Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Secondary Hard Drive Not visible

Default Secondary Hard Drive Not visible

Hey everyone. Okay i'm new to OpenSUSe so don't be too hrd on me. I've just done a completely default installation of openSUSE 11 with a GNOME desktop. I have a second hard drive installed for toring movies, music, pictures etc. I can't find it now. How do i mount it and how do i make the icon for it appear so ican mount it by clicking? Thanks in advance for any help...

Default Re: Secondary Hard Drive Not visible

Go to yast2 partitioner and see if it's there.
    If you see it click it and click edit and give it a mount point e.g, /Entertainment

Quote Originally Posted by conram View Post
    Go to yast2 partitioner and see if it's there.
    If you see it click it and click edit and give it a mount point e.g, /Entertainment
    Thanks for your help. I tried what you said a few times but then i couldn't reboot and had to reinstall each time. I don't get it. This last time i instlled the entire OS on just one partition. Is it better the other way or just a matter of preference?

I seem to be hanging here and there with everything on one partition.

Hi & welcome!

What exactly do you mean by hanging here and there? Does your system go gaga when you have the second disk mounted?

For us to get a better idea of your disk layout, could you post the terminal output of ' sudo /sbin/fdisk -l ' ?
    Have a lot of fun!

Quote Originally Posted by Magic31 View Post
    Hi & welcome!

What exactly do you mean by hanging here and there? Does your system go gaga when you have the second disk mounted?

For us to get a better idea of your disk layout, could you post the terminal output of ' sudo /sbin/fdisk -l ' ?
    I actually went back to Mint for the time being I will come back to OpenSUSE when i have time again to mess with it to make it work