report, and I was told they would look at it.

• devendra rai,

I have network manager 0.7 also. Step by step:

Right click the network manager tray icon
Edit connections
New Connection (Wireless)
Enter the SSID, next