Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: No workgroup name in Network Folder /Samba Shares

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Lincoln, NE, USA
    Posts
    79

    Default No workgroup name in Network Folder /Samba Shares

    Hi All:
    I had originally posted this issue here:
    smb nautilus browsing problem in openSUSE 11.0 - Page 2 - openSUSE Forums

    and was advised to move it to a new thread along with more information.
    So here is the problem description as posted under above thread:
    Originally Posted by marco07
    @swerdna
    Hi, I followed your howto instructions to set up my simple home networking in OS11 as I had success with your help to have it working in OS10.3.
    Everything works fine in OS11. I have access from my 3 other work stations to shared resources on OS11. From this I can access others by issuing IP address. However, my dilemma is that when I open up the network folder and click on samba shares, I get "could not connect to smb-network" message. Although I have my workgroup name properly assigned, firing up the samba shares folder never lists my work group name and always gives the mentioned error message in the status bar.
    Could you help please?
    Thanks in advance.

    Could you please advise?

    P. S. In os 10.3 opening samba shares in network folder always lists the work group name.

    Here are additional info as requested by swerdna:
    I am running on a newly clean installed suse11.0 with KDE4 only.
    My Browser is FF version 3.0
    and here is my smb.conf

    # smb.conf is the main Samba configuration file. You find a full commented
    # version at /usr/share/doc/packages/samba/examples/smb.conf.SUSE if the
    # samba-doc package is installed.
    # Date: 2007-09-22
    # This is a non-preferred Local Master Browser
    [global]
    workgroup = MSHome
    netbios name = DX200
    smb ports = 139
    name resolve order = bcast host lmhosts wins
    server string = ""
    printing = cups
    printcap name = cups
    printcap cache time = 750
    cups options = raw
    use client driver = yes
    map to guest = Bad User
    local master = yes
    os level = 33
    usershare allow guests = Yes
    usershare max shares = 100
    usershare owner only = False
    include = /etc/samba/dhcp.conf
    ldap suffix =
    passdb backend = smbpasswd
    wins support = Yes
    #==========================
    [mahmood]
    comment = Home Directory
    path = /home/mahmood
    read only = No
    guest ok = Yes
    force user = mahmood

    ; ============================
    [storage]
    comment = Storage
    path = /home/storage/
    browseable = yes
    read only = No
    guest ok = yes
    printable = no

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,731
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: No workgroup name in Network Folder /Samba Shares

    Hi
    wins server = yes
    makes the Suse computer the collator of network names and IP addresses for name resolution for the LAN. Each other computer requires to be set to understand this. I suspect that's not what you want because this line:
    name resolve order = bcast host lmhosts wins
    is not set for a wins server arrangement, it's set to resolve network names by "broadcast resolution".

    I suggest that if you didn't consciously choose a "wins server", then delete the line wins server = yes.

    Also, if you don't know what an ldap server is and didn't try to set one up then delete:
    ldap suffix =
    delete this too if you didn't edit dhcp.conf
    include = /etc/samba/dhcp.conf
    If you've got vista, better to have this line changed:
    smb ports = 139
    because it excludes port 445, vista's favourite. Better to make it like this:
    smb ports = 445 139
    or just delete the line because deleting it installs 445 and 139 as the do-nothing defaults.


    And finally, talking about ports, if you haven't opened any in the firewall for Samba, namely UDP 137 and 138 and TCP 135, 139 and 445 and/or haven't defined a friendly IP address range, then temporarily turn the firewall off until Samba is working.

    Can't think of anything else right away, except to check that nmb and smb daemons are set in Yast --> system --> runlevels --> exper: set to to running = yes and to runlevels 3 and 5. Inexplicably, ver 11.0 seems to install with them off, curious...

    That should knock out most questions and allow to get to the real problem if there is one.

    Luck
    Swerdna
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1 &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Lincoln, NE, USA
    Posts
    79

    Default Re: No workgroup name in Network Folder /Samba Shares

    Quote Originally Posted by swerdna View Post
    Hi

    makes the Suse computer the collator of network names and IP addresses for name resolution for the LAN. Each other computer requires to be set to understand this. I suspect that's not what you want because this line:

    is not set for a wins server arrangement, it's set to resolve network names by "broadcast resolution".

    I suggest that if you didn't consciously choose a "wins server", then delete the line wins server = yes.

    Also, if you don't know what an ldap server is and didn't try to set one up then delete:

    delete this too if you didn't edit dhcp.conf

    If you've got vista, better to have this line changed:

    because it excludes port 445, vista's favourite. Better to make it like this:

    or just delete the line because deleting it installs 445 and 139 as the do-nothing defaults.


    And finally, talking about ports, if you haven't opened any in the firewall for Samba, namely UDP 137 and 138 and TCP 135, 139 and 445 and/or haven't defined a friendly IP address range, then temporarily turn the firewall off until Samba is working.

    Can't think of anything else right away, except to check that nmb and smb daemons are set in Yast --> system --> runlevels --> exper: set to to running = yes and to runlevels 3 and 5. Inexplicably, ver 11.0 seems to install with them off, curious...

    That should knock out most questions and allow to get to the real problem if there is one.

    Luck
    Swerdna
    Thanks Swedna.
    I will try your suggestions later today when I get back home from work.
    Do you mean "wins support=yes" line rather than "wins server=yes"?
    I do not see a "wins server=yes" line listed in my smb.conf.
    Regards!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,731
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: No workgroup name in Network Folder /Samba Shares

    Quote Originally Posted by marco07 View Post
    Thanks Swedna.
    I will try your suggestions later today when I get back home from work.
    Do you mean "wins support=yes" line rather than "wins server=yes"?
    I do not see a "wins server=yes" line listed in my smb.conf.
    Regards!
    Yes -- my typo
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1 &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Lincoln, NE, USA
    Posts
    79

    Default Re: No workgroup name in Network Folder /Samba Shares

    Quote Originally Posted by swerdna View Post
    Yes -- my typo
    Hi,
    sorry, but I have not been able to try your suggestions.
    The reason? After couple of times clean installing Suse 11.0, kde4,it seems the system has never been in a stable condition for me. Therefore, out of quite a bit of frustrations, I decided that at present status, it does not fit me well and I zapped it off my machine. I prefer to stick to my fully updated,very stable suse 10.3 installation which not only Lan but everything else works amazingly well and its become a classic version for me. I will wait till 11 gets to a similar status before I reinstall it again.
    Thanks for your help and it is well appreciated.
    Regards

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,731
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: No workgroup name in Network Folder /Samba Shares

    The installation screen where the three choices are offered (KDE4, KDE3.5.9 and Gnome) -- It's a real pity that didn't carry a warning of some kind about "cutting edge" and a recommendation that KDE3.5.9 is the choice for people who want to get work done.

    BTW I have version 11.0 with KDE3.5.9 and it's stable, well behaved, and an improvement on ver 10.3 (with KDE3), but I understand your decision well.
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1 &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •