Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: Default How-to configure a PPPoE Broadband Internet Connec

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Mangalore, Karnataka, India
    Posts
    146

    Default Default How-to configure a PPPoE Broadband Internet Connec

    How-to configure a PPPoE Broadband Internet Connection in OpenSuSE 11.0

    Hi everyone,
    I have written a tutorial for BSNL and Airtel users in India to configure their PPPoE broadband connections in bridging mode (like you use a dial-up connection in Windows). This should work for users of other broadband providers in India and abroad who use the same protocol. If you are using an "unlimited" broadband internet plan this tutorial is not for you. You are better off configuring your internet directly from your router (routing mode) - router on internet on, router off internet off.

    Now let's get cracking........

    1. Press Alt and F2
    Type yast (yast2 for GNOME users) and press ENTER



    Key in your root password and press ENTER
    You will then get the YaST2 control panel

    nucleuskore
    "The Future Is Open"
    http://www.neville.in
    http://www.linuxrocks.in

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Mangalore, Karnataka, India
    Posts
    146

    Default Re: Default How-to configure a PPPoE Broadband Internet Con

    2. Click on Network devices on the left



    Click on Network Settings in the right pane. The Network Settings panel will open

    nucleuskore
    "The Future Is Open"
    http://www.neville.in
    http://www.linuxrocks.in

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Mangalore, Karnataka, India
    Posts
    146

    Default Re: Default How-to configure a PPPoE Broadband Internet Con

    Normally you will have just one card which you can configure by selecting it, clicking edit and going to Step 3.

    But if you have more than one like I do, three in my case, it becomes tricky. As you can see above, eth0 is configured with DHCP, and the others are not configured. So how do I know whether SuSE has detected the right card? I press Alt and F2, type konsole (or gnome-terminal in GNOME) and press ENTER, then type su and press ENTER, give my root password and become root as shown below



    Then at the # prompt type ifconfig and press ENTER
    You will get an output like this

    nucleuskore
    "The Future Is Open"
    http://www.neville.in
    http://www.linuxrocks.in

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Mangalore, Karnataka, India
    Posts
    146

    Default Re: Default How-to configure a PPPoE Broadband Internet Con

    Note that eth0 has got no ip address, where as eth1 (which is not configured according to yast above) has an ip 192.168.1.2
    Also note the hardware address (HWAddr) of eth1 (or whichever it is in your pc)

    3. Now go to the Network Settings window and select the correct card matching the hardware address you noted above and click edit, and configure with dynamic ip->DHCP as shown below

    nucleuskore
    "The Future Is Open"
    http://www.neville.in
    http://www.linuxrocks.in

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Mangalore, Karnataka, India
    Posts
    146

    Default Re: Default How-to configure a PPPoE Broadband Internet Con

    Click next and then click Finish

    nucleuskore
    "The Future Is Open"
    http://www.neville.in
    http://www.linuxrocks.in

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Mangalore, Karnataka, India
    Posts
    146

    Default Re: Default How-to configure a PPPoE Broadband Internet Con

    4. Now in YaST, click on Network devices on the left



    Click on DSL

    nucleuskore
    "The Future Is Open"
    http://www.neville.in
    http://www.linuxrocks.in

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Mangalore, Karnataka, India
    Posts
    146

    Default Re: Default How-to configure a PPPoE Broadband Internet Con

    5. Click on Add. If you already have something in that window, select it, click delete, and then click on Add



    You will see the DSL configuration window. Now both BSNL and Airtel use PPPoE, so select everyhting as shown in the picture below. Note that the PPP Mode-dependent settings are greyed out as they are already fed in your router/modem.



    Very important: Make sure that "Enable Device Control for Non-root User via KInternet" is checked as shown..
    nucleuskore
    "The Future Is Open"
    http://www.neville.in
    http://www.linuxrocks.in

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Mangalore, Karnataka, India
    Posts
    146

    Default Re: Default How-to configure a PPPoE Broadband Internet Con

    In case you have more than one lan card click on configure network cards and select the correct card


    Click Next

    6. You will now get an error message, dismiss this and click Custom Providers

    nucleuskore
    "The Future Is Open"
    http://www.neville.in
    http://www.linuxrocks.in

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Mangalore, Karnataka, India
    Posts
    146

    Default Re: Default How-to configure a PPPoE Broadband Internet Con

    Type the Provider name as Airtel or BSNL (donkey or monkey will also do as long as you know it's your ISP)
    Type in the user name and password



    7. Set Connection Parameters as shown below

    nucleuskore
    "The Future Is Open"
    http://www.neville.in
    http://www.linuxrocks.in

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Mangalore, Karnataka, India
    Posts
    146

    Default Re: Default How-to configure a PPPoE Broadband Internet Con

    Now this is what you'll finally get, click finish



    GNOME users will get this message



    Pop in your OpenSuSE 11.0 DVD and click ok and install kinternet via yast->software management, then go to the next step.

    8. Press Alt and F2
    Type kinternet and press ENTER

    nucleuskore
    "The Future Is Open"
    http://www.neville.in
    http://www.linuxrocks.in

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •