Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wireless-less again:)

Default Wireless-less again:)

Hello to everyone!

I am terribly sorry for making the same stupid questions again, since Im quite sure the answers are already somewhere around here, its just that I cant find them.

Somehow Ive managed to install Suse 11.0 (dual boot, writing this from WinXP), I have no experience whatsoever with Linux, I get spots when I read about this Yast-thingy and other non-windoze stuff... anyway, am not giving up and asking 4 help

Help!

Here it comes: wireless connection in Windows works out of the box even with my Asus WL520g router, which itself works only when it wishes to. In Suse it doesnt work but also I have no idea, where to start making it work. I do have a looong cable to physicaly connect computer with router, just dont know what to do then.

So, where do I start, what do I do? :blush:

THANY YOU for any ideas

Default Re: Wireless-less again:)

Hi, welcome to the forums! Do u use gnome or kde and what wireless card do u have on your laptop? Have u added any repositories yet?
    openSUSE 11.0 Kde 3.5.9 Linux kernel 2.6.26.1

My Blog: http://snake1990.wordpress.com

Hi, thanx for your help

I use gnome. It says here: Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN, is that the wireless card??? I dont even know what a repository is, so I think I havent added any

Alright then lets get started.

A repository is like a server that allows u to install and update programs from, there could be an update repo and there could be a repo for drivers and programs such as openoffice, etc.

Alright, first go to yast in gnome and click on software repositories.

Now there should be 3 of them listed there all ready, they r:

update
    OSS
    NON-OSS

enable them and set them to automatically refresh.

Now visit this page:

Additional YaST Package Repositories - openSUSE

add the repos for version 11.0 (I hope this is the one u r using)

I suggest the following

Packman
    VLC Video Lan Client